We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff”
Review of Hostal Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Paris
Ranked #481 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We have to stay at this hotel because most of the hotels were fully booked. The receptionist can't speak much of English and unfriendly, very noisy and the room is old. Its necessary to book a hotel before you go to Barcelona, that can save you a lot of time.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kittymiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Paris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2009

we were grateful to the staff for finding us a roomto stay after arriving to find the hotel we had booked into had over booked it took us 3 hours and 1 bus ride and 2 metro journeys to find a hotel with a spare room the staff were kind and helpful to us we found the room clean ,maybe dated and a bit noisy at night but a great location and we had agreat 6 days many thanks

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nornimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

Together with 2 other friends we booked a three-bed room for 5 nights. We were slightly chocked already when we entered the room - it had no windows! It was a humid warm burrow with a false "window" to some kind of an internal well. But ok, we came to visit Barcelona, not to sit in the hotel room, so we did not spend too much time thinking about that.
During the night we couldn't sleep, it was too warm (not working air-co) and too loud (you can here people talking in the corridor, slamming doors, etc), but the worst we were scratching most of the time. I thought (oh, how naive one can be) it's nervous itching, some kind of psychological reaction to the first night in not known place. Unfortunately, in the morning we discovered bugs on our sheets! We identified them as bed-bugs (brrrr), later we've learnt there were also fleas. We packed our staff immediately to change the hotel.
But at the reception desk another nasty surprise - we booked the hotel via barcelona30 website and pre-paied by a credit card a certain percentage of the total price which gave almost 90 Euros. When you book the hotel, it is suggested you pre-pay a part of the accomodation price. U-huh, as we've learnt aaalllll 90 Euros was the fee for the booking service! and we still needed to pay extra 80 Euros for the spent night there. I'm still to write a formal complaint to the barcelona30 company, and I will not hesitate to take legal steps, as it's simple cheating. All together an awful adventure.
And as for the bugs, we were so badly bitten, that we needed a dermatological assistance - we are still taking anti-alergic pills and apply a special ointment. I wish I have taken photos of red spots on my feet and swallowed wrists so I could send them to the hotel.
Higly not-recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank TravellerinBxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2007

II booked the room at Hostal Paris through the website [--] for one week (7 nights) where they charge you 87€ straight away and tell you that each night comes out to 59€ . The price seemed reasonable and after reading reviews about the hostal it seemed quite nice. But it was absolutely awful. It is extremely old and very ugly. The rooms are dirty, the bed sheets very used and the towels have holes. The soap in the bathroom belonged to another hotel. The bed had bugs and and me and my friend were bitten while trying to sleep during the 1st and only night (as we booked another hotel just 20€ more and on the Ramblas with breakfast and a fantastic room with a wonderful view and soundproof windows). The noise you can hear in the Hostal Paris is the same as if you were outside, or the people talking, screaming, laughing and cars, ambulances were inside your room making a huge noise until the morning.
The 2 people at the reception of the hostal do not know how to smile (nor even understand any other language beside Spanish) The night receptionist told us when we said we were leaving the next day that we did not have to pay anything more as we had already paid 87€. The next morning when we checked out, the lady at the reception screamed at us saying that we had to pay an extra 53,50€ (after already having paid 87€) for one night. Said that the 87€ was barcelona30 commission, but that’s not what barcelona30 said before, never had they said that the room was 53€50 per night (they said 59€) it was a horrible 1st night in Barcelona (a fantastic city that we were visiting for the 1st time).
It is a dreadful hostal, horrible rooms, very unfriendly and badly educated people who work there. I do not recommend this hostel to anyone. Absolutely the worst thing with mean uneducated screaming people working there, that I’ve ever encountered in my life.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CascaisLuvTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2006

we are staying here at the moment (21st of May 2006) and so far so good. we drove down this morning from the sth of france and after a major stuff up by La Terrassa hotel we walked into Hostal Paris (first place we found off Las Ramblas) and asked if they had a triple availble. Yes. How much? 75 euros. Done! we inspected the room and it is clean, three single beds, a clean and large bathroom with shower/bath, a tv and an airconditioner. it was up the first flight of stairs and towards the back...the windows open into a central air well (not pretty to look out on but quiet and decent air flow). they don´t serve breakfast but there is a great cafe around the corner that does a full english breakfast for 6.50 euros incl coffee and juice or plenty of tapas places or pastry shops nearby. you are two seconds from las ramblas and in a perfect location for price.

since we drove down we had to park the car somewhere and parked under the cathedral. 30 euros for 24 hrs. certainly not cheap but close by and only paying 25 euros each for accomodation meant 30 was fine (even when converted into aussie dollars!!).

as mentioned above by others the staff (husband and wife i think) aren´t exactly a ball of fun but i suspect that is because of the language more than anything else. they are always polite and try and help.

so, in all, for the price a pretty good deal. certainly not luxury but clean and awesome location.

Stayed: May 2006
5  Thank aessedai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2006

Its a cheap Hostal with great location for those who want to be in Barcelona`s heart (Ramblas and Plaza de la Catalunha). Good bathroom, not a bed room. The only problem its the noise from the other rooms. For those who just want a place to stay at night its very good.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joaoFortunato2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
12
Reviewed 12 October 2004

OK, the decor was nothing to write home about but the rooms were acceptably clean. However when you can look out of your bedroom window onto the Ramblas, nothing else matters. Despite this proximity, the heavy shutters kept out all light and noise until we were ready to get up and go out again.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#422 of 513 in Barcelona
164 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#399 of 513 in Barcelona
247 reviews
El Raval
Hostal River
Hostal River
#379 of 513 in Barcelona
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Barbara
Hotel Barbara
#478 of 513 in Barcelona
545 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Segre
Pension Segre
#479 of 513 in Barcelona
143 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Bia
Hostal Bia
#486 of 513 in Barcelona
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Paris

Address: Cardenal Casanas, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #481 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £50 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Paris 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hostal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Paris Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Paris Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing