We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Barcelona!”
Review of Hostal Oliva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Oliva
Ranked #35 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Hostal Oliva is located in Barcelona's best neighborhood - the lovely Passeig de Gracia, close to Plaza Catalunya. It is a fourth floor lodging in a lovely older building, entered by an open wrought iron elevator. Our room was large, airy and clean, with extremely modern toilet/shower facilities and large window to tiny patio outside. The proprietress showed us both hospitality and special kindness. The hotel and neighborhood are quiet, the metro is just outside, along with the widest walking boulevards and best tapas places! Connie and Dan, Oak Ridge NJ.

Room Tip: I viewed a room without bath which was much smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

My wife and I have been staying at the Oliva on and off for 16 years. We have tried various other hotels in barcelona, but always end up back at the Oliva. Now that the bathrooms have been renovated, we hope to still be staying there 16 years from now. The large rooms with private rooms are perfect, and the family who run the Hostal are perfect hosts. A joy!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank JayCele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This is one of the best location in Barcelona. A few minute walk to pretty much everything (the rambla, city center, metro stations, restaurants). However, that being said, this place is on the 4th floor. Elevator is super small and takes 3 hours to get you there. If you have a large backpack, only one will fit. The double room without bath is small and the worst part is, it's HOT. No AC or fan.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damantony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

This place is in an amazing building with an antique, renovated elevator, right on Passeig de Gracia.
It's within walking distance of all parts of the old city and right on top of several main subway lines, including a commuter rail station.

The rooms that do not have their own bathroom are quite small. Very small. But you can't beat the price and it is extremely clean. My only complaint is that some of the the rooms don't have great natural ventilation and since the Spanish/Catalans turn off the A/C at night in the summer (it's a cultural thing), the rooms can get quite hot. If they installed ceiling fans it would make all the difference in the world.

Room Tip: Stick with the larger rooms with a private bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brooklynmfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

I have nothing negative to say. You couldn't ask for a better location - metro at the corner, Passeig de Grasia train stop just up the road, walk to La Rambla. You could even walk to Sagrada Familia if you wore comfortable shoes. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. The ladies at the pension were very nice (1 lady only spoke catalan, not castilian, but we figured things out). You don't need to worry about security - no one can get past those ladies unless you are staying there! As others have mentioned, the building itself has tons of characters. And they have a coffee machine - 1 euro for cappuciono, espresso, etc. to help kick-start your day of sight-seeing!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2017New2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

This is the second time I have stayed here in two years, and the rooms have been renovated since the 1st visit, but still lack any air conditioning which is required in the middle of summer if you have a room that does not look out onto the streets for a breeze. The first time I visited with my family we had a large room at the rear of the building that was clean but because we visited in August with no air conditioning and a small window with very little breeze the room became to hot to sleep in for a family of four.Having just returned from our 2nd stay at the Hostal this autumn I had asked for a room for two adults and a 12 year old that looked out onto the mainstreet but when we arrived I was offered a front facing room looking out onto the main street as requested but with two single beds pushed together! No room for the child to sleep other than on the floor or in with us! Not ideal even for a three night stay but better than a room with no view.The allocation of rooms seems very hit and miss but all a clean and tidy if not a bit on the small side for some rooms. I would recommend a room at the front of the building that allows you a excellent view of the Spanish going about daily life on the street below, but bring ear plugs if your a light sleeper. The Hostal Oliva is a good value basic, clean base to explore Barcelona with excellent travel links just down the road and plenty of good place to eat on your door step.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I could not be happier with the week spent at Hostal Oliva! We had a double room with a private bathroom. The room is bare bones, but was SPOTLESS clean! Perfect amount of space for 2 adults. Enough elbow room to dress and keep things separate. Small bathroom, but really enough space to work in. The location could not be more ideal. Breakfast was not included but you are located within steps of reasonable eating options. The woman who runs it is fantastic. Friendly and always making sure you have what you need. I would stay here and save the money you would have spent on a fancy hotel on the wonderful food and wine Barcelona has to offer! Tapas 24 is downstairs from the hostal and is the BEST tapas in town!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank photogfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#49 of 307 in Barcelona
464 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#15 of 307 in Barcelona
309 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Boutique Khronos
Hostal Boutique Khronos
#11 of 307 in Barcelona
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostal Colkida
Hostal Colkida
#43 of 307 in Barcelona
366 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#9 of 307 in Barcelona
485 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hostal Orleans
Hostal Orleans
#28 of 307 in Barcelona
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Oliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Oliva

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 32, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £40 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty, vintage wooden elevator with a bench and a looking glass takes you in stately manner to the top floor of the beautiful and courtly eixample building where the Hostal Oliva has been located since it was founded, back in 1931.Renovations have been made carefully to enhance the facilities of our Hostal without losing its vintage atmosphere, that unique character that has made Hostal Oliva highly appreciated by our guests through the years.The Hostal Oliva is run by forthcoming, charming staff who take wonderful care of our guests with a personal feeling which you will find most attractive. Both our friendly ambience along with the overall atmosphere of intimacy and tranquility that you will find here, are willing to help making your visit to Barcelona a delightful and unforgettable experience.Its unsurpassable location on the most splendid of the Eixample avenues, the pricey Passeig de Gràcia, makes Hostal Oliva the best bet for those who are searching for a budget place to stay, but are also concerned about looks, safety, character and a central position. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Oliva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Oliva Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Oliva Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing