We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel good location”
Review of Hotel Cram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cram
Ranked #125 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great hotel good location”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in May. Pretty good location, near the main streets Passaig de Gracia and pretty short walk from the metro stations Universitat and Passaig de Gracia. Friendly staff and they accommodated my request for a quiet room, which meant that it did not overlook the main street. The room was quiet spacious by European standards and the bed was SO comfortable, best sleep ever and they had a nice host of complimentary toiletries available. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are glad you had a great stay.

So we hope to welcome you back for another nice experience.

Best regards.

Jenniffer
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    385
    101
    35
    16
See reviews for
66
514
50
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We met up with friends for 2 nights in Barcelona - with no children!! We wanted somewhere central so we could eat / drink / shop - and Hotel Cram fitted the bill perfectly!

The reception staff were brilliant - incredibly helpful and spoke perfect English. They helped us with directions, reservations and buying tickets to do a tour.

We splashed out on the most expensive room and it was wonderful! Just a shame we didn't get to spend much time in it or on the balcony (v disappointed I didn't use the bath next to the bed - will have to visit again!!)

We didn't eat in the hotel - instead going to many tapas places throughout the city - all within an easy walk of the hotel.

The only one negative is that the rooftop bar lacked atmosphere. Both nights we went up there for a nightcap and were the only people there, and there was no music etc. The bar staff were great - but it just didn't feel that welcoming - but that may just have been that it was a Monday and Tuesday so not much going on!

Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Other reviews mentioned road noise - but up on the highest floor we had no issue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank for your kind reviews about your stay and about out staff.

We are glad you had a great time in a nice location, just perfect for your holidays plans.

See you soon.

Jenniffer
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was my third visit to Barcelona and I have typically stayed in the Old City. I decided to check out the Eixample neighborhood because of it's close proximity to Old City and because it seemed nicer/quieter. The Cram hotel is in a great location in the Eixample neighborhood. Even though it was somewhat quiet, there were plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby where we could grab a quick breakfast or nice dinner after a long day of sightseeing.

The hotel was about two blocks from the northern part of Las Ramblas. I personally preferred this less touristy part of Las Ramblas. The shops and restaurants were much nicer. One block past that is the main road (Passeig de Gracia) that has even nicer shops and a metro stop. Three blocks in the other direction is another metro stop in a nice area near the university.

The hotel is very nice and modern. The bed was very big and comfortable. The room had a balcony, but we didn't spend much time there (not much of a view). The bathroom was starting to show some age.

We really enjoyed going up to the rooftop bar. There is also a pool up there (too cool for us to use, but others were in it). The view from the roof was really nice and was great for sunset viewing. My husband enjoyed a few glasses of very nice and inexpensive wine there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyelise25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks for your accurate reviews!!

For us is very important to hear that your change was worth it and that you had a nice stay.

So we hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Jenniffer
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is centrally located if you are interested in the Gaudi buildings, less so if you prefer the old town and marina. It's only a few minutes walk to Universitat metro station though.

It is very contemporary in design without feeling unwelcoming. Loads of storage in the bedrooms. Breakfast is wholesome and served on the lovely roof terrace - and I think it is the roof that is my favourite thing about the hotel..... or maybe the helpfulness of the reception staff.

Drinks however are on the very pricey side.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are probably preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel.

We are happy to know that you truly enjoyed your stay. Your tips are good advices for other customers.

Our best wishes.

Jenniffer
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angels Camp, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A very helpful and friendly staff make this hotel special. It has a modern decor and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast is served on the 7th floor veranda with a view of the city. The breakfast was one of the best in our one month trip to Portugal, Spain, and France.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face the street as those rooms have light that shines right in the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments about our staff. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your days in Barcelona staying in our Hotel.

So we hope to see soon again.

Best regards,

Jenniffer Morrell
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A very big thank you to all of the delightful and considerate staff of this lovely hotel in Barcelona. I booked a 4 night stay to unwind and relax by the rooftop pool. Although it is more of a plunge pool, it provided for coolness during the warm days. The staff were most attentive, providing an iphone charger when requested, and giving details of great restaurants and boutiques. Cleanliness, service and quality of amenities deserve top marks. Balcony doors and windows are triple glazed so there is no issue whatsoever of street noise. The bed and pillows are worthy of long sleeps! A bottle of Cava delivered to my room on my last night was so thoughtful. Again, muchos gracias.

Room Tip: Room 402 faces a lush tree lined avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoife73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your kind reviews! We are glad to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Jenniffer Morrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kersey, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I vacationed in Spain over Christmas 2013 and spent 4 days in Barcelona. We were attracted to this hotel due to the ratings of the restaurant there. Couldn't make reservations online and were told to make them when we got there so we thought no big deal. Attempted to make reservations beforehand and we always got the run around. Most important was Christmas eve. They were open but we never could get a secure reservation. Most other places were closed. At least the bar girl upstairs got us some snacks and we drank. Rooms were clean but small. Staff was short. We had a little maintenance of the room but were able to find the maintenance guy. View out the back was of other hotel rooms balconies. They should've told us they pretty much reserved the dinners for the locals at that time. Don't try to get in close to a holiday. Maybe other times they're more open. Parking was nill. About 5 spots out front and we parked it when we got there and used the city transit. About $25 euro a day for that. There were other good restaurants around but most of course were closed Christmas eve. Really pissed my wife off. I was ok with the wine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powellvs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments as they help us to know were do we have to improve and what is the best way to make our guests feel happy during their stay.

On the othe hand, we are sorry for not being able to achieve your complete satisfaction this time and we are sure, that if you decide to come back, and contact us directly before your arrival, we will do our best again for you to have a nice and enjoyable stay.

Our best regards.

Jenniffer Morrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#94 of 513 in Barcelona
983 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#49 of 513 in Barcelona
1,412 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#10 of 513 in Barcelona
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#123 of 513 in Barcelona
1,136 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#150 of 513 in Barcelona
937 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#86 of 513 in Barcelona
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cram

Property: Hotel Cram
Address: Carrer D'aribau 54, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#94 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#94 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cram 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cram is situated in the middle of the Example district of Barcelona very close to the Paseo de Gracia, Rambla de Cataluna, Plaza de Cataluna and the Ramblas.Surrounded by the cities most emblematic architecture, the hotel fits perfectly into this rich legacy. The modernist style facade dates back to 1892, and has a definite majestic elegance.The 67 rooms are planned to offer maximum comfort, they stand out warm, elegant, avant-garde aesthetic, their highly functional design and their high-tech equipment.The restaurant Angle Barcelona, 1* Michelin, is moving to Hotel Cram and will be opening its doors on June 2013, with the same philosophy and willingness to bring customers a dining experience which is sure to tantalise each one of their senses.If ABaC is the ultimate expression of Jordi Cruz' cuisine, l'Angle seeks to liven up tradition with innovative touches, high quality products and dishes altogether different from those created in the kitchens of ABaC.Attentive, warm and friendly service with common goals: to clearly convey the messages hidden in the actual recipes and define our understanding of gastronomy every day, based on memory, creativity and the best ingredients.The redesign of event and meeting rooms, whose capacities ranges from 2-70 people, placed special emphasis on enhancing light through integrated stained glass windows.The Anemos Terrace Bar, located on the 7th floor with panoramic views of Barcelona, offers a breakfast buffet from 07:00 to 11:00. It later reopens from 12.00 Am until 12.00 Pm, serving drinks, appetizers, tapas and 'informal cuisine' uninterruptedly throughout the day. The new menu offers little snapshots of the creative style of Chef Jordi Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cram Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Cram Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing