We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Grau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Grau
Ranked #61 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Almost perfect but there are small little ants in the bathroom and living room. Other than that...it was a perfect stay. Location is very convenience and in shopping area. Hotel itself is a little hard to notice. All in all, it was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuttida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalGrauBcn, Propietario at Hostal Grau, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review. Even that the apartments have been not renovated yet, we think they are very good to allocate families or large group of people. It has been a very hard work to get where we are and the apartments renovations will come very soon. we thank you for choosing our hotel as your home in Barcelona. We wish you a wonderful summer and hope to see you with us very soon. You have another home in barcelona, do not forget this. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    203
    50
    13
    6
See reviews for
103
227
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We just returned from a great Europe adventure and Hotel Grau was part of the fun. We are a mother with two adult kids. Our rooms were an apartment - very clean, modern, lovely furnishings. The location was perfect. Everyone was helpful and very kind. I could go on but lots of people have given many details. I'll just say -Don't miss this one!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mag4pia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalGrauBcn, Front Office Manager at Hostal Grau, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Friend,

Thank you very much for your review and please accept our apologies for late response. We are very pleased to know that our offer met your expectations! We will still work hard to grow and to improve for the future. We hope that you will visit us again!

Keep Green and Goodluck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My sister, mother and I spent seven nights at the Hostal Grau in Barcelona at the end of May. It was an inspired choice. The hotel is beautifully redecorated throughout with simple and sophisticated furnishings and clean, white spaces with traditional ceilings. The bathrooms are gorgeous and spa-like. Our original first floor room was immense and included a huge television screen and an espresso machine, but the room faced the rear of the hotel and looked out onto the rather scruffy apartments behind. There was construction that started early, we could see into other people's windows and they could see into ours when we opened the shutters. Most strangely, there was a dead fish hanging by a rope outside an apartment window opposite ours. So we requested a room change to an upper floor facing front and were promptly and most graciously accommodated. A smaller room but still fine for three, no television or espresso machine, but we didn't want either one anyway, and two lovely French doors that opened onto small balconies - perfect! There is certainly street noise from early morning to rather late, but the windows are double-paned and have shutters to close over the glass for privacy, which cuts down on the street sounds when one wishes to sleep.
Beds were incredibly comfortable, and each of us had a reading lamp, in fact, this tends to be a problem at most hotels, but at the Hostal Grau, the configuration of lighting fixtures was thoughtful and more than adequate. There were no pictures on any of the walls, which was actually great, because hotel "art" is invariably a dissonant element for me. We spent considerable time in our room between outings to allow our mother to rest, so it was good that we found our surroundings so calming and comfortable.The only drawback to the lovely Zen spareness is that there was only one small wardrobe (without a door on the front) and thus nowhere to tuck away one's luggage discreetly, so our heaps of luggage and travel clutter conflicted with the clean and uncluttered design of the room!
Hotel staff were invariably professional yet friendly, helpful and patient. Edgar, Christina and Faustos (?) were exceptional, as well as owner Monica of the Grau family.
The location of this hotel is hard to improve upon. It is a short walk to the Placa Catalunya with access to buses, trains, shuttles, the Barcelona Tourism Bureau and tours. We could walk to the Miro park, to the Museum of Catalan Modernism (Art Nouveau), to the Sagrada Familia, as well as to Las Ramblas (nearby), the Cathedral and Gothic district, the Frederic Mares Museum (excellent!) and innumerable cafes, boutiques and artists' workshops. The small streets immediately surrounding the hotel offer bakeries, restaurants, bars and shops; we discovered many great eating options and coffee stops. The Bar Centric, which is on the main floor of Hostal Grau, is a lively spot for a beer, tapas, or an evening meal. They had live fado music on the night we checked in, which was restorative in itself. We ate at the Centric a number of times, but were disappointed in the breakfast options. Happily, we had many other options a short walk away.
I was very happy with our experience with Hostal Grau and can recommend it for most travelers.

Room Tip: I recommend rooms facing the street on the upper floors, although it will be noisy. But it will also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rowan916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalGrauBcn, Propietario at Hostal Grau, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for you review. We take all the reviews very seriously and will improve to turn this hotel into a top one. We decided to put small wardrobes because these kind of wardrobes, with no doors, are more comfortable and easy to be used. We wanted to give an idea of a clean , fresh and handy room and we thought that would be perfect. To be honest with you, I also thing that we still need to put some kind of table or some shelves to make it easier. We are still thinking but we will. As per the back room facing the back street, this is the center of Barcelona and we can do nothing to avoid neighbours and as er the fish hanging off the window, this is just out of our hands but thank God we do not have many of these near the hotel. This is raval and city center for you : ) , real people, living real lives.... But I agree that it is not very nice to have it close to a room. Keep fingers croosed we do not have it any more.
It was a pleasure meeting you and I am happy you enjoyed your stay. please, do not forget about us and come to visit Barcelona and Hostal Grau in a short future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrozavodsk, Russia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The property is just 5 minutes away from La Rambla, which makes it very convenient for a short stay. The place itself is beautiful with amazing rustic design. Our room was also pretty nice, but a bit cold at night and also noisy, because the balcony was facing the lively street.
The hotel offers delicious breakfast (if you're ready to pay 9 euroes per person) with great variety of fresh products.
The staff was quite friendly and helpful.
Since we had a separate room for 3 people, it was quite pricey (around 200 euroes). But I guess there are cheaper options as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irene_moire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalGrauBcn, Front Office Manager at Hostal Grau, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Irene,

Thank you very much for your opinion. We apologize for the late response we are very glad that you liked our hotel. Every opinion like that makes us very happy with the work we do every day to give good service to our Guests. Please don't forget to let us know if you will be thinking to visit Barcelona again!

Best wishes and keep green!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at Hostal Grau for 6 nights which is known to be a long stay at Barcelona. But it was exactly everything we wanted. Having done all of the sight seeing we could possibly think of within 4 days we had the chance to get lost in the city amongst the back lanes around Barcelona. The hotel was the most most perfect location giving roughly a 20 minute walk to the main attractions within the city centre and a stone throw away from the Main Street which is La Ramblass. Surrounded by beautiful authentic cafe's, traditional restaurants and wonderful pastry shops for our morning breakfast. If you didn't want to venture out, the Hotel does provide a great breakfast service, we ate there once or twice. (My partner and I like to try different places) The service was outstanding, I expect great customer service when staying places and the staff at Hostal Grau exceeded that. Everyone was more than helpful very welcoming and made it feel homely. The room was my favourite part of our stay as the decor was spot on, a fresh white look with a rustic twist, having wooden features made it look very simplistic but so beautiful. We got given a room on the 5th floor facing out on to the ally, as requested. This gave a splended view of the back ally ways and the traditional buildings surrounded. The night time had a great buzz about it, heariing the rush of the people walking around or sitting outside coffee bars and enjoying the city life, but if anyone had a problem with that type of noise then with the doors shut it pretty much blocked any noise out. In my opinion I loved the noise of people chatting and having fun, I couldn't get enough of the buzz the location had, it had a sense of excitement about it. It is a city after all.

Thank you very much Hostal Grau for such a wonderful holiday. We will be back soon.

Kind regards,

Cerys & Marcus

Room Tip: Whatever you request will be noticed by staff members. Our requirements were matched.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cerys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalGrauBcn, Front Office Manager at Hostal Grau, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Friends,

Sorry for keeping you waiting for our response. We are very happy that we could take part and contribute to your stay in beautiful Barcelona. We're glad you liked our new design as we put a lot of effort to make it feel rustic but cozy at the same time. It was great to host for all those 6 nights we really hope that you will come back soon to visit us again.

All the staff wishes you a lot great journeys!

Keep Green!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed 5 nights with friends. So much nicer than I expected given the very reasonable price (worked out about £40 per night per person). I heard that Barcelona was very expensive. This is a gem of a hostel. I would definitely describe it as a hotel more than a hostel as you rooms are cleaned and bed made ect everyday. Very clean cool stylish interior, extremely helpful friendly staff. Attached to a really nice little bar that does breakfast drinks and dinner. Breakfast buffet lovely and reasonable for 9 euros per head. Location was amazingly central ( again I was surprised for the price). Will definitely return I hope!! I think they plan to expand so would love to go back and see the developments.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalGrauBcn, Front Office Manager at Hostal Grau, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that we were not able to respond sooner. Thank you for a great review! Yes, indeed we are thinking about more improvement and changes in future. We hope you will have time to visit us and see how we are doing. Please do not forget that all our returning Guests can get a special discount when booking directly with us, so don't forget to write us an email.

Hope to see you soon and keep green!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
148 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here 2 years ago, and what a difference in those 2 years! The hotel has been completely renovated since then, and it’s lovely – and “green”. The décor has been upgraded to an attractive “shabby chic” style – with rustic touches throughout. Our corner room was very large and bright, and looked onto interior courtyards, so it was quiet as well. It had a ceiling fan, which we appreciated a great deal – even in March. There is some evidence that construction might not be fully complete – sawdust around, paint buckets and tarps, trim still unpainted – but that wasn’t a big deal. The bathroom was well lit and spacious, though we weren't fond of the motion sensor faucet in the sink. The biggest problem was that the entire floor flooded whenever you took a shower – which was very annoying. The bathrooms are not equipped with hair dryers, but you can request one at the front desk, which seemed a bit odd. The hair dryer they gave me caught on fire one night when I was using it – that was attention-getting! There is still a public computer available to guests, which we really appreciated. The staff was all excellent – quite friendly and helpful. And the location is wonderful – just a couple of blocks off the Ramblas near the university. The Plaça de Catalunya, where you can catch the Metro to points all over the city and the express bus to the airport, is a 5-minute walk away. We enjoyed this stay as much as we did on our first visit, and we’ll definitely return on our next trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItchyFeetBTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalGrauBcn, Director General at Hostal Grau, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad that you liked your room, suites are one of the nicest rooms that we have! I would like to let you know that we were able to fix all the problems that you faced during your visit. Sometimes after a complicated renovation like ours some things must be double checked and improved. Thanks for all the understanding during your stay!

Goodluck and Keep Green!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#75 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#57 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#58 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#74 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#48 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#72 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Grau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Grau

Property: Hostal Grau
Address: C/Ramelleres 27 | Raval, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Grau 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family eco-chic hotel located in the center of Barcelona, only 2min walking distance from Las Ramblas. We have a "green" philosophy and we are just about to Get the gold Leed Certifation(Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design Green Building Rating System ). Decoration is fresh, mostly white with eco products and natural furniture. Our beds are organic and hand made beds "Naturalmat and Coco-mat". Reception opened 24hrs and freen internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Grau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Grau Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Grau Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing