We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plaza Catalunya Guest House
Ranked #125 of 326 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful guest house for three nights in October 2013. A beautifully restored apartment just yards from Placa de Catalunya, and within walking distance of all the main attractions, just a perfect location! David, Ana and Javier were just lovely, and extremely helpful with excellent English! A beautiful stylish clean room with a lovely stylish and extremely comfortable bed! The room also had air-conditioning, which was definitely a bonus as temperatures were in the mid 20's. We were greeted with a lovely breakfast every morning, which kept us going for the hectic day ahead. You are also very close to some lovely restaurants nearby. A wonderful experience, and would have no hesitation in recommending this guest house to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josiej123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    16
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
33
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We didn't stay at the Bcn AM but were given a room at another of David and Ana's B&B on Passeig de Gracia, after discussing through several emails. The area is so nice, and so convenient. The metro (Diagonal station) is just a minute-walk away, and with that station, it's easy to go to La Sagrada Familia, Park Guell, Placa de Catalunya (and La Ramblas), the beach (not Barceloneta station, but at the end of La Ramblas, with the La Rambla del Mar), and even to the Tram Blue up to Tibidabo. It's also just one street parallel to the Rambla de Catalunya avenue, where all the nice cafes are. We loved our area because it felt a lot less "touristy" than near La Ramblas and the Barri Gothic (which actually weren't all that nice)
The room itself was very nice, modern and spacious, so we felt very relaxed whenever we came back from exploring the busy streets of Barcelona. Checking in was easy, as we had already discussed a meeting time. David spent quite some time explaining to us all the useful information we needed to make our (first) time in Barcelona worth it—metro systems, great (but cheap) tapas bars and areas we should visit. He explained it all using the maps on his iPad, which made understanding a lot easier. Everything we wanted to know, he and Ana were able to answer. Though he and Ana were not there all the time, there is a tourist information office just a minute-walk away, so you can get all the information there as well. When we wanted to ask David and Ana something directly, we were able to contact them through WhatsApp (or call), so that was very convenient also. Very modern and hip couple :) I like and admire them very much!
We were also given breakfast every morning by a very kind lady. It was a simple breakfast, but you get more than enough to be full till late afternoon.
It can get a little noisy if other guests or the lady are doing something in the living room/kitchen (eating, talking on the phone, etc), because our room was right in front of the living room. But it did not bother us too much.
Simply...David and Ana made our stay in Barcelona great. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina91ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We did not stay at the B&B but at two of the other properties David owns. The first was a one bedroom at Las Ramblas, 100 which was a GREAT location, a little noisy from traffic (like anywhere in the city) and quite nice with places to eat and great shopping all around as well as metro stations. I felt safe wandering around into the late evening with my family. The second place was a last minute change to a B&B on Praca de Gracia, 117. It was really funky, a bit tight in the room for 3 adults and a three year old but it was our last night night and only night and the location was equally amazing. Having the breakfast was great too. I believe David owns several properties and if I can judge by these two you are in good hands. He gave great recommendations for places to eat and things to see. I think David manages several properties and shuffles guests around to make it work. The last minute change concerned me but it was a great property as well. I got the sense he is trying to manage many great properties - so be prepared. He doesn't take children anymore (we were the last I think), which he made quite clear repeatedly. I would book with him again in an instant even knowing we might get shuffled around...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Sitting in the aiport bus heading downtown Barcelona I received a call from David informing me about a water main break at Bcn AM which had badly affected the room I had booked. I hardly had time to process the information cause luckily he had an alternate accomodation on Passeig de Grazia, near Metro Stn. Diagonal: a place called "Look Barcelona"
Let me tell you, I never even wondered abount the original accomodation. Location was further off the center, but it was totally worth it!!!! Grazia is a lovely neighboorhood with small shops and many cosy international restaurants. The area is quiet in the evenings but just 150m till you reach shopping heaven (comparable to the Champs Elysee). Case Mila is just 7min walk away.
The hotel is occupying one floor in a residence building. One big apartment in the past, it has got a very cosy atmosphere with a recreation room with sofas in the center adjoined by the kitchen. Everything is beautifully decorated and brand new. Considering the small scale (just 4 or 5 rooms if I remember correctly) and the warm and helpful staff (David came every morning to prepare breakfast... mmmh the smell of croissants....) it felt like home rather than a hotel. Minus points - if countable at all - is the lack of windows in some rooms.
Overall a very pleasant stay. I would come again!

Room Tip: Room opposite the recreation area is the biggest with private bathroom. If you prefer a window, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We had booked into BcN at Rambla Catalunya ,but 3 days before we flew into Barcelona we got a mail from David saying they had moved their location to Passage de Garcia.
What we realised after going there was that they rambla catalunya place was still open but being run by other folks and these people( david and anna) had opened this new place in Passage de Garcia just a week before we reached there. We were recieved by David and Anna even though it was fairly late ( ard 10pm) and they gave a brief introduction of what to see and where and gave us restuarant options as well. We managed to get a fairly big room and an ensuite bathroom...
The cons were the noise from the main road, we had a tiny balcony with a great view but it was not sound proofed so you did hear traffic at night
The tv was set up but not connected to a network, so it was just for show! The bathroom was all nice and new but the drain in the shower cubicle was not set up properly
Breakfast was fairly basic ,when we asked for our eggs done differently they said they could only do boiled eggs..and because it is so new...they did not have things like salt?! ( which i would think was an essential item in the kitchen)
It was fine for 2 nights but for prices as high as they charge you can actually stay at a mid- high range hotel with better facilities

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennymgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

We had originally booked to stay in the B&B, but luckily emailed Ana and David directly before our arrival. They told us that the B&B was full and offered us to stay in the holiday apartment they have further up Rambla de Catalunya at the same price. First we were a bit worried about the slightly less central location, but that was easily compensated for by the added privacy and space, which had been the only issues we were wondering about after reading the reviews for the B&B. The location also turned out to be no problem at all, because Gaudí's La Pedrera and Casa Batlló are just around the corner, Plaça Catalunya is still easy walking distance and Barcelona's subway system is super easy to navigate. An extra advantage was that we could check in in the morning instead of the afternoon. Ana met us at the apartment and gave us the run down on Barcelona including tips for good places to eat tapas and paella.
The apartment is bright and spacious, nicely furnished and clean, with views up Rambla de Catalunya all the way to Tibidabo. The wifi and heating worked flawlessly, and the windows blocked all noise from the busy street below. We also didn't hear anything from the neighbours. We didn't use the kitchen, except to make some tea. An electric kettle would have been nice for that, but that's no big deal.
All in all, coming back to our own little oasis every night was just what we needed after exhausting days as tourists in an amazing city with too much to see.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jviethen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
187 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Well if you need your hand heald like some negative responses, don't stay here!
We found the accomodations great, just like the pictures. Yes the bathrooms are shared, but no problem. The balcony in the rear is great and very quiet. We stayed 4 nights and never heard a sound from other guests or outside. The breakfast is minimal but satisfactory. True the owners are not here but a couple hours a day, so if you need your hand heald, prehaps this is not the place for you. We found David and Ana very helpful and great recomendations for events and dining. The taxi, metro, bus, hop on hop of is at your fingertips. all with in 100 feet. of the entrance. We had a luggage delay due to airline problems and David was outstanding in helping us with our problem. Great dinner at PLA and the wine is supurb..

Room Tip: All rooms are good, very quiet as apartment is at the back of the building on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinwood1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Ramblas Cozy Rent Top Apartments
Ramblas Cozy Rent Top Apartments
#409 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#82 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#159 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Eixample
H10 Universitat Hotel
H10 Universitat Hotel
#142 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Eixample
Izaila Plaza Catalunya
Izaila Plaza Catalunya
#39 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Catalunya Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Catalunya Guest House

Property: Plaza Catalunya Guest House
Address: Rambla Catalunya, 5, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed & breakfast is in an emblematic building from 1885 in the absolute best location of Barcelona, a few minutes walking distance to the most celebrated and renowned places to visit in the city. This apartment was recently remodeled to restore its original condition and adapt it to a suitable place that can accommodate travelers from around the world and where they will experience and enjoy the lifestyle of this beautiful city, in a familiar, authentic, personalized and unique environment. We have five cozy rooms, all equipped with satellite TV, comfortable beds, air conditioning and heating, Wi-Fi, chest of drawers, rack/shelf, mirror, linen and bathroom towels. The rooms are spacious and two of the double rooms can convert (upon request and availability) into a triple or quadruple room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plaza Catalunya Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Catalunya Guest House Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing