We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for your money when mid-budget travelling”
Review of Catalonia Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Roma
Ranked #311 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is located near to the Sants Estacion metro and train. You can easily take a metro ( 10 minutes) or a train straight to the heart of the city - La Rambla, the gothic quarter, the harbour. The hotel is also near to the Joan Miro Park and plaza Espanya. The staff was helpfull during our stay. Ask for a room where the windows are to the backyard - you'll have a better sleep because the hotel is next to a busy road. In addition, the walls are a pit paper through.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backyard side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOCOHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsa q, Director de Recepción at Catalonia Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel Roma and of course for your kind review.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards from Barcelona,

Puy Acedo / Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very good hotel for an extremely low price (8 euro per night!)! Good location, friendly staff, good and clean room. Very happy to have stayed here and would recommend it to anyone. .......................

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank jeltje82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsa q, Director de Recepción at Catalonia Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado Cliente,

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios.
Mi equipo y yo estamos muy satisfechos de haber cumplido sus expectativas
Una vez más agradecerle su opinión y esperamos verle pronto de nuevo.
Un cordial saludo,

Puy Acedo
Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Do not stay in this hotel if what you are looking for is a quite and peaceful night sleep! In my extensive traveling experience I have never been in such a poor quality built hotel. The walls are like paper, you can hear everything, even the person unzipping their suitcase next room!! The pipe system is also very noisy and sounds like there is a waterfall cascading inside the walls every time some uses the water. The staff were very nice, however I would not recommend this hotel, too noisy and poor quality walls/floors.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luceritos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsa q, Director de Recepción at Catalonia Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado Cliente,
En primer lugar, gracias por elegir el Hotel Roma y gracias por dedicar su tiempo para darnos su opinión.
Tomamos buena nota de sus apreciaciones sobre el tema del ruido para poder mejorar nuestras instalaciones.
Nos encantaría recibirles de nuevo y poder demostrarles que estamos a la altura de sus expectativas de servicio.
Un cordial saludo desde Barcelona.
Atentamente,

Puy Acedo
Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I needed a hotel close to Sants station, so this was ideal location and price wise. I didn't expect much as the price was very low. Surprisingly clean room ( although it did smell of smoke typical in Barcelona hotels) with nice, actually very nice bathroom. The bed was good, clean sheets, nice pillows. I was on the top floor yet the view was restricted. The air/heat is quite loud so best to leave it off for sleeping. The staff was less than stellar, and English was not their preferred language> When I asked them to call for some room service food, they refuted this and said do it yourself. Asking how to get to the airport on train (station just 200m away) they really didn't know or want to help. If price is important I'd recommend this hotel, but be aware it's a walk to The Ramblas, and the location is not very interesting at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsa q, Director Comercial at Catalonia Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your opinion.
I am very sorry for not having helped in your room service and promise to give you the best service during your next stay.

Regards,
Puy Acedo / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel was good. Small rooms with good bathrooms.Great staff, the guy at the front desk got us some free drinks at a near by restaurant. The bar was close during our stay. Overall good place to stay..

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Arrjeyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsa q, Director General at Catalonia Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado Cliente,

Muchas gracias por su cometario. Seguimos trabajando para darle un buen servicio.
Esperamos tenerle de nuevo en nuestro hotel.
Gracias!
Puy Acedo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Entrance to hotel looks quite grand but the rooms and atmosphere let this hotel down. Bar area was closed throughout our weekend stay. One very dodgy lift which unfortunately was directly outside our door.

Room was tiny, dingy, smelt like a sewer and window looked directly onto wall of neighbouring building. Some of our friends were more fortunate with their rooms but at least one other room on the same floor smelt like a sewer.

Hotel was a 15 minute walk to station but took an hour and a half to walk to La Rambla (big disappointment anyway).

Overall Barcelona was disappointing, smelly, culture less, would not return.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Although the walls are relatively thin and the elevator can be heard from rooms close by, I slept fine because of the thick curtains :) The location of the hotel is perfect, located near the Sants train station as well as several metro stations. The staff is friendly and although not all of them may speak fluent English, they are kind and helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaBorn, Director de Recepción at Catalonia Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the stay in our hotel Roma.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards from Barcelona,
Puy Acedo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
#299 of 520 in Barcelona
337 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Ibis Styles Barcelona City Bogatell
Eixample
Balmes Residence
Balmes Residence
#384 of 520 in Barcelona
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
#363 of 520 in Barcelona
148 reviews
Poblenou
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#284 of 520 in Barcelona
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Roma

Address: Avenida de Roma 31, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £51 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is particularly convenient for business people. It is just a few metres from the Montjuc Fair grounds, has direct airport access and is close to the Sants train station. The hotel was built in 1989 and renovated in 2001. This comfortable and prestigious hotel offers our clients both friendly and professional service. It has 49 rooms all fully equipped and each decorated in a different way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Roma Barcelona
Catalonia Roma Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing