We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave our room away last minute!”
Review of Hotel Cram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cram
Ranked #159 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had booked our hotel room at Cram in Barcelona over three months before our check in date only to be kicked out the day we arrived! We were booked in for one night at the hotel and were flying in from Prague. When we arrived at Cram the staff were very attentive to help us with our bags, however when we went to check in the reception guy asked if we had received an email notifying us of a mix up with the rooms. We had no idea about any mix up as we had been in transit the whole morning. The guy was very apologetic and said that some other guests decided to stay longer and that he had arranged for us to stay at another hotel close by under the same company and had included a complimentary breakfast for the inconvenience. They also paid for our cab to the other hotel.

So there were some good points about the service but also some totally unacceptable points, such as the fact that we checked our emails later and discovered we had only been notified by Cram about the room mix up at 11.30am the day of check in, and check in was at 1pm. Not exactly a lot of notice! We were also very disappointed in the hotel they sent us to, which was certainly not of the same standard....that's my next review. Cram hotel looked like a nice place to stay but I have been turned off any hotel associated with 'Small Luxury Hotels of the World' from such a poor customer service experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Electrickittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a great stay - the location was great and within walking distance of Placa Catalunya. Our room was small but was clean, comfortable,had great under the bed storage for our suitcases and was decorated very nicely. We thought the price we paid was very fair for the quality of the room Andrew the location, and the bar was nice along with the lobby. Staff were helpful and we were able to check in early. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HoltonHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Spent 5 nights during Junein Cram hotel. The location in my opinion is great, close to public transport, pubs, restaurants. Casa Battlo is 5 minutes- walk from the hotel.
We received a room with a view to the inside court, the advantage being the quietness in the evenings. the rooms are quite spacious, nevertheless consider there are differences between the room sizes at the same price- so you can ask for a larger one at the reception if available. The modern design might be found awkward - and the only drawback was the fact that the space for hanging clothes was very small.
When we arrived 2 floors were refurbished - so for 2 days it was quite messy, for those coming now it will be an advantage as the new look is much more brighter.
Food is very decent, quite a wide range, the restaurant is located on the roof next ot the pool so the view in the morning is definitely refreshing. In the evenings- the bar located in the same place - but it was usually quite empty as the pubs around the hotel look much more attractive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergiu1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Hotel Cram and it was a great base for a short break to Barcelona. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The rooms are a good size but don't expect a huge amount of space - storage under the bed for cases and clever wardrobes meant that the room never felt cluttered. We loved the quirky round bathroom too!
The rooftop terrace is small but has a small pool, lots of chairs and sunloungers so perfect for a bit of relaxing. In the evenings the bar is lovely with nice views across the city. The breakfast is held up here - a good spread with lots of fruits, cold meats, cheese, pastries, breads etc plus the option to get eggs and cooked items to order.
The hotel is walking distance to Las Rambla and the main tourist areas, but is far enough away to be quiet at nighttime.
We would definitely stay here again if we return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The staff were all exceedingly kind and resourceful. Check in and out were efficient. The room and bed were very comfortable, and you simply can’t beat the location, especially of you want to be in the heart of L'Eixample. The roof-top lounge and pool were also a great respite. When we go back, we will be staying at Hotel Cram again. A great value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonTraveler1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I was looking for a centrally located modern hotel, with a pool at a decent price.
Hotel Cram was all of that, we walked everywhere.
Room was comfortable with a small balcony, the bed was amazing and the rooftop pool was small but great for laps/cooling down, had a beer in the evening at the bar and really enjoyed it.
Hotel staff were friendly and gave us some great tips for local restaurants.
Breakfast seemed expensive so we ate out.
Hairdryer was a bit feeble but that's my only quibble.
Would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#104 of 515 in Barcelona
1,025 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#9 of 515 in Barcelona
396 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#154 of 515 in Barcelona
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#118 of 515 in Barcelona
1,206 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#68 of 515 in Barcelona
1,545 reviews
Eixample
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cram

Address: Carrer D'aribau 54, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#94 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £81 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cram 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cram is situated in the middle of the Example district of Barcelona very close to the Paseo de Gracia, Rambla de Cataluna, Plaza de Cataluna and the Ramblas.Surrounded by the cities most emblematic architecture, the hotel fits perfectly into this rich legacy. The modernist style facade dates back to 1892, and has a definite majestic elegance.The 67 rooms are planned to offer maximum comfort, they stand out warm, elegant, avant-garde aesthetic, their highly functional design and their high-tech equipment.The restaurant Angle Barcelona, 1* Michelin, is moving to Hotel Cram and will be opening its doors on June 2013, with the same philosophy and willingness to bring customers a dining experience which is sure to tantalise each one of their senses.If ABaC is the ultimate expression of Jordi Cruz' cuisine, l'Angle seeks to liven up tradition with innovative touches, high quality products and dishes altogether different from those created in the kitchens of ABaC.Attentive, warm and friendly service with common goals: to clearly convey the messages hidden in the actual recipes and define our understanding of gastronomy every day, based on memory, creativity and the best ingredients.The redesign of event and meeting rooms, whose capacities ranges from 2-70 people, placed special emphasis on enhancing light through integrated stained glass windows.The Anemos Terrace Bar, located on the 7th floor with panoramic views of Barcelona, offers a breakfast buffet from 07:00 to 11:00. It later reopens from 12.00 Am until 12.00 Pm, serving drinks, appetizers, tapas and 'informal cuisine' uninterruptedly throughout the day. The new menu offers little snapshots of the creative style of Chef Jordi Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cram Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Cram Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing