We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super friendly hotel in a great location, ideal for weekend sightseeing”
Review of ILUNION Almirante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ILUNION Almirante
Ranked #431 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A super friendly hotel in a great location, ideal for weekend sightseeing”
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Please do not let the other reviews put you off. We had a great deal for this hotel with "1800" hotels, only paid £100 for two nights with breakfast included. Yes, this hotel is really a three star but our room (502) was clean, comfy beds, large powerful shower, everything you need for a weekend break. We were pleased we were at the back of the hotel as the rooms at the front would be noisy. It meant we could open the window at night and get some fresh air. Yes there is an apartment block at the back, but hey this is Barcelona! Unless you have booked a hotel next to Cuitadella park all the hotels will have similar views! (were they expecting herds of migrating wilderbeast!!) Sorry, couldnt resist that one.

The reception staff were very friendly and the lady who served coffee was also lovely, you just had to ask if you wanted more or help yourself.
There are two lifts, call both of them if you dont want to wait, having said that, we never waited along time.
The hotel has a luggage store. It is 2-3 mins from "jaume I" Metro and 7 mins. walk from Catalunya Square. The breakfast is typical of 3 star City hotels in Spain. Lots of pastries, plenty of bacon but eggs a little over cooked.
PS We are discerning travellers who have stayed in lots of hotels, villas and apartments. This hotel is not for someone looking for the "Hotel Experience" it is for those wanting to get out and about and "do" Barcelona, knowing that a centrally located hotel with a comfy bed and good breakfast awaits! ENJOY

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    226
    198
    138
    125
See reviews for
121
328
30
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Before my trip I read the reviews and I was kind of curious why they were so varied. After the trip I can understand some of it. This hotel is really a mixed bag.
The view from the room was just bad, floor tiles in the bathroom very breaking down, there were no bathrobes, the TV remote was fixed with tape, one of the elevators was quite old etc.
But the location is excellent, room was clean, staff is friendly and efficient, hotel location is excellent, breakfast was tasty and there are many nice ideas all around the hotel.
All in all this is no different from similar hotels in France, England and Italy. No luxury but if you can deal with the bad points the good points are good and your stay will be enjoyable. Just don't expect Japanese or Nordic quality.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mobile_Eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Arriving in Barcelona heading to the Confortel we were excited at the prospect of being so centrally located in such a nice hotel. Our excitement was dashed the minute we left reception after checking in. The lift is so small we struggled to fit in it with anyone else and took absolutely ages to arrive at the ground floor to collect us. Entering our room we were very, very disappointed with the standard and rough furnishings. No tea/coffee facilities, no aircon as they claimed it was now winter and not needed - did they sleep in our bed with us?, open the window to discover nothing but all the neighbours laundry hanging not 2 feet from our window. The cleaniness was substandard and our floor was not mopped once in the 4 nights we spent there. All floors are tiled - no carpet.
We were woken every morning at approx 6am by the staff making their preparations for the day and also our neighbours next door in their bathroom - they may aswell of been standing next to our bed as we heard every word that was said !! DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 211...
The breakfast was basic and you had to be quick because they weren't that quick at restocking the counters. Very little fruit / healthy products. Cold bacon and eggs if you like that, cereal was limited and no skim milk. Trying to get a coffee was like pulling teeth.
Unfortunately for the Confortel Almirante we won't be back. This place is definitely not a 4 star establishment.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank West-Ozzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

This was a decent hotel in a busy, central part of barcelona.

Breakfast is until 10.30 and the rooms are quiet and air-conditioned. The bathroom had lots of natural light, but could have done with freshen up in the paint / sealant department.

Its next to the gothic quarter and you can be wandering around the tiny streets in about 3 minutes. We found a great tapas bar called ' Taller de Tapas' just down the road, and a small organic supermarket where we bought our bottled water - 33c compared to 2 euros from a street vendor.

I'd stay again,

It was around 25 - 30 euros from the airport (Fiu)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drogheda
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

My wife and I stayed here 4 5 nights and to say this hotel is a shambles is an understatement. The rooms are not up to 4 star standard and the view from are window consisted of looking at laundry hanging from the balcony's of a rundown apartment block not ten yards away.I immediatly complained about this and was shown another room which was actually worse, so we had to make do with the room we had with the broken toilet seat,broken toilet roll holder,broken toilet door handle,broken tiles etc etc ... The receptionist/manager was so rude,sarcastic and no way obliging.Her manner was that poor i demanded a refund which she said i could have so i went to find another hotel and after trying a few i eventually found a real 4 star hotel a few minutes away.After returning to pack our bags and get our refund she then told me sneeringly she couldn't do it.No bar,no restauraunt and breakfast was awful.Apart from this Barcelona is a wonderful city and we did not let this experience spoil it for us.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Droghedacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Just had a brilliant weekend in Barcelona with my boyfriend, made all the better for our great stay at Confortel Almirante. Situated right between the Barri Gotic and the Born/St Pere area you are within 5 minutes walk of countless great breakfast options, restaurants and bars and walking distance to the beach, cathedral, Las Ramblas, Casa Milla, Palau de Musica etc. Buses stop outside the front door and metro stop very close by.

Despite being in the centre of town and on a main transit route through the city, our large spacious room at the back of the hotel was incredibly peaceful. Reception staff were helpful and polite, and free internet terminals were useful when reluctantly arranging transport home.

The reception area looks very cool, however the rooms were a little tried in places with some rogue chipped tiles, marked walls which could really do with a bit of a touch up.

All in all, a perfect place to dump bags, crash for the night and enjoy the sights of Bercelona

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soprano20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Fantastic location with friendly, helpful staff. Buffet breakfast fresh & tasty.
Would stay again & recommend to all. Kathy Australia.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathybeeMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Exe Laietana Palace
Exe Laietana Palace
#376 of 512 in Barcelona
523 reviews
Horta - Guinardó
ILUNION Bel Art
ILUNION Bel Art
#378 of 512 in Barcelona
31 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Vincci Gala Barcelona
Vincci Gala Barcelona
#61 of 512 in Barcelona
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
ILUNION Barcelona
ILUNION Barcelona
#254 of 512 in Barcelona
1,325 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#328 of 512 in Barcelona
43 reviews
Eixample
ILUNION Auditori
ILUNION Auditori
#291 of 512 in Barcelona
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Almirante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Almirante

Property: ILUNION Almirante
Address: Via Laietana 42, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Guitart Almirante)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Almirante 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and modern, the ILUNION Almirante enjoys a privileged location that will make us dream of the past. Located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter, just 200 meters from the Cathedral and the Palau de la Musica and a few minutes from the Borne area, famous for its variety of restaurants and its bohemian and elitist atmosphere.Guests can stroll down the famous Ramblas, located less than 10 minutes walk and the metro station Jaume I is only 300 meters away.All rooms are decorated with contemporary furnishings and amenities that will make guests feel at home: free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, flat-screen TV, satellite TV, free safety deposit box and air conditioning .The hotel offers as well a fitness center and several PC’s located in the main lobby offering free Wi-Fi access. Room service available during limited hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your ILUNION Almirante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Almirante Hotel Barcelona
ILUNION Almirante Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing