We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top”
Review of Hotel Cram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cram
Ranked #149 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying mid July. The hotel is lovely. Very convenient to visit all of Barcelona. Sorry but the breakfast was pricey but we tried it on our first morning and I can only say that it was average. There are places better nearby for half the price. However don't be put off by this. The room I stayed in (301) was clean, tidy and well maintained. It had AC a fridge, safe, nice en suite and a balcony over looking the busy road junction. The best bit about the room was the large comfy bed and the comfiest pillows I've every rested my head on (please tell where I can get some). The staff were brilliant and very helpful, I can't praise them enough. If you're looking for a small clean well run hotel in the middle of Barcelona look no further. I look forward to my return.
Tony & Tina Pook UK.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We thank you for sharing you review about your recent stay in our Hotel, and we are happy to know that you had a good rest in our room.

Your tips will be helpful for other travelers around the world.

We hope to see you soon.

Jenniffer
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Being promoted by Small Luxury Hotels, and showing off all these glossy pictures of a "cool" place to stay, expectations are naturally high. And, I a happy to say, Cram delivers most of the time. There is a very welcoming and service oriented atmosphere in the hotel, especially at the top floor breakfast room- and pool bar. In fact it felt a bit like leaving friends behind when we left the hotel and that is a very rare experience. While up there; I saw a number of comments on the breakfast being pricy and poor which I really can't understand. Of course a breakfast served with these generous opening hours in a hotel that isn't very big will come at a cost, but quality was impeccable and there was nothing missing: fresh bread of all sorts, yoghurt, cereals, fruit, juices, several cheeses, cold cuts (including a stunning jamon iberico), pre-cooked hard boiled eggs and any other eggs made to order, Nespresso and teas... Fantastic!

We had a standard room, facing the street. Yes, it's a bit noisy when balcony doors are open, but when closed it's better than normal sound level for a city location and in combination with the very quiet AC it was rather quieter than I am used to. The room itself was very small and almost totally lacking storage. Six hangers on an open rack and a few, tiny drawers was it all. So don't expect to unpack you cases... Lovely shower (please notice that the shower door needs to be pulled a little bit past the "first stop" to stay in place :-) and amazing beds!

Room cleaning was perfect, but there are a few issues with the general uphold of the hotel. A few examples: Paint is coming off here and there, the inspection door to the AC in the bathroom ceiling had been opened carelessly and looked "rugged", there were still stains from the original orange/red ceiling colour on the walls in the bathroom, despite the ceiling being now cream coloured. Nothing big, but affecting the impression. Worst was the little pool (more like a tub really) on the roof: Maybe you can see dirt like hairs and shredded paper napkins floating about better when the pool walls are black, but my feeling was the cleaning (both the automated circulation and the manual up-keeping) was not good enough.

All in all a very good and personal hotel with fantastic staff where only room size and a few glitches takes it from 5 to a strong 4. I will return and I do recommend the Cram.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a few nights you will want to upgrade the size of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaltisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and tips about our Hotel, we are proud that you enjoyed a nice stay.

Your reviews are very important to us, as they help us to continue doing the best we can to make our guests feel comfortable and happy. In addition, it help us to know where we have to improve.

On the other hand, we appreciate your words about our staff and breakfast. Nice and kind comments keep us at the top line for a best service oriented staff.

Hope to welcome you back.

Jenniffer
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

When we checked in we got an upgrade to a superior room because we had registered as members of Small Luxury Hotels.
The staff was very serviceminded. Recommended us good restaurants and made bookings for us. The location just a few blocks from the Rambla was perfect.
Although the rooms was facing the street there was no noise because of triple Windows.
We would definately stay at Cram Again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HanneBertholdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are glad to know that you truly enjoyed your stay and that our location worked perfectly to get easily to the best places around.

We also would like to thank you for your kind words about our staff, as they work hard every day to achieve our guest’s satisfaction.

Therefore, we hope to welcome you back soon and please, enter this available for all travelers’ code: CRAMTRIP in your next online or phone reservation before 29th Dec 2014 and get 15% discount on room rate.

Best regards,

Jenniffer
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Really friendly welcome to the Cram by the English speaking staff. Very helpful Loved the location of the hotel, within walking distance of many central attractions. There is a lovely little roof top bar with a small plunge pool. Perfect for a quick drink before heading out. We would definitely go back to the Cram.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for sharing with other travelers your fantastic experience in our Hotel. We are happy to hear that you truly enjojed your stay.

We will be glad to welcome you back soon.

Jenniffer
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the CRAM at the end of May. It is in an excellent location to many of the places we wanted to visit. The rooms were very clean, tidy and well kept. The hotel is very modern with a lovely atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and helpful. When we arrived we requested a two bed room, which we had to wait a bit longer for but were given free drinks on the roof terrace, while we waited. The breakfast was excellent, with lovely views from the roof terrace. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jacquie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review about your stay with us, we are glad to know that you and your daughter enjoyed our location, rooms, staff service and breakfast. Your tips will be also useful for other travelers.

Words like yours encourage us to continue working to achieve our guests satisfaction.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Jenniffer
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cram for 4 nights in late May. The location is great - really central. The rooms are comfortable and bright, though the all-white decor can look a little shabby. There is plenty of storage. The service was friendly and efficient. The best thing about the hotel is the rooftop pool and bar - fabulous views, and great to be able to dip feet into some cool water after a hot day out, while sipping a cocktail or two.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for posting your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed a great stay.

Your tips will be useful for other travelers!!

We hope to welcome you back!!

Jenniffer
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

After much searching on line came across this hotel! My primary focus was location for the purpose of my business in barcelona but it ticked other boxes too! Friendly staff, great room, excellent supply of toiletries, a Michelin restaurant on site and a short walk from the aerobus stop which costs only €5.90 from the airport. As a solo female traveller I felt safe walking in this area. From this location I walked the entire city even though I bought a metro pass - never used it! The rooftop bar is bijou! The pool is really only for dipping in if you dare! My only gripe about the rooftop bar is it lacks atmosphere - some up tempo music would add to the ambience. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jcee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We are definitely happy to hear that you find yourself comfortable with our location, our staff and our services, this let us know that we are doing our best to make our guests feel in a great place in our great Barcelona city.

So, thank you for your review as it will help also travelers looking for real experiences.

Best regards.

Jenniffer
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#105 of 515 in Barcelona
1,027 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#145 of 515 in Barcelona
1,011 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#9 of 515 in Barcelona
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#61 of 515 in Barcelona
3,215 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#115 of 515 in Barcelona
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cram

Address: Carrer D'aribau 54, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#94 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#108 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £73 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cram 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cram is situated in the middle of the Example district of Barcelona very close to the Paseo de Gracia, Rambla de Cataluna, Plaza de Cataluna and the Ramblas.Surrounded by the cities most emblematic architecture, the hotel fits perfectly into this rich legacy. The modernist style facade dates back to 1892, and has a definite majestic elegance.The 67 rooms are planned to offer maximum comfort, they stand out warm, elegant, avant-garde aesthetic, their highly functional design and their high-tech equipment.The restaurant Angle Barcelona, 1* Michelin, is moving to Hotel Cram and will be opening its doors on June 2013, with the same philosophy and willingness to bring customers a dining experience which is sure to tantalise each one of their senses.If ABaC is the ultimate expression of Jordi Cruz' cuisine, l'Angle seeks to liven up tradition with innovative touches, high quality products and dishes altogether different from those created in the kitchens of ABaC.Attentive, warm and friendly service with common goals: to clearly convey the messages hidden in the actual recipes and define our understanding of gastronomy every day, based on memory, creativity and the best ingredients.The redesign of event and meeting rooms, whose capacities ranges from 2-70 people, placed special emphasis on enhancing light through integrated stained glass windows.The Anemos Terrace Bar, located on the 7th floor with panoramic views of Barcelona, offers a breakfast buffet from 07:00 to 11:00. It later reopens from 12.00 Am until 12.00 Pm, serving drinks, appetizers, tapas and 'informal cuisine' uninterruptedly throughout the day. The new menu offers little snapshots of the creative style of Chef Jordi Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Splitty, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cram Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Cram Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing