We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - Excellent location”
Review of Hostal Grau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Grau
Ranked #98 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Basking Ridge
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Excellent stay - Excellent location”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

What a find!! (thank you Rick Steves!). We had a great room with a delightful little balcony. Very modern and spacious bathroom. The light switches are antique and too cool! The staff at the front desk are so nice and helpful with excellent suggestions. Our room faced onto a narrow pedestrian street so there was some noise, but close the window and the shutters and we heard nothing!

Today they are closing until mid-February and will update the infrastructure while maintaining its charm - we can't wait to come back!!

Great price, great value, great choice!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank trvel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    211
    53
    14
    8
See reviews for
111
245
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

This hotel has charming character and an excellent location. We took a cab from the airport, and it was good that we did as Hosteria Grau is tucked away on a small street, mostly used by walkers. It was nice to be take right to it since we didn't yet have our bearings of the area.

The entry and shared areas are charming. There is a lounge up a winding flight of stairs that is quirky and fun. Our room had two double beds, and with the two beds in the room, space was tight. The room, itself, was functional and lacked charm. However, it was quiet and we had excellent air conditioning which was nice as we were there in the middle of a heat wave and after touring around all day, it was so nice to sleep in a quiet, cool room. We all commented on how simple the room was, yet how good the sleep was.

We had an ensuite bathroom with a shower. The toiletries were weak, and I was glad I had some of my own. I would have paid more for better toiletries to be available.

Breakfast was not available when we were there. We would have welcomed it.

We took the bus to the airport when we left, and the stop was a couple of blocks away and was easy. If we had realized how close it was to the bus when we arrived, we might have taken the bus from the airport.

Hosteria Grau is in a perfect location for wandering. Within a couple of blocks there are bus tours available and we took a double decker tour of Barcelona - hopping on and off at different locations. There are options all around for good food and good shopping as well as historical sites. It was nice to be able to step out the door and head any direction to find something interesting.

I'd stay at Hosteria Grau again any time.

Room Tip: Our room faced an alley, without a balcony, but was quiet and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel. Just two blocks form Las Ramblas. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. That said, this is not a luxury hotel. My room was very small, basic and rustic. So if you are looking for ammenities and luxury, this is not hte place for you. If you want a clean place to sleep in a good location, this is a great option.

Room Tip: Have lunch at the restaurant next door which is owned by the same people. The tortilla espanolas is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diverchick092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We spent five nights in a two bedroom apartment on the 4th floor at the end of October. It is great location, just two blocks off Ramblas and very close to Placa Catalunya, to explore the city from and is close to a lot of restaurant, cafes and bars. The airport bus is just a 5 minute walk way and Pl Catalunya is a centre for public transport. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there was nice atmosphere. The apartment was clean but a bit shabby. There was a distinct smell of mould in the bathroom and the kitchen was rather run down and not so "fully equiped" as advertised. Since a couple of months breakfast is no longer available. This was not a problem for us as there was a bakery just around the corner and several more very close. The was also a big Carrefour store close by. Our apartment faced the street which was rather noisy at night.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The hotel was in an excellent location for las rambles and Catalunya plaza but still far enough away not to be noisy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room had air conditioning and a ceiling fan which was helpful as it was still warm even at the end of October. The room was large with an enormous bathroom. The only problem was that it was slightly shabby. They had obviously had work done to the ceiling but instead of repainting the whole ceiling they just painted over the bits they had repaired and it was very noticeable. The bathroom had paint flaking and curling up but they just left it like that. Also the website said they had a bar next door that served breakfast. On the hotels website it said they were redoing it and it would be open I October. This was not the case. They were still working on it on the 29th when we left but we managed to find good places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burney, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Excellent Location. Nice initial impression; the small lobby is quaint. Our room was exceptionally small. Linens were clean but the room was not as clean as the other places we stayed. There was no breakfast included, as advertised, and no price adjustment. It was also the most expensive place we stayed, but perhaps it is just a more expensive city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HosteriaGrau, Propietario at Hostal Grau, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
First of all, thank you very much for your opinion, it is always helpful.

At this moment we are in the middle of renovations. Will have bigger rooms and bigger bathrooms, restaurant, lounge with a fireplace, inside vertical garden ...

We are going to get a leed certification(Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design)which is a rating system and environmental sustainability for buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council.

Hosteria Grau is closed at this moment , as you know, and it will remind like this until March 10th 2013, it is when it will be the time to begin a new stage. We will not be an standard hotel that you can find in every corner, we won´t be a “fashion” hotel that you can see in every city in the world, we will be that “special hotel” that keeps its personal cozy style and makes it unique. Always feeling like home....

We hope we can see you back in a future. Best luck for 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Great location and as other reviews we chose this hotel for a 3 night stay in Barcelona for location & price. Staff was extremely nice, room was clean, good wifi but very hard bed and pillow. Good vegetarian restaurant in the alley, Starbucks, and close to tourist Hop on/Hop off bus pick up near the Starbucks and close to Las Ramblas. Would recommend for a few nights stay in Barcelona.

Room Tip: We had our own bath and very sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#20 of 513 in Barcelona
198 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#88 of 513 in Barcelona
634 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#63 of 513 in Barcelona
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#169 of 513 in Barcelona
1,477 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
2,094 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#239 of 513 in Barcelona
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Grau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Grau

Property: Hostal Grau
Address: C/Ramelleres 27 | Raval, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Grau 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family eco-chic hotel located in the center of Barcelona, only 2min walking distance from Las Ramblas. We have a "green" philosophy and we are just about to Get the gold Leed Certifation(Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design Green Building Rating System ). Decoration is fresh, mostly white with eco products and natural furniture. Our beds are organic and hand made beds "Naturalmat and Coco-mat". Reception opened 24hrs and freen internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hostal Grau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Grau Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Grau Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing