We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive entrance, but not sure about this one”
Review of Catalonia Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Roma
Ranked #323 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Impressive entrance, but not sure about this one”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a tour group and it was acceptable, but...... Rooms varied in quality from reasonable to poor, with size and quality of furniture quite different (staff were efficient and happy to change one of the rooms for a couple in our group). On the positive side, the bed was comfortable (as we found throughout Spain), there was a fridge and a safe and the bathroom was good.
Breakfast was also a good hot and cold buffet and the staff were happy to cook fresh, hot eggs, if those in the warming tray had become a bit stale. There was a pleasant internal courtyard with table and chairs and with the bar closed, there was no trouble bringing in some drinks to enjoy them there.
The location wasn't ideal, although close to the Sants Estacio Metro (6 easy stops to the centre of town) and the main railway station. It was also a 15 min walk to Placa D'Espanya and the former bullring, now a shopping centre with restaurants on the top level offering excellent views (take the internal lift, it's free, rather than the external one) and a further 5 min to Magic Fountain.
The lift was old and noisy and for the time we were there, the normal one was out of order and the service lift had to be used.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsa q, Director de Recepción at Catalonia Roma, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience wih us.
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered here at the hotel Roma.
I hope that in your next visit we can exceed all your expectations.

Kind regards,
Puy Acedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    138
    75
    19
    21
See reviews for
51
103
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is located near to the Sants Estacion metro and train. You can easily take a metro ( 10 minutes) or a train straight to the heart of the city - La Rambla, the gothic quarter, the harbour. The hotel is also near to the Joan Miro Park and plaza Espanya. The staff was helpfull during our stay. Ask for a room where the windows are to the backyard - you'll have a better sleep because the hotel is next to a busy road. In addition, the walls are a pit paper through.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backyard side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOCOHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsa q, Director de Recepción at Catalonia Roma, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel Roma and of course for your kind review.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards from Barcelona,

Puy Acedo / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very good hotel for an extremely low price (8 euro per night!)! Good location, friendly staff, good and clean room. Very happy to have stayed here and would recommend it to anyone. .......................

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank jeltje82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsa q, Director de Recepción at Catalonia Roma, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Cliente,

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios.
Mi equipo y yo estamos muy satisfechos de haber cumplido sus expectativas
Una vez más agradecerle su opinión y esperamos verle pronto de nuevo.
Un cordial saludo,

Puy Acedo
Dirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Do not stay in this hotel if what you are looking for is a quite and peaceful night sleep! In my extensive traveling experience I have never been in such a poor quality built hotel. The walls are like paper, you can hear everything, even the person unzipping their suitcase next room!! The pipe system is also very noisy and sounds like there is a waterfall cascading inside the walls every time some uses the water. The staff were very nice, however I would not recommend this hotel, too noisy and poor quality walls/floors.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luceritos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsa q, Director de Recepción at Catalonia Roma, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Cliente,
En primer lugar, gracias por elegir el Hotel Roma y gracias por dedicar su tiempo para darnos su opinión.
Tomamos buena nota de sus apreciaciones sobre el tema del ruido para poder mejorar nuestras instalaciones.
Nos encantaría recibirles de nuevo y poder demostrarles que estamos a la altura de sus expectativas de servicio.
Un cordial saludo desde Barcelona.
Atentamente,

Puy Acedo
Dirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I needed a hotel close to Sants station, so this was ideal location and price wise. I didn't expect much as the price was very low. Surprisingly clean room ( although it did smell of smoke typical in Barcelona hotels) with nice, actually very nice bathroom. The bed was good, clean sheets, nice pillows. I was on the top floor yet the view was restricted. The air/heat is quite loud so best to leave it off for sleeping. The staff was less than stellar, and English was not their preferred language> When I asked them to call for some room service food, they refuted this and said do it yourself. Asking how to get to the airport on train (station just 200m away) they really didn't know or want to help. If price is important I'd recommend this hotel, but be aware it's a walk to The Ramblas, and the location is not very interesting at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsa q, Director Comercial at Catalonia Roma, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your opinion.
I am very sorry for not having helped in your room service and promise to give you the best service during your next stay.

Regards,
Puy Acedo / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel was good. Small rooms with good bathrooms.Great staff, the guy at the front desk got us some free drinks at a near by restaurant. The bar was close during our stay. Overall good place to stay..

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arrjeyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsa q, Director General at Catalonia Roma, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Cliente,

Muchas gracias por su cometario. Seguimos trabajando para darle un buen servicio.
Esperamos tenerle de nuevo en nuestro hotel.
Gracias!
Puy Acedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Entrance to hotel looks quite grand but the rooms and atmosphere let this hotel down. Bar area was closed throughout our weekend stay. One very dodgy lift which unfortunately was directly outside our door.

Room was tiny, dingy, smelt like a sewer and window looked directly onto wall of neighbouring building. Some of our friends were more fortunate with their rooms but at least one other room on the same floor smelt like a sewer.

Hotel was a 15 minute walk to station but took an hour and a half to walk to La Rambla (big disappointment anyway).

Overall Barcelona was disappointing, smelly, culture less, would not return.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
#309 of 513 in Barcelona
290 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Abbot
Hotel Abbot
#464 of 513 in Barcelona
218 reviews
Eixample
H10 Itaca Hotel
H10 Itaca Hotel
#190 of 513 in Barcelona
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#339 of 513 in Barcelona
2,675 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Century Hotel
Barcelona Century Hotel
#244 of 513 in Barcelona
555 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#291 of 513 in Barcelona
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Roma

Property: Catalonia Roma
Address: Avenida de Roma 31, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is particularly convenient for business people. It is just a few metres from the Montjuc Fair grounds, has direct airport access and is close to the Sants train station. The hotel was built in 1989 and renovated in 2001. This comfortable and prestigious hotel offers our clients both friendly and professional service. It has 49 rooms all fully equipped and each decorated in a different way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Roma Barcelona
Catalonia Roma Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing