We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel In A Good Location”
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oasis
Ranked #299 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel In A Good Location”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have recently returned from a 4 night stay at the Hotel Oasis. The thing to remember is that this is a 2 star hotel at 2 star prices so it would be unfair to expect 4 or 5 star accommodation. The Hotel Oasis is a very good 2 star hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean, comfortable and conveniently located for the popular areas of Barcelona. The room was a reasonable size and there was free use of the electronic safe, there was also a TV but the channels were blocked so I guess you had to pay extra for it, as we hadn’t gone to Barcelona to watch TV we didn’t ask how much it was. Breakfast was the typical cold fayre of bread, cake, meat, cheese, yogurt and cereal and was quite adequate.
Getting to the hotel from the airport could not have been easier, we took the train from terminal 2 to Passeig de Gracia station, stayed on the same platform then got the train to Estacio de Franca, the hotel was an easy 3 minute walk from there, the return journey cost less than 10 euro for the both of us. The hotel is well placed with a 10 minute walk to the beach and a15 minute walk to the heart of Las Ramblas.
Just one thing – don’t be concerned about the graffiti on the shutters around the hotel – it’s the same everywhere in Barcelona

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swyo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAUL S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Thank you so much for your opinion. And I want to thank you for the words and detail you have had with the Hotel. We are waiting for you in the not too distant future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    524
    210
    87
    61
See reviews for
111
468
66
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
456 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

For some strange reason the travel company cancelled my reservation and I was stranded in Barcelona. An incredibly kind and generous hotel staff person named Mr. Raul Santos came to the rescue. He had an amazing sense of humor and said we will help you out with a room for the night as we do not want you sleeping on the bench across the street and smiled with a devilish grin. Which caused me to laugh. He took time from his busy schedule to contact the local travel company contact person. I looked at the reservation notice again and discovered that the local number and the emergency number was the same. How strange ? This also explains why he was not successful contacting these folks. He spent a great deal of time trying to find out what happened to my reservation. He gave me the key to a room on the second floor and said everything will be alright in the morning.But reminded me that it will the bench as he he had no rooms available the next day. I contacted my travel agent by email and he redirected me to another hotel and apologized for the problem. If it were not for the kindness of Mr. Santos, I would have been sleeping on the bench he identified. I guess there is an advantage of having a travel agent. The room was clean, modern and compact and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is centrally located and is near the beach, Picasso Museum, and the Gothic (historic) Quarter.There are lots of eateries, shops, stores and tapas bars within walking distance. Of course, there is a lovely square with comfortable benches directly in front of the hotel and two small grocery stores and two banks nearby. The breakfast was a good cold breakfast with an assortment of juices, breads, pastries, and cold cuts. The service was good. The Oasis Hotel offers exceptional service, a great location at reasonable cost. What more could you want ? Answer : to have a Raul Santos at every hotel whose kindness and professionalism will never be forgotten.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room near the elevator. It was quiet but this is not always the case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAUL S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Dear Traveler,
Thank you very much for your valuation of the hotel. We thank you for giving us the highest score. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great little hotel, friendly staff & well appointed if a tad small rooms. Good location , a short walk to LA Ramblas along the marina. Breakfast was continental which while not a fan of was fine. Overall a really good , simple hotel at a good price & would definately recommend to others

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommyport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAUL S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Dear Traveler,
Thank you very much for your valuation of the hotel. We thank you for giving us the highest score. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Oasis Hotel is in a perfect location, close to the port, metro, bus routes including the 'hop on hop off' buses. Las Ramblas, Gothic Quarter and other attractions are a short walk away. The hotel reception was clean and simply decorated and the reception staff were friendly and available to answer any queries. The buffet breakfast offered toast, cereal or a continental breakfast involving ham, cheese, croissants, rolls and other sweet pastries. We booked a standard room and it was 'standard', no frills. The TV offered BBC World news and an American news channel. The bathroom had a few defects but was OK and included towels, a hairdryer, a mini soap bar mini shampoo and shower gel. My biggest moan about the room has to be the window! Frosted glass and when you slid it open, we were obviously in an internal room as it looked like a lift shaft without the lift with a perspex canopy over the top of the 'shaft'.
The weather was very warm/hot for March and the room was hot and stuffy but I couldn't get any air flowing as there was no fresh air nor natural daylight. Even the bathroom window had a wall you could touch. I asked reception how to operate the air conditioning but they said it could not be turned on until May! Our stay was only for 3 nights so we used the room as a base and returned to it late in the evening. The Oasis Bar/Cafe next door (closed Sundays) was a good place to buy a cheap snack or glass of wine and it was cooler in there :)

Room Tip: Check that the room has an outward facing window for air and natural daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda2092016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAUL S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Dear Traveler,

We regret many the whole experience that has gone through the Hotel. Everything we have described has already put us to work and we have improved a lot. I'm very sorry it was not to your liking. We hope you give us a second chance in the not too distant future. Thank you very much again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Excellent location for using Franca rly station next door, and for easy walking access to the marina area. Superb buffet breakfast. Prompt check in / check out, English speaking clerks! Room clean and comfy, excellent shower. Main complaint is the way noise echoes throughout the corridors, with people walking and wheeling bags along the marble floors. Much door slamming noise due to the powerful springs fitted. Usually starts at 5am!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAUL S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Dear traveler, thank you very much for your punctuation. We would like to thank you for the words that will certainly make us better and look forward to seeing you in the near future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, we arrived 15 minutes before check in but was told to wait, but rules are rules :) the staff were friendly and welcoming on approach, we didn't spend enough time in the hotel to know them any further!! It's a clean, we'll kept, and modern hotel. Modern bathrooms with simple furnishing. It's in a great location in the centre and provides a nice few overlooking the square if your fortunate to be at the front as we were :)
No facilities were provided apart from a less than mediocre hairdryer with Spanish television only apart from bbc world news, but not a big issue :)
We have no experience of the hotel food as there are plenty of places to eat in barca!!
All in all if you are looking for a clean and well located base this is value for money :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaqueBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAUL S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Dear Traveler,
Thank you very much for your valuation of the hotel. We thank you for giving us the highest score. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have stayed in Hotel Oasis two times and have not been disappointed. It is in a perfect location, not right in the centre but not too far away that you have to walk long. Ideally placed near the Gothic area, a 15 min walk to the beach and 10 mins walk from Las Ramblas. There is the metro stop a couple of minutes walk away (Barceloneta). The reception staff are very friendly and polite and the staff at the breakfast buffet are too. We asked for additional towels and the were provided to us. Our private transfer shuttle was late and reception chased up for us twice to help us. Rooms are small but plenty big enough for a short break in a 2 star hotel and they were clean. Beds were comfortable and appeared to have newish mattresses.

I recommend if you are using the Tourist Bus that you pick it up at the stop accross the road to avoid queing up at the main pickup stop at Placa de Cataluyna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts as it can be noisy with people moving luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAUL S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Thank you so much for your opinion. And I want to thank you for the words and detail you have had with the Hotel. We are waiting for you in the not too distant future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
Santa Marta Hotel
Santa Marta Hotel
#176 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Del Mar
Hotel Del Mar
#251 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
#277 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#25 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel 54 Barceloneta
Hotel 54 Barceloneta
#333 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Barceloneta
Lyon Hotel
Lyon Hotel
#428 of 514 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Property: Hotel Oasis
Address: Pla de Palau 17, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#200 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oasis 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Oasis Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing