We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel in quiet location”
Review of Hotel Cram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cram
Ranked #125 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel in quiet location”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for one week as part of our Christmas vacation. The hotel was a ten minute walk from the Universitat metro stop. If you catch the aero-bus from the airport its only 5.6 euro per person and drops you off at the Universitat stop. We stayed on the 4th floor in a room facing the street front and had no problems with noise as the balcony windows had good sound proofing. The room had a chic design with plenty of storage space for 2 people. The bed was extra comfy and we could also control the temperature of our room which made for a good night sleep. We chose not to have breakfast at the hotel as it was expensive and there are plenty of cafes and patisseries just a few minutes around the corner. I would suggest trying La Pastisseria for breakfast which does excellent cakes and pastries.

We would stay here again if visiting Barcelona because it had a good, quiet location only 10 min walk from the main plaza and shopping area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradantha_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Customer,

We thank you for having post your comments after your stay with us and for sharing your useful detail with other future customers.

We appreciate you enjoyed our location and rooms your comments help us to improve every day to continue achieving our customers satisfaction.

Please, as you tell us, if you decide to come back, we kindly ask you to write us an email to customercare@hotelcram.com, in order to guarantee you again a nice stay and give you our best available conditions.

Our best regards,

Jenniffer Morrell
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    385
    101
    35
    16
See reviews for
66
514
50
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
145 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I really loved this hotel!! Mostly I appreciated the design of the rooms and the terrace at the 7th floor overviewing the city.
My room was at the 5th floor and had a nice balcony on the angle so had view on both the streets (Aribau and Aragò). I loved the curve lines of the room, and smooth lights that could be turned on and off in different part of the room/bathroom. Cleaning was ok, I only stayed one night so cannot say anything on the cleaning of the room after guest arrival.
Other PLUS is the terrace where breakfast is served. It's amazing as you can see most part of the city and relax. Breakfast is definetely good, with variety and good food!
Surely suggested!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickypv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel no longer let's you contol the air/heat in the room. They also no longer let you open windows or doors to the patio. The bathroom also doesn't have a real door so the room was VERY humid and stuffy to the point where the wallpaper was peeling off in the room. The hotel also made us prepay so we ended up stuck there for half of our trip and kind of miserable from not being able to sleep. They also were doing construction in the next room starting at 8am. The staff refused to do anything to help and said they were sold out and couldn't change our room. However the hotel seemed kind of deserted. I only saw a handful of other guest while we were there. The rooftop bar area had been shut down completely and the bar by the lobby was always empty. I did like the location but there are lots of other hotels around that are cheaper with more amenities and much more comfortable. We stayed at hotel jazz for the other half of our trip and it was so much better.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellariaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

2nd time I stayed at the Cram Hotel. Very convenient central hotel with easy going staff and quite atmosphere.
Guest rooms well stocked but as a business traveller I would have really appreciated a coffee tray in my room !!
large Balcony windows, which open thank God !
Pitty they changed the lobby bar! It is all white and "cold" and does not inspire to sit down and have a drink. Much much better with the previous warm decor.
Poor room service list. Should add a couple of items...

Room Tip: ask for front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATERINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
185 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I've stayed in this hotel a couple of times whilst in Barcelona on business and will definitely stay here again. The rooms are much more interesting than most business hotels, they are a bit quirky with curved walls and more interest than the average square box. The room lighting is clever too, as it fades up and down - great when you switch on lights first thing in the morning.
Staff on reception are super-friendly.
if you are there in the right weather there is a small rooftop pool ,which would be very welcome on a hot day.

I was rather disappointed with the food though, both in the terrace bar and room service. But I have yet to find anywhere that does good food on room service in central Barcelona, so they aren't alone! I forgive them and there are plenty of eating places nearby although as a woman travelling alone I wouldn't necessarily try them out by myself.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puffpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay with a group of girls. Excellent location, lovely welcoming staff and pretty much everything you need. The rooms are compact and the beds comfy but the star of the show is the roof terrace cocktail bar a great place to kickstart any night with great views of Barcelona. The food is pricey but you are within walking distance of lots of reasonably priced eateries. If you are staying in a twin with a friend make sure they are a very good friend as the glass bathroom door is pretty unforgiving. If you like a hot drink first thing you'll be disappointed by the lack of kettle and the hotel coffee is not the best. If you can get a good online deal i would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 305 has a private enclosed balcony whereas room 105/205 have a shared balcony and the balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyredshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Perfectly centrally located to walk to most destinations and the roof terrace is a great place to sit on a warm night with the very friendly and attentive staff as you enjoy the views. The rooms were clean an spacious and the huge bed very comfortable, other reviewers issues with space must depend on which room you get, we had a front facing balcony room and had plenty of storage places especially with a sliding platform under the bed.
As for the plugs there is also a plug in the fold down TV cabinet one either side of the bed and the toilet one (4). Any issues with bathroom privacy simply hang a bath towel over the inside of the bathroom glass door and you will be saved any awkward moments (nick123nl).
Would stay here again next time in Barcelona.

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor front facing room with a balcony which had plenty of storage space under the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatecrasher68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#94 of 513 in Barcelona
983 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 513 in Barcelona
1,412 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#10 of 513 in Barcelona
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#123 of 513 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#150 of 513 in Barcelona
936 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#86 of 513 in Barcelona
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cram

Property: Hotel Cram
Address: Carrer D'aribau 54, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#94 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#94 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cram 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cram is situated in the middle of the Example district of Barcelona very close to the Paseo de Gracia, Rambla de Cataluna, Plaza de Cataluna and the Ramblas.Surrounded by the cities most emblematic architecture, the hotel fits perfectly into this rich legacy. The modernist style facade dates back to 1892, and has a definite majestic elegance.The 67 rooms are planned to offer maximum comfort, they stand out warm, elegant, avant-garde aesthetic, their highly functional design and their high-tech equipment.The restaurant Angle Barcelona, 1* Michelin, is moving to Hotel Cram and will be opening its doors on June 2013, with the same philosophy and willingness to bring customers a dining experience which is sure to tantalise each one of their senses.If ABaC is the ultimate expression of Jordi Cruz' cuisine, l'Angle seeks to liven up tradition with innovative touches, high quality products and dishes altogether different from those created in the kitchens of ABaC.Attentive, warm and friendly service with common goals: to clearly convey the messages hidden in the actual recipes and define our understanding of gastronomy every day, based on memory, creativity and the best ingredients.The redesign of event and meeting rooms, whose capacities ranges from 2-70 people, placed special emphasis on enhancing light through integrated stained glass windows.The Anemos Terrace Bar, located on the 7th floor with panoramic views of Barcelona, offers a breakfast buffet from 07:00 to 11:00. It later reopens from 12.00 Am until 12.00 Pm, serving drinks, appetizers, tapas and 'informal cuisine' uninterruptedly throughout the day. The new menu offers little snapshots of the creative style of Chef Jordi Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cram Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Cram Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing