We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”
Review of Hostal Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostal Eden
Ranked #504 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hostel is situated in a very good location quite central, short walking distance from Las Ramblas and Placa Catalunya.

For the price you pay compared to accommodation in Barcelona having a private bathroom the price is good. The rooms are average, we also had a fridge in our room which we found helpful. When first arriving at the hostel with luggage, go for the key from the reception to use the lift as it does not work without the key.

The receptionist was very kind and helpful but for some reason or other she did not give us good direction to bus station (Estacio Nord) maybe she misunderstood us or I dont know, but if we did not recheck ourselves to ensure this we would have gone somewhere else and loose the bus that would take us to the airport.

On the whole I recommend the hostel as it is in an ideal location, but if you are looking for luxury then you have to pay more.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleonora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    42
    47
    26
    35
See reviews for
22
63
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I think for the money you pay this is good accomidation. The area is niceand only a short walk from the centre of town and some good (and cheap) local bars in very close distance. The rooms can vary - we were a group of four and we had two rooms one being definately nicer and quieter than the other. This said the rooms were cleaned daily and for the price to have your own bathroom in a location this central not sure what more you could ask.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephaniedawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

If you fly in and arrive by train or the Aerobus Eden can easily be reached by just walking. The lift only works with a key so you'll need to first walk up to ask for assistance. It's nothing fancy but for a family of four the place was big enough and good enough since we focused on the attractions of Barcelona instead of spending a lot of time in our room. The staff was helpful, and the place has huge lockers for the luggage.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJK-Gothenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for a city wandering, just 3 minutes walking distance from La Rambla and the same distance from direct train connection to the airport. Room with private bathroom was OK and spacious (speaking of a hostel) with cleaning and bed changed every day. Lockers for luggage are available here so we could spend also the last day wandering around.
Free high-quality wireless internet.

Cons: noise coming from the street gave the impression of an opened window though it was closed (we've tried like hundred times...). Solution = 0,95? earplugs which did the job perfectly and you get them in any pharmacy on the corner.
The door lock was rather simple and window could not be locked properly, but it is a well priced hostel so that should not be a surprise.

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This Hostal is in a very good area, 5 min. walking to Placa Catalunya and about 3 blogs from Casa Batllo and La Pedrera.
It is old, but the floor and the bathroom is renewed. The rooms are small but this is no problem if you are travelling to Barcelona not to stay the half day in your Room. This was no problem for me!
It is very simple equipped (a chair could be helpful to have some space to let something) but there was a hair dryer and a fridge there.
WiFi was working well.
The Room looks maybe not very Clean, because it is old, but the cleanliness was very good.
Staff was ok: A man who worked in the night shift did not know English, but he was very positive and helpful, we contacted effectively. I didn't had any problem with the Staff generally.
If you don't have high expectations, then is it a great value for money! If you have high expectations, then it's sure that you have to spend more money for your stay in another place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013

As other reviewers have said, the hostel is in a great location. It's close to Catalunya Square and several metro stops, so it was easy to get anywhere you want. It was also great for the Airport buses, which all pick up/drop off at the square.
Our room was actually about two blocks away from the actual hostel reception. I'm not sure if all rooms are there or if they are split between the two locations (perhaps that accounts for the diverging opinions here). Our room was just above a night club, which made it very difficult to sleep. Some of the lights in the hallway were out making it hard to find our room at night when we arrived. We could hear everything that was going on in the other rooms. The room was small, which was too be expected given the price. The worst part for us was that the room was moldy and dusty - so much so that I was coughing and sneezing the entire time I was there. When I book at a budget hostel, I keep my expectations low, but this was just not acceptable. I wouldn't recommend this hostel

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

barcelona being one of the most expensive city in spain.on a tight budget finding single
room with private shower was not easy.at £27 per night. booked well in advance.this was the cheapest option.being a hostel was bit weary of students/noise in the hostel.this hostel is about 10-15 walk from the catalunya square.from the airport aerobus a1 and a2 stop here. the hostel is not hard to find with a good map.from catalunya aquare you can take metro to all major attractions.went past the hostal couple of times. there is no sign on the door.the hall was dark . there was no sighn for the reception.its on the fist floor.frendly staff.the room was medium size. not small as i expected.there was mini bar.the bed was very close to the wall.strugle to get to other side of bed(see pic).NOTE. there were no toiletries. not even a bar of soap or cup .there is minimarket in front of the hostel.you buy you toiletries.the room was clean. it was cleaned daily and linen were chaged daily. to my surprise the hostel was quite during my stay.not many students.there are no facility for cooking or restaurant.there is vending machine for drinks.i would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal River
Hostal River
#355 of 513 in Barcelona
251 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,354 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Balmes Centro
Hostal Balmes Centro
#166 of 308 in Barcelona
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Lenin Hostel
Lenin Hostel
#217 of 723 in Barcelona
217 reviews
Eixample
Casa Balmes
Casa Balmes
#74 of 308 in Barcelona
67 reviews
Gracia
BCN Urban Bonavista
BCN Urban Bonavista
#147 of 308 in Barcelona
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Eden

Property: Hostal Eden
Address: C/ Balmes 55, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #504 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Eden 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Eden Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Eden Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing