We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel in the best spot in Barcelona”
Review of Hostal Grau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Grau
Ranked #66 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great small hotel in the best spot in Barcelona”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We booked a very spacious and clean family room in this gem of a hotel less than two blocks off the Rambla. It was outfitted with a small kitchenette so we were able to have breakfast in the room which was nice after two weeks in hotels. The staff was engaged and very eager to help meet any needs. There was a playground one block from the hotel which the kids loved. Would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalGrauBcn, Director de Recepción at Hostal Grau, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review! We always appreciate every good word from our Friends, as it motivates us to do better and better. Yes, indeed we don't have TV's in our rooms as we are trying to create very natural and relaxing environment for all the Guests. We hope to host you again in the future. Don't forget to write us directly or book through our website as we have special offers for Returning Guests.

Keep Green!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    209
    52
    14
    6
See reviews for
107
242
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Pros:
•Very friendly and extremely helpful staff
•Freshly remodeled, eco-friendly and simple rooms that were very comfortable
•Great café (Cafe Centric) adjacent to the hotel, but breakfast buffet was underwhelming given the 12 Euro price (venture out for 3 euro crossiant and café con leche instead)
•Very convenient location to Las Ramblas and Placa de Catalunya,

•Lots of great food options within a short walk of the hotel

Cons:


•Very, very noisy at night if your room is on the alley, which I think most of them are, despite the double glazed windows (I wore earplugs every night and was still woken by the noise


•No phones or TVs in the rooms (we did not miss either of them, but some of you might)


•The remodel is still ongoing, so there are little things here and there that aren't complete but it did not impact our stay at all


•Wi-Fi was pretty unreliable, which actually was a negative given that we don't use our smartphones while in Europe due to the high charges for roaming, and like to Skype with our family back home, look up sightseeing hours, etc.


•Not close to a Metro stop, and difficult for taxis to get to it, so if you have large (or many) bags just be aware that you will have a walk from Placa de Catalunya

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mytrip27, Propietario at Hostal Grau, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest, we really appreciate your opinion. Every review is very important for us so we could provide better and better service to our Guests and give them unforgettable sensations from their stay in Hostal Grau and in Barcelona.
We’ve just upgraded our internet connection to a very high speed. We’ve also changed our breakfast to give more variety to our Guests.
We were closed for almost a year and we re-opened with a totally renovated hotel and a new green concept. We are all the time working in improving and upgrading the hotel to become one of the top hotels in Barcelona.
We hope to see you and host you again in Hostal Grau!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Hostal Grau was one of the few options left when I booked for this years MWC congress in Barcelona but it turned out to be not a bad option at all.
Very good/central Location, newly renovated (I was the first to use after the renovation) and very friendly personal. I cant really comment on the rates because during MWC all rates are crazy in Barcelona... The integrated bar/cafe downstairs is also very nice for breakfast or tapas.
On the down side was only that the wifi did not really work (also after telling them) and the service could be a bit more precise in replacing towels/soap/etc.
In all a very good option with a small room for improvement.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mytrip27, Propietario at Hostal Grau, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Stefan thank you very much for your opinion. We are very sorry that during your stay not everything was working well. I would like to let you know that internet connection was fixed , we’ve also opened additional internet lines for our Guests. Thanks to opinion like yours we are able to improve our service for our future Guests. Please take into account that if you would like to book a room with us you can use our Returning Guest Program that gives you a discount. We hope that MWC Congress went well for you and we hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hostal Grau is a great little independent hotel nestled off of a side street just off of La Rambla and Catalunya Square. The smaller street makes the hotel quieter and offers several restaurants and smaller shops just a minute or two from the door on foot. The rooms were very spacious with very nicely appointed private bathroom accommodations. The breakfast did not offer a huge variety, but it was just enough to get the day started off right.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByLandSeaAirBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mytrip27, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Grau, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your opinion! We hope that you came back home just with good memories from our hotel and from Barcelona. We are still working to improve our service and right now we are changing our breakfast free buffet into real green buffet with greater variety of healthy local products. If you wish to come back to Barcelona please don't forget to use our new loyalty program and book the room directly through our website with 10% of discount and different interesting promotions. Goodluck and keep green!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great location and value. Big 'family room' worked great for our family of four (2 teenagers)...funky room layout but that just added to the charm for us. Very friendly and helpful staff at the front desk 24 hours. Also, some books say that there is no elevator but there is now!

Room Tip: Street noise might be a problem on lower levels. We were on 5th floor and could hear some noise but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mytrip27, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Grau, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Carol, thank you very much for your opinion and staying with us. We are very happy that you were pleased with our hotel and service. Hope we helped you to create unforgettable memories from your stay in Barcelona. We just started new loyalty program for our friends so in the future if you wish to come back to Barcelona you can book the room directly through our web with 10% of discount and other interesting promotions! Keep Green!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed here with friends. the rooms are very clean with well appointed bathrooms and comfortable beds. the rooms were cleaned and the beds made every day. Balconies overlook the street which is bustling but with the windows closed -and there is a very efficient and controllable air conditioning system- the rooms are very quiet. The staff are friendly and most helpful. There is a variety of lighting in the rooms. although breakfast is not provided, there is a good café next door where we had a light breakfast. The hotel is being refurbished to a high quality. All our party will be very pleased to visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have just returned from a 4 day break with three friends. We have stayed at Hostal Grau before a few years ago and had no hesitation coming back. The location is great, so central yet also so peaceful down a wide street just a couple of minutes from the Ramblas. The staff on reception each day were very helpful. On arrival we were told the rooms four of us had booked had no hot water due to the renovations but we were given two double rooms at the same rate. They were really very nice and we were perfectly happy with the arrangements. The rooms were superb. The others in our party also enjoyed the location and were very happy. The bar next door serves a very good breakfast. We will certainly go back to a Hostal Grau again as we love Barcelona and it will be interesting to see what it looks like once all the renovations are complete. Thank you Monica and all your staff for making the stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
185 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#82 of 513 in Barcelona
1,483 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#83 of 513 in Barcelona
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,355 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#180 of 513 in Barcelona
317 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#34 of 513 in Barcelona
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Grau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Grau

Property: Hostal Grau
Address: C/Ramelleres 27 | Raval, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Grau 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family eco-chic hotel located in the center of Barcelona, only 2min walking distance from Las Ramblas. We have a "green" philosophy and we are just about to Get the gold Leed Certifation(Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design Green Building Rating System ). Decoration is fresh, mostly white with eco products and natural furniture. Our beds are organic and hand made beds "Naturalmat and Coco-mat". Reception opened 24hrs and freen internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Grau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Grau Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Grau Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing