We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I went there to sleep and slept!”
Review of Hostal Girona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Girona
Ranked #53 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Banyoles
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“I went there to sleep and slept!”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Basic hotel, good location. The single room is small but OK for the price I paid. If you just need a simple place to sleep, this hotel does the job.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iceberg678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    192
    68
    17
    11
See reviews for
39
176
60
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

As a couple with young child we found this hotel very pleasant with the most friendly and helpful staff. Pretty rooms and a comfortable bed. Great location close to Las Ramblas, convenient to all attractions. Quiet, clean and an easy place to stay. Plus it is very affordable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hotel part, rather than the Hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starmagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Basic, but fit my budget and price range. I was in Room 19, which had a nice bathroom. Small but sufficient room. I loved the free wifi with a great signal!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breezy10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Hostal Girona was in a perfect location for us. It was less than a 10 minute walk from where the airport bus dropped us off at Placa de Catalunya and in the evening we had a short stroll right into the heart of El Born with all it's mazy streets.
First impression of the hostal itself was it's character... the front entrance, the massive staircase, the big carved wooden doors and quiet warm feel.
First thoughts on our room was: "God, this is small". But it had everything we needed: warmth, double bed, ensuite, wardrobe, and a couple of english-speaking channels on the flatscreen TV. And besides, we weren't in Barcelona to spend all our time in our hotel room.

All in all, get your expectation right and you'll be satisfied with Hostal Girona. If you need to spend a lot of time in your room or need lots of space then go elsewhere. If you intend spending time out in the city and need to mind your pennies then it's for you.

Room Tip: P.S. Building work in the same building was noisy at times one morning. We've learned to always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

WOW, what a location. Surrounded by character buildings and 5 minutes walk from Catalunya Square and Las Ramblas. Its near the buzz but without the buzz of noise!!

The rooms are very basic, we went for the shared toilet as we only intended on sleeping and being out all day. Our room came with a shower which we did not expect and was a pleasant surprise. The shared bathrooms were beautiful, all modern and very very clean. The room was cleaned daily which we also didn't expect, beds were made and fresh clean linen was provided. The staff were very friendly and wanted to help, I would definitely return to this Hostel.

Near to this hostel you have 2 supermarkets. I would suggest stocking up on water and essentials prior to arriving at the hostel as there is no facilities in the hostel. If you are looking for a food try and venture into town and avoid the cafes or restaurants walking into Catalunya Square as they rush their food and you pay a lot of money for basic food.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor quieter than below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0mDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle/Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Lovely, quirky place to stay in a good location. 10 minutes from Placa Catalunya, Las Ramblas and between 2 metro stations. It´s a quiet hostal, probably not suited to large groups with lots of antiques and a great colour scheme. Only down side was the small room. The photographs suggest much bigger rooms but we (my friend and I) got a very small room with 2 single beds. It did have a tv and towels which was good. We also had a very small ensuite which was better than having to troup outside.
I would return but would try to specify a larger room as it was very cramped for 2.

Room Tip: Ask to have a larger room as some are very small and cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpNorth2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souh .East
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is a gem of a place to stay in central Barcelona. It is beautifully decorated with a lot of antique furniture. It has real atmosphere and is really quirky which I love. There are no extras though so ... no tea/coffee, no hairdryer, hand soap but no shampoo etc. There are plenty of clean towels, extra balnkets and airconditioning. If you need pamperong and luxory this is not for you. If you are happy with clean, beautifully decorated and remorable this will be the one.

Many of the rooms do not have toilets but I think most have showers. The shared facilities are very good - very clean and modern. underfloor heating. there is (as far as I could tell) a shared shower and toilet room and a shared toilet on each floor. I stayed in room 13 which has a small shower inthe corner but no toilet. I asked to see an alternative and thought that although the other room did have an ensuite - it was very squashed in. The shared bathroom however was very spacious and lovely to use. So don't be put off by the shared facilities.

Room 13 was at the rear of the building and has a double bed and a smalled glass fronted balcony. the view is of the backs of the other buildings in the block - although not beautiful it is interesting and quiet. Sitting out on the balcony with a glass of wine in the evening was lovely - even in Feb!

The staff were very helpful and we were able to leave our bags in a locked cupboard on the last day as we had a whole day in Barcelona before our flight.

The reception is on the first floor of the building. So you entre the building via a large wooden front door and use steps / lift to get to the hostel door. This has a gold plaque and a bell to ring. Yoiu will be given three keys - one to the main building door, one to the door of the floor your room is on (the hostel covers two floors and each has it's own enterance) and a key to your room. The hostel feels very safe and secure.

There is no restaurant and so no breakfast but this is not a problem as there are cafes and bars close by. There are also supermarkets.

The hotel is ..
10 minute walk to tube (Nearest Urquinaona)
10 minute walk to Placa Catalunya (airobus to airport A2 to Terminla 2)
20 miute walk to Las Ramblas

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shadoxfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#49 of 307 in Barcelona
341 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Colkida
Hostal Colkida
#32 of 307 in Barcelona
349 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Argo Barcelona
Hostal Argo Barcelona
#30 of 307 in Barcelona
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#34 of 307 in Barcelona
451 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
#16 of 307 in Barcelona
565 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#15 of 307 in Barcelona
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Girona

Property: Hostal Girona
Address: C/ Girona 24, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Girona 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Girona is located in the center of Barcelona, in the heart of the bourgeois Eixample district, near Paseo de Gracia ,where stand two buildings of Gaudi : Casa Batllo and Casa Mila.This large building dating from S.XIX , part of the Quadrat d`Or designed by Idelfons Cerda, whose consolidation as bourgeois center coincided with the emergence of Modernism in Barcelona.Hostal Girona combines the spirit of that age with the facilities of a small and modern hostal with a familiar and comfortable ambience. Yours sincerely, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Girona Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Girona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing