We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleased with this central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
Ranked #369 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent three nights at the hotel , its right in the middle of the tourist area . Very good hotel , i would defiantly go back again . The staff on the desk were extremely helpful and helped us book attractions . The breakfast was superb, the fresh bread was great . Very modern , the hotel has been refurbished and was very good . We had a room with balcony that looked out onto the street , defiantly worth paying a bit more for . The shower was so big you could have got a football team in !! .

Room Tip: A room overlooking the street is defiantly worth paying for. Breakfast was very good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Basic hotel but it was location we were after and it did not disappoint. We were right across from the market on las Ramblas and everything was on our doorstep. We did not eat in foe either dinner or breakfast. Mostly had breakfast in the markup where atmosphere and choice was fantastic. Would definitely go back in fact a colleague who was with me already has.

Room Tip: Overlooking the street is nicest rooms at the back did have a darkness to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is fantastic. I thoroughly enjoyed the choice for breakfast in the mornings and couldn't fault it. There was a mini fridge in the hallway that supplied free bottles of water which I thought was a great touch! Unfortunately our first room was quite noisy as it was facing the Main Street, but when we asked to swap it was not a problem and we didn't have any further issues with the noise. Overall, I enjoyed my experience and would stay here again

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarahsa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

For his much this hotel costs I expected much better. But all we got was a tiny room with barely enough room to shuffle around the bed. There was no air conditioning and the only way to try and make the room cooler was to open a window, which then let in lots of bad smells and noise. The room was dirty and the shower base had a huge crack in it.
We expected there to be free WiFi but it did not work and every time we asked about this at reception we were told that it worked, which it never did, only to find a telecoms engineer at the hotel on the day we checked out who was there to fix it.
Will never stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Darrell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

When we checked in we were given Room 218. We went into the room, and due to previous reviews, we knew the room would be small, but not this small!! The room had a window which looked out onto a lift shaft! The toilet in the bathroom was up against the wall so to use it you would have to sit sideways. I had asked for a double room and got a twin room with very short beds! We asked to change and were given Room 215. it had a double bed, so we took it, but our tiny window looked onto a brick wall and the shower tray had a huge crack in it.
Beware if you need to be in contact with anyone at home. The free wifi does not work, and when we queried with reception we were told it was our phones that were a problem until on check out we met the telephone engineer who told us that the wifi never works!
The pillows were pathetic and even when we asked for another one it made little difference as the bed was so uncomfortable.
The room was too hot, and the window could not be opened due to the smell from outside, and the switch for the air conditioning was taped closed.
The bedside lamps had no bulbs in them and reception refused to fix this.
Breakfast was nice - no complaints here. A choice of hot and cold food with tea, coffee and juices.
As everyone has mentioned if you want to be in the centre of La Ramblas then this hotel will do it. If you want somewhere where you can get a decent nights sleep and basic levels of comfort - DO NOT CHOOSE THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nicholahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The location was incredible! We were very impressed that we could walk everywhere! The rooftop terrace was also amazing, however our room was incredibly small and often smelled of garbage. Also, the rooms are NOT soundproofed, as advertised

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank Stephlaframb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel is well located just opposite the Liceu Opera house and the metro station of the same name on the Rambla. A very short walk away is the Boqueria market and there are loads of cafes and restaurants. In daylight hours the Rambla is an attractive place to stroll or sit and have a coffee and people watch, at night it is rather tacky and there are many prostitutes and pickpockets, so be warned.

The hotel itself is pleasant with clean, modern public areas. The staff on reception are helpful and willing to show you how to find places and give you a map. My room was 111 on the first floor at the back with a view of a back alley - not inspiring but you don't go to Barcelona to sit in your room. The room was lovely and clean with a modern bathroom with tub and shower. The TV had only spanish channels, and although it would be nice to have maybe a couple of English language channels I would not consider this a deal breaker - as I have already said, you don't come here to sit in your room. The bed was comfortable, but for couples would be a problem as it was two singles pushed together and on castors so you would expect to fall through the middle as the beds slide apart.
The only real down side was that the sound insulation was not good and over the weekend the (mainly English) drunk guests coming back at two or three in morning talking loudly and slamming doors did spoil my sleep.
Breakfast was good with a range of choices from the usual cooked offering to rolls, cold meats, cheese, cereals, fruit and pastries. There was good quality fruit choice and coffee and hot water with a choice of teabags. The downside to the cooked option was that it was not even warm, it was cold.

I did not use the Metro as it seemed a shame to miss the Rambla - it is also famous for pickpockets. The hotel is about ten minutes walk from the Placa Catalunia where the Aerobus arrives from El Prat airport (good value at 10E20 return).

I must thank the reception staff for being really helpful when I was mugged - the made phone calls for me to help get my stolen cards cancelled. Top tip - leave as much as you can in the room safe - I did not and suffered the consequences.

I booked the hotel through Easyjet so I am not sure what I paid for the room but I can only assume it offers excellent value for money.

Room Tip: If you want a room overlooking the Rambla pay to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solotravellerBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#224 of 518 in Barcelona
1,697 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#107 of 518 in Barcelona
2,627 reviews
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#332 of 518 in Barcelona
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Ramblas Hotel
Ramblas Hotel
#419 of 518 in Barcelona
837 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#197 of 518 in Barcelona
1,002 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#206 of 518 in Barcelona
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool

Address: C/ Ramblas 78-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Internacional Cool Local Hotel)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £34 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Barcelona, right in the Ramblas and within the city's historic downtown,.Hotel Internacional allows you to enjoy the city's most vibrant hide-out: in the middle of las Ramblas, in front of the refurbished Gran Teatro del Liceu and the well-known Mercado de la Boquería, and just a short distance from the Olympic Port.The Hotel Internacional offers you modernity, design and comfort. Its inner rooms and courtyard spaces are relaxing and welcoming with a fresh, modern ambiance.The rooms, totally equiped has been renovated with an elegant and modern decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Cool Local Hotel Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Husa Internacional
Husa Internacional Barcelona
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing