We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, however atmosphere was lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
Ranked #472 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, however atmosphere was lacking”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The food in the restaurant was lovely, however the hotel needs a lot of attention. The indoor swimming pool was very uninviting and we did not even want to use it. The outdoor swimming pool looked nice. It was expensive, however I don't know whether it was due to the time of year we visited, it was deathly quiet and fel very uninviting. The rooms were not soundproof at all, we could hear the sound of toilets flushing, showers being turned on and children in the room next door. It was not very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    66
    78
    40
    56
See reviews for
33
79
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

As the title suggests, this hotel is all about the location. Slap bang in the middle of Barri Gotic, all of the customary sights are within easy walking distance. If your expectations tally with the fact that this place is a 1 star property you will be very impressed. Yes, the place is a little dilapidated and in need of a refurb in places, but all in all it adds to the charm. Staff brusque but efficient and if you have a room overlooking the front you get to see the world go by from the charming balcony. If you want a cheap, well located bed this is the hotel for you. If you want comfort and peace and quiet, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake-Aman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

It's in a great location but that's about it. Paint was peeling off the wall, the light in the bathroom was iffy, the bed was incredibly squeaky, the windows let a lot of noise in, the thing that keeps the shower head on the wall was broken and we could not have a plug for some reason. Cleaner stole our food and did an awful lot of moaning when my room mate was poorly and stuck in bed (not that they did a good job of cleaning anyway). There was blood on the shower curtain and I don't think behind the door had been cleaned in some time. The fan looked rather frantic whenever we turned it on, if we could manage it because the button was broken. Staff treated us like an inconvenience and I didn't encounter any politeness from any of them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I visited this hotel as part of a 'stag do' with friends so wasn't expecting anything spectacular, however this hotel really is scraping the barrel.

The hotel is situated a five minute walk from Las Ramlas and an even shorter walk from the Jaime I metro station so it's well located to explore Barcelona. The area around the hotel isn't too bad and is fairly typical of the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona.

The location is pretty much where the positives end.

The staff were disinterested when we checked in and rather brusque. I wouldn't say they were rude, but they certainly weren't polite.

The room itself was a shambles. The beds were small with very thin mattresses.

The bathroom was grubby and shower a trickle of usually tepid water.

The light switch was partially broken and felt like you were running the risk of electrocution each time you used it! The lights also buzzed and hummed on occasion adding to the uncertainty about the electrics!

The room also had various parts of the walls missing, plasterboard falling away etc, although this probably brightened up the room somewhat as the walls were a dingy brown colour.

The room did have a large opening window looking out onto the street below which was nice. However if it's a good nights sleep you're after this is not the hotel for you as the windows are single glazed and not very well sound proofed.

The only time this hotel may be acceptable is for a stag do or as low budget accommodation on a back packing trip. Even then I'd look elsewhere. It's certainly one to be avoided if travelling as a couple, a family or on business.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is an unusual mixture of old and modern styles. The many varieties of wood and wooden ornaments are fascinating.
The staff match the hotel, from the older, more polite and helpful, to the younger, more casual and inseparable from their personal technology.
The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms a bit outdated.
The restaurant provided top class breakfasts and delicious dinners.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muscateer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#396 of 512 in Barcelona
242 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Urquinaona
Hotel Urquinaona
#429 of 512 in Barcelona
377 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Barbara
Hotel Barbara
#478 of 512 in Barcelona
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#384 of 512 in Barcelona
261 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Paris
Hostal Paris
#475 of 512 in Barcelona
296 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Segre
Pension Segre
#474 of 512 in Barcelona
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rey Don Jaime I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rey Don Jaime I

Property: Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
Address: C/ Jaume I, 11 | Barrio Gótico, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #472 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rey Don Jaime I 1*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAE Rey Don Jaime is the most affordable option in the most central location! Just a few blocks off Las Ramblas, we are surrounded by the restaurants and bars and within walking distance to the beach. The metro is only a block away. We offer clean rooms, all with ensuite sleeping 1-4 persons. On site restaurant and free wifi is available to all guests. We have 24 hour front desk staff that will help you with any questions or tour info. All linens and towels are included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rey Don Jaime I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rey Don Jaime i Hotel
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing