We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful, friendly staff.”
Review of Hotel Cram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cram
Ranked #149 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We recently stayed for three nights on our first visit to Barcelona. The hotel is on the corner of a busy crossroads about 15 minutes north of the Las Ramblas shopping area and 5 minutes from the Universitat train station. We took a yellow and black metered taxi from the airport which took about 25 minutes and cost 28 euros. The hotel building is 'old style Barcelona' but inside it is very modern, with a red, black, mirrors and chrome decor. We had a standard double room at the front of the hotel overlooking the crossroads which with the doors open onto the balcony was very noisy. However the double glazing was super efficient as when closed at night with the air conditioning unit going we could hear very little. The double bed was kingsize and very comfortable. The room had a safe, well stocked mini bar, a unit with desk and plenty of storage. No tea and coffee making facility though which we missed. The ensuite bathroom had a large shower plenty of towels and a large selection of toiletries. All very clean and modern. We didn't eat in the hotel as there are so many lovely places to eat nearby. Check out the best carrot cake at Charlot Cafe just to the north of the crossroads, delicious!

We walked for miles in order to see everything, but chatting to the receptionist he suggested a multiple trip train ticket which was perfect. 10 euros for 10 trips and two people can share the one ticket, perfect, my feet breathed a sigh of relief!

We walked to Gaudi's Sagrada Familia and came across Casa Batllo on the way, both very impressive, however the queue to buy a ticket to see inside was so long we decided against it in the end. (Tickets per adult to see inside the Sagrada Familia including towers were 13 euros each). The outside was impressive enough to have made the trip worthwhile though. We missed park Guell as we had problems finding it, but spent a couple of hours in the Olympic park area which has lovely gardens and fountains with great views over the city. Quite a climb though, you have to be reasonable fit to make it up the steps. We decided to get the cable car back which delivers you back to the beachfront for 11 euros per person, phew!

So lovely to be able to spend an afternoon on the beach right beside a busy city. A perfect day, shopping in the morning and sangria on the beach in the afternoon! I love Barcelona!

On our final day the reception staff very kindly allowed us a late check out at no extra cost which was brilliant, and meant we could use our last few hours to the full.

All in all a successful trip from a perfect base at Hotel Cram, thank you for being so helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennypupChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Great hotel. Very modern, clean and well designed. However, most impressive, was the service. The staff are charming and speak very good english. They provided us with lots of advice and recommendations that made our short stay in Barcelona a delight. The roof terrace is great too, with a nice bar.
One criticism....the bathrooms in the rooms, you need to know your room mate well....there is not a lot of privacy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mervyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Overall the hotel is very nice. There rooms are generally very nice in design, however could do with tidying up. Examples being holes in the ceiling, paint that has not had enough coats so it just looks like a patch of brush strokes, and toilet seats that dont actually fit the base! A surprising amount of the fixtures are installed wonky.

Most of the staff are very courteous and professional, however there is one incredibly rude member of staff by the name of Camilla.

One of the 'rules of the hotel' is that you cannot consume your own food or drink anywhere (including the rooms). If found these will be confiscated.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The coffee machine at Breakfast was not in a proper State but everything else was really excellent. Very Service oriented staff, the location is as near to the Centre that you are able to do everything by foot. Great Hotel...recommendation at all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Olaf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff was exceptionally helpful, the room was well appointed, clean and very comfortable. We spent time on the top level where there is a small pool and indoor/outdoor bar which was great for a few drinks and coffee while relaxing. Since we were leaving late in the day the staff stored and secured our luggage while we spent some time in the city before leaving for the airport. The location is perfectly situated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We chose the Cram after a lot of research and we were very pleased we did. The hotel is perfectly located less than a 10 min walk from La Rambla, the main shopping area, the Gothic quarter and the Passeig de Gracia train station (the closest main line station), but this also makes it just far enough away from them to make it a more relaxing experience.
The hotel itself is very smart and the room (a standard double) was very nice, with a large walk in shower, lots of storage, a big tv and well stocked mini bar, and the staff all speak very good English.
The room was clean (as was the whole hotel), the bed big and comfy, and despite facing the main road was very quiet thanks to great windows and air con.and there were nice little touches like disposable razors and disposable toothbrushes with toothpaste in the bathroom along with the normal shower gel etc. I cant comment on the food as we ate out, and the lounge bar was closed as it was being refurbished while we were there, but there are loads of places to eat and drink nearby.

As for the city itself it is Much bigger than we thought and we were only there for 2 nights which is not enough to see much, but what we saw we liked. The city is very clean and despite its reputation for pick pockets we did not see or hear of any crime while we were there. If you are sensible with your possessions you should be fine, and there seemed to be loads of police everywhere, both on foot and in patrol cars so perhaps they are getting on top of the problem.

A tip for reducing the travel costs - use a low cost airline and fly to Reus or Girona airport then take the train to Barcelona. The trains are cheap (less than £8 one way) and run at least once an hour; our trip cost under £100 including air fair, train to and from Reus and taxi from airport to train station (we could spend more than that getting from south Wales to London and back).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheppma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#105 of 515 in Barcelona
1,027 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#145 of 515 in Barcelona
1,011 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#9 of 515 in Barcelona
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#61 of 515 in Barcelona
3,215 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#115 of 515 in Barcelona
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cram

Address: Carrer D'aribau 54, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#94 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#108 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £73 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cram 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cram is situated in the middle of the Example district of Barcelona very close to the Paseo de Gracia, Rambla de Cataluna, Plaza de Cataluna and the Ramblas.Surrounded by the cities most emblematic architecture, the hotel fits perfectly into this rich legacy. The modernist style facade dates back to 1892, and has a definite majestic elegance.The 67 rooms are planned to offer maximum comfort, they stand out warm, elegant, avant-garde aesthetic, their highly functional design and their high-tech equipment.The restaurant Angle Barcelona, 1* Michelin, is moving to Hotel Cram and will be opening its doors on June 2013, with the same philosophy and willingness to bring customers a dining experience which is sure to tantalise each one of their senses.If ABaC is the ultimate expression of Jordi Cruz' cuisine, l'Angle seeks to liven up tradition with innovative touches, high quality products and dishes altogether different from those created in the kitchens of ABaC.Attentive, warm and friendly service with common goals: to clearly convey the messages hidden in the actual recipes and define our understanding of gastronomy every day, based on memory, creativity and the best ingredients.The redesign of event and meeting rooms, whose capacities ranges from 2-70 people, placed special emphasis on enhancing light through integrated stained glass windows.The Anemos Terrace Bar, located on the 7th floor with panoramic views of Barcelona, offers a breakfast buffet from 07:00 to 11:00. It later reopens from 12.00 Am until 12.00 Pm, serving drinks, appetizers, tapas and 'informal cuisine' uninterruptedly throughout the day. The new menu offers little snapshots of the creative style of Chef Jordi Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cram Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Cram Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing