We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catalonia Albeniz Hotel”
Review of Catalonia Albeniz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Albeniz
Ranked #214 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Catalonia Albeniz Hotel”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Small hotel, comfortable rooms, but not large, with a nice bathroom. Good breakfast but skip the scrambled eggs, they are not a european specialty, otherwise there is a varied choice of typical european breakfast foods. The front desk staff, especially Erica, was very helpful with maps and how to get around the city as well as location of attractions. It is a few minute walk to the Clot metro station and about a 20 minute walk to La Sagrada Familia. They do not have non-smoking rooms, so you may, or may not, have some smoke smell in your room depending on who was there before you. Although I am a non-smoker, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationtime12389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    185
    62
    17
    15
See reviews for
74
198
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Maybe i got the smallest room, but my room was really thin :) Anyway the hotel is good located near underground station and there is friendly staff (all extra information about the city, transport, city activity). It is smart choice in medium price

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValeryGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This little hotel is located close to Clot train station (which goes to all of the main tourist areas and the airport),a so well as lots of local little cafés. The staff are very friendly and helpful - making our dinner reservations each night).
The rooms are basic, but clean, safe and air conditioned.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I chose this hotel because someone else said it was a ten minute walk from the Sagrada Familia where it is more like 20-30 minute walk. It is much closer to the Agbar Tower on the green tourist bus route. The hotel is very basic although very clean. The breakfast was terrible - don't waste your money. I have been to Barcelona twice before and would recommend staying on the west side of the city rather than the east.
There is no bar in this hotel, only vending machines so really no gathering point.
The lady on reception was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janewhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed here with my friend in the room designed for 3 people. The room was not very big but adequate, there were 1 single bed and 1 "double", wich was 2 singles pushed together. For us it was ok, but if you need a double bed, I think it will not be comfortable, because beds were sliding on the floor. Wardrobe was small for 3 people and had only 3 hangers. Our safe box wasn't working and our hair dryer was broken (but they gave us another one). My matress was very loud - I couldn't turn or get up without noise. We were on 2nd floor and our window faced someone's back yard.
On the plus side - it was near metro station (with we used a lot), short walk to Sagrada Familia or Torre Agbar. Bathroom was big and clean. Air conditioning and TV were working. Breakfast was not really cheap, but good with nice selection of simple breakfast food. Staff was friendly and accomodating.
So overall, there were some minor problems, but nothing critical. I think, it's a nice hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ludmila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The room was small but more than enough space for myself for one night only. 10-15min stroll to Sagrada Familia which was why I booked this in the first place. The room is clean, has good A/C system. There is no bar fridge though and ordering room service was not as straight forward as it should be. But these are minor issues. Would recommend as it's great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank catc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Location, very close to the Metro station El Clot (train and subway) Some rooms are renovated; I saw one double room that was not very nice as they kindly let us see a few rooms so we could choose. We choose a room on the back looking out on someone’s private back garden/porch, there was noise at night but it was from street nearby. The room was quiet big & also the bathroom was big with space to leave things. The lights were hard to use and there was a strange infrared light that was difficult to turn off in the bathroom.
The receptionist was was very nice and helpful and also the rest of the staff.
The room cleaner did refold a towel I had put in the bath as dirty and put it back as clean as I recognised it from a make-up mark.
The breakfast was quiet good with fresh chopped fruit & a good selection of bread. It costs 13euro for 1 day but there is an offer of 16euro for 2 days which is worth it.
You can use the swimming pool for free from their next door hotel the Sagrada Famiglia, its very small and not very sunny. You can’t really swim but you can cool down.

Room Tip: Even if you are a couple choose a twin room as i think the doubles are smaller and not renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank unally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
#249 of 513 in Barcelona
1,440 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Teatre Auditori
Hotel Teatre Auditori
#175 of 513 in Barcelona
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
#252 of 513 in Barcelona
371 reviews
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
#310 of 513 in Barcelona
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Albeniz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Albeniz

Property: Catalonia Albeniz
Address: C/ Aragon 591-593, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Albeniz 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy hotel located in Aragon street one of the main streets of Barcelona that will allow you to arrive shortly to any point of the city. Nearby Gaudi's master piece, the Sagrada Familia church, and two important shopping centres, Glories and La Maquinista. The hotel has 2 rooms (for meetings, conferences and seminars), a coffee bar and a car park for its clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Albeniz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Albeniz Barcelona
Catalonia Albeniz Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing