We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
Ranked #344 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Bangalore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not Impressed!”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I find it hard to believe the rest of the reviews on Tripadvisor. I am not sure, but I believe that we may have been allotted the worst room in the Hotel. It was in the dingiest corner of the building. The room was so tiny that we barely had space to move around without tripping on our own luggage. As if that wasn't enough the whole area reeked of a subtle Urine scent.

On the positive side, the girl at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. The management on their part offered us a refund for the unused portion of the stay.

However, my memory of Barcelona will always be a picture of a very uncomfortable room and a depressing stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husa_Barcelona, Director de Recepción at Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear guest
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time rating us on trip advisor.
Sorry for the problem with your room. When somebody is not agreeing with the room we try to solve the problem immediately and if it’s not possible we offer a change of room.
We hope to see you again on the Internacional Cool Local hotel because we hope to change the point of view of these negative feelings. Despite of this, I will show your review to the rest of the staff to improve all aspects and I will congratulate to Sandra, the girl at the front desk.
Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comment.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    274
    112
    45
    59
See reviews for
95
332
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

The hotel was awesome. It was missing some amenities but the overall experience is impeccable. The lady who tended us for breakfast is by far the greatest. She was courteous and friendly who wore a immense smile everyday. Kudos to her and the remaining of the staffs. I'd definately come back to this hotel on my next visit.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are small. We requested for an upgrade and I'm glad we did it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamba28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husa_Barcelona, Director de Recepción at Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear guest
Thank you so much for taking your time sending your review on tripadvisor, all comments help us to improve every day. I will show your review to the rest of the staff and I will congratulate all breakfast department for the service.
Thank you to advise us that we don’t have enough amenities, we hope to improve in this aspect.
Thanks again for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comment and we hope to see you in Barcelona again.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

My wife and I were spending the week in Barcelona. We had never been there before so I picked the hotel location that was close to lots of attractions on the map. This hotel had the best rates in its category for that location. I is close to Rival, Old Town, Port Vell and has a subway (Metro) station right outside the front door. It also has the public bikes. The rooms looked recently remolded and had contemporary style. The only minor issue is the subway; if you are a light sleeper, you may notice the rumble of the trains every 5-10 minutes. It didn't bother me because I am a light sleeper. We didn't notice any noise from the Rambles and we were on the second floor overlooking the street. We didn't eat at the hotel because there are hundreds of places to eat with in a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husa_Barcelona, Director de Recepción at Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear guest
First of all, thank you so much for taking your valuable time and rate us on tripadvisor, all comments are the best reward for us and help us to continue in this way improving every day.
We hope to see you again in the Internacional Cool Local Hotel
Thanks again for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comment.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baile Atha Cliath
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2012

A group of us stayed in this hotel which is very central on Las Ramblas. Some of the rooms were very spacious and others were small enough but sufficient. The rooms my friends stayed in were bigger but the paid slighly more. This is a great hotel with a lovely multilingual staff. I had a problem checking in for my return flight and Claudio in reception fixed the probem for me. He actually stayed a half hour after his shift finished to do so and I am very grateful to him for doing this. I am Irish and not related in any way to anyone from the Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imreoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husa_Barcelona, Director de Recepción at Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear guest
Thank you so much for taking your time giving your opinion about your stay in the Internacional Cool Local Hotel on trip advisor. I will show your review to all staff and I will congratulate Claudio specially.
We are pleased to know that your stay was great and we hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We had an very pleasant stay at this hotel situated on the Ramblas. The service was nice and the employees where very friendly. Our room was situated on the side of the Ramblas, it was a very nice & clean room.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Husa Hoteles

Helpful?
Thank PATRICIA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husa_Barcelona, Director de Recepción at Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear guest
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time rating us on trip advisor. The comments are the best reward for us I will show that review to all the hotel staff because this will motivate them to work in this way.
We appreciate your feedback about your experience with us. We are improving day by day to offer you our best making feel you as comfortable as you are at home
Thank you again
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

When we booked this hotel, we paid a little extra to have a room with a balcony facing Ramblas and it was definitely worth it. It was cool to stand out and just watch the world go by.

The people at the reception were very friendly and even though our room wasn't available when we arrived at 11 am, they stored our luggage for us and the room was available a short time later.

Despite having a room facing the very busy street, once we closed the door you really could not hear very much from outside. The soundproofing was very good in the room we had.

The most noise we heard came from inside the hotel, people playing on the laptop in the hallway late at night, people having loud conversations after midnight in the corridors. These problems are not exclusive to this hotel, but they were annoying.

The Liceu metro stop is literally right in front of the hotel and is very convenient if traveling to and from Barcelona Sants station.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husa_Barcelona, Director de Recepción at Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear guest
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time and rate us on trip advisor. Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue in this way and of course I will show that review to all the hotel staff.
Sorry for the noise due to the guests who are on the laptops without thinking that there are more guests into the hotel; in this case, when our reception staff knows it we advise to guests that there are more guests having a rest.
Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comment and we hope to see you again in the Internacional Cool Local Hotel.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Great time had! Got upgraded to a better room.. so of course when that happens, the price to awesome ratio goes up fast.

Staff were amazingly helpful. Really genuine, young, spoke flawless english and were just great.

The room was ok... stayed in 305. Had one window that opened internally into the hotel, curtains werent to heavy... so this window let a huge amount of light in all night and was hard to sleep. Bit of a downside.

The room looked as if it was first class, 5 years ago. The bathroom vanity unit had taken alot of water and was very damaged, to the point where you turn the basin tap on and the whole thing moves.

Other than the light and the vanity unit, the hotel is fairly swish and super nice. Would definitely stay there again.

Location is amazing, right on the 'main strip' or at least one of them. I'd stay away from the nearby restaurants... they're touristy junk.

Breakfast at the hotel was very expensive (stayed in many breakfast offering hotels for business) 13 Euro or 9 if you pre-book. Great room and good atmosphere, but expensive for what it is. Gluten free options are super limited.

Easiest way to get there from the airport is to catch the A2 airport bus for 5 Euro to catalunya square and then a 5 min walk. Too easy!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonniehekyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husa_Barcelona, Director de Recepción at Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear guest
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time rating us on trip advisor.
When it’s possible we offer a free up – grade to our guests because we want the best for them. Sorry for the inconveniences with the bathroom and the window. When somebody is not agreeing with the room we try to solve the problem immediately and if it’s not possible we offer a change of room.
We hope to see you again on the Internacional Cool Local hotel because we hope to change the point of view of these negative feelings. Despite of this, I will show your review to the rest of the staff to improve all aspects.
Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comment.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#232 of 513 in Barcelona
1,538 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#103 of 513 in Barcelona
2,355 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#220 of 513 in Barcelona
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
#310 of 513 in Barcelona
402 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
May Ramblas Hotel
May Ramblas Hotel
#378 of 513 in Barcelona
53 reviews
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#316 of 513 in Barcelona
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool

Property: Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
Address: C/ Ramblas 78-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Internacional Cool Local Hotel)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Barcelona, right in the Ramblas and within the city's historic downtown,.Hotel Internacional allows you to enjoy the city's most vibrant hide-out: in the middle of las Ramblas, in front of the refurbished Gran Teatro del Liceu and the well-known Mercado de la Boquería, and just a short distance from the Olympic Port.The Hotel Internacional offers you modernity, design and comfort. Its inner rooms and courtyard spaces are relaxing and welcoming with a fresh, modern ambiance.The rooms, totally equiped has been renovated with an elegant and modern decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Cool Local Hotel Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Husa Internacional
Husa Internacional Barcelona
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing