We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay not long enough”
Review of ILUNION Almirante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ILUNION Almirante
Ranked #445 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“A stay not long enough”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was heading back into Barcelona and had to find a place to stay for 2 nights before I flew out. I saw Confortel Almirante on a hotel website but couldn't book through it, so I decided to walkin off the street and see what they had to offer. Location was perfect for where I wanted to be, the place was clean and the staff were friendly, informative and spoke good english ;)
Initially, I thought my room was small, but since I was only there for 2 nights, it had everything I needed, it was clean and I felt secure so it was perfect for my needs and the price. My only qualm was the housekeepers were a little loud in the mornings but I think it was mainly because the hotel is tiled.
I'm planning on going back to Barcelona next year so I have no hesitation in staying at the Confortel Almirante again. As long as you expect a smaller then usual room, everything else will make up for it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Seaopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    227
    199
    139
    128
See reviews for
124
330
31
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked into this hotel as part of a deal of lastminute.com. It completely suited our needs for a nice weekend away. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable about what was going on in the area and good places to eat. It is situated right next to the gothic quarter of Barcelona City Centre and therefore a good vantage point for travelling outwards.

The floor in the room was quite cold which wasn't ideal as in November, Barcelona can be a little chilly. Also we did not have a window so no view to look at. All other facilities were fine enough and as mentioned above, due it the hotels central location, a decent place to eat was not far away. There is also a metro stop not far from the hotels front door. Well worth it for a cheapish option.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have windows so if this is important to you then make sure you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

three stars for cleanliness and location fairly central to buses. the bare essentials are in your room, nice bathrooms, tv had several english channels consider it a bonus! Staff members were good when we indicated safe would not work they moved us to another actually nicer room. For price location and cleanliness 3 stars. There is a burger king at the corner so we did not opt for breakfast option as I like a beer with breakfast! lol

Room Tip: rooms appear bigger at front of hotel on main street not much of a view in back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pabl0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Syria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I am sorry to say that the only good thing about this hotel is it is situated in the centre of the Gothic quarter, within walking distance of the sea side , the Rambla and many nice places. But there is no room services ,it has small dark back rooms. A thief stole a bag full with valuable things from the reception on our arrival while we were busy with the checking in.
No value for money . Bad service, like do it yourself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emtethal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Thank you to the staff members for their very cooperative. Air condition was not working very well but the weather was good. Thank you for every thing. One elevator was not working very well but the hotel repaired immediately.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Waleed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is modern and clean, very well located not far off La Rambla so make's it an ideal location. Nearby there are lots of small bars / patisserries for grazing and watching the world go by.

The hotel staff where friendly and the rooms good value for money, the AC was working a treat and the beds most comfortable. The only observations negatively and perhaps slightly harshly was that the decor perhaps needed a refresh.

Every day 4 bottles of water where added to the mini bar fridge which was most welcome, to note there was no iron/board and no coffee/tea making facility in the room.

The hotel breakfast offer was okay but slightly on the expensive side charging 11 euros.

A very short walk away from the hotel...2/3 min there is secure underground parking - 39euros/ 24hrs a small in door market and a sight seeing bus stop to do the various city tours which is well worth doing. 27euros for a day ticket or 35 euros for a 2 day ticket - a 'no brainer' to get around the city and see the sights.

All in all a very good base for a short break and you should be spending more time out of the room than in it of course!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our stay had a rather tricky start, being given a room at the back of the hotel that was dark, dirty and very small with the only window available opening directly onto a brick wall. After complaining, we were moved to a new room, which was little better, with the above followed by a broken air conditioning system. Honestly, if you are thinking of going to Barcelona, do it, but just don't pay out for this place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dynastydigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Exe Laietana Palace
Exe Laietana Palace
#376 of 513 in Barcelona
529 reviews
Horta - Guinardó
ILUNION Bel Art
ILUNION Bel Art
#377 of 513 in Barcelona
47 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Vincci Gala Barcelona
Vincci Gala Barcelona
#59 of 513 in Barcelona
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Ilunion Barcelona
Ilunion Barcelona
#251 of 513 in Barcelona
1,342 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#310 of 513 in Barcelona
61 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Mercer House Boria BCN
Mercer House Boria BCN
#314 of 513 in Barcelona
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Almirante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Almirante

Property: ILUNION Almirante
Address: Via Laietana 42, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Guitart Almirante)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Almirante 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and modern, the ILUNION Almirante enjoys a privileged location that will make us dream of the past. Located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter, just 200 meters from the Cathedral and the Palau de la Musica and a few minutes from the Borne area, famous for its variety of restaurants and its bohemian and elitist atmosphere.Guests can stroll down the famous Ramblas, located less than 10 minutes walk and the metro station Jaume I is only 300 meters away.All rooms are decorated with contemporary furnishings and amenities that will make guests feel at home: free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, flat-screen TV, satellite TV, free safety deposit box and air conditioning .The hotel offers as well a fitness center and several PC’s located in the main lobby offering free Wi-Fi access. Room service available during limited hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ILUNION Almirante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Almirante Hotel Barcelona
ILUNION Almirante Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing