We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Staff on our Journeys”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cram
Ranked #124 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Staff on our Journeys”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hotel is comfortable as far as European standards go. Distinctive part of this hotel is the staff. They were hands down the friendliest and most helpful of the 6 hotels we stayed in on our trip through Spain and Portugal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titan2br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
First of all, thank you for your choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for your review, as other travelers around the world will find it useful.
But the most important is your appreciation about our staff, that makes us feel proud and will help to encourage us to continue doing the best we can to achieve our guests satisfaction.
We hope to see you soon for another nice experience in our city.
Jenniffer
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    383
    99
    33
    16
See reviews for
66
509
49
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
274 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

One striking feature of the Cram hotel is its staff. Unfailingly pleasant and friendly, they will do their best to sort out any problem you might have.

I had a look at some of the traveler photos and was struck by the difference between then and now. I prefer then.

There is definitely a problem with a front desk made of mirror.
Even though a staff is regularly on hand with a spray bottle and rag, the counter top is stained with finger marks. Approaching it right after several people have been there makes one want to step back in disgust. It mustn't be pleasant for the staff either. Whose bright idea was this?

By the same token, what looked like a bright and cheery bar is now wall to wall beige with huge net curtains à la '70s masking the windows. Of course, it's all a matter of taste but I found it uninviting and chilly. But it is comfortable, and if you like beige...

On the upstairs terrace, the black (dipping) pool is not appealing if the hotel's argument is that you can actually use it. Who wants to step into what looks like a tank of diesel oil? It might also be a good idea to replace the dead overhead rod lights and put candles on the tables. Once darkness falls, it becomes almost impossible to see anything. Reviewers who had complained about the lack of music will be happy to learn that there is now music.

The Angle restaurant is wonderful and worth the expense.

I found my room very pleasant. Very comfortable bed. Sufficient space to put one's things away. A clever device to stow your suitcase under the bed. Many sockets including in the nightstands. Space is oddly divided, with a huge empty entrance hall, but once you've put a chair in front of the desk/shelf in front of the bed, there's no room to get across except to crawl over the bed.
What is great is how quiet the room can be. The rooms go in pairs and you need to cross one door and a tiny hallway before reaching your unit. This means that the only noise that may bother you is your neighbors opening and closing two doors, but the rest of the external noise doesn't reach you. You also cannot hear the people next door.
However, open the window and you may go deaf from the street noise.

No one checks the lamps or someone would have noticed that just grazing the switch of the desk lamp makes it go on and off with a peculiar rather scary noise.

In a luxury hotel, there would be tea and coffee facility.

The bathroom would be great if. Great volume, lots of space, enough space to put your things away. The bathrobes are lovely.
However:
- don't hold on to the shower bar, it's wobbly;
- the bath mats are frayed. Not pretty;
- the towels have had a long life and it shows;
- there is no soap dish. The little slivers (and I mean slivers) of soap remain stuck to the sink or bath.
They're almost impossible to remove once stuck. This is probably why the maid left mine
glued to the bath for an entire week;
- the lever for the sink plug doesn't work. I removed the entire plug and set it aside. Every day,
it was put back in even though I was putting it away farther and farther from the sink. Obviously, it never occurred to housekeeping to wonder why a guest would
stubbornly remove it every day;
- has someone's clumsy brother-in-law offered to come with packing and chewing gum to fix
the bathroom tiles on a Sunday morning? It certainly looks that way. There apparently was not
enough chewing gum left to fix the sealing around the tub. It's got pieces missing;
- some connecting points between floor and wall should be fixed. It definitely looks shabby in places;
- if you are going to email a guest telling them that as a token of your appreciation a small gift
will be waiting for them, please inform the front desk and make sure it doesn't take a week, guest questions and several people involved for the thing to come through. If the small gift happens to be a cocktail and the front staff, by dint of an apology, tells you that you and your friend can order any drink you want, please inform the bar maid so the guests won't be publicly lectured on how they were supposed to order the standard hotel cocktail.

I'm willing to believe that the electric going down one evening (fixed rather quickly) and no hot water the next day (not fixed quickly) requiring a cold shower are a coincidence.

The Cram is a pleasant hotel with quality features. A luxury hotel maybe not.

Room Tip: In rooms on the first floor (second for Americans), the windows can't be opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imforestgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for your time to let us know your sincere opinion about your stay. Your kind comments about our staff are the result of a everyday teamwork to achieve our guests satisfaction. thank you!!

We thank you for your detailed suggestions and remarks, which are very important to us and will definitely help us to improve, and at the same time, other travelers will find useful tips on your post.

Sincerely hoping you could give us another chance one day, please, contact us in advance to: customercare@hotelcram.com, we will be glad to do our best for you to have an enjoyable stay.

Jenniffer
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying mid July. The hotel is lovely. Very convenient to visit all of Barcelona. Sorry but the breakfast was pricey but we tried it on our first morning and I can only say that it was average. There are places better nearby for half the price. However don't be put off by this. The room I stayed in (301) was clean, tidy and well maintained. It had AC a fridge, safe, nice en suite and a balcony over looking the busy road junction. The best bit about the room was the large comfy bed and the comfiest pillows I've every rested my head on (please tell where I can get some). The staff were brilliant and very helpful, I can't praise them enough. If you're looking for a small clean well run hotel in the middle of Barcelona look no further. I look forward to my return.
Tony & Tina Pook UK.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We thank you for sharing you review about your recent stay in our Hotel, and we are happy to know that you had a good rest in our room.

Your tips will be helpful for other travelers around the world.

We hope to see you soon.

Jenniffer
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Being promoted by Small Luxury Hotels, and showing off all these glossy pictures of a "cool" place to stay, expectations are naturally high. And, I a happy to say, Cram delivers most of the time. There is a very welcoming and service oriented atmosphere in the hotel, especially at the top floor breakfast room- and pool bar. In fact it felt a bit like leaving friends behind when we left the hotel and that is a very rare experience. While up there; I saw a number of comments on the breakfast being pricy and poor which I really can't understand. Of course a breakfast served with these generous opening hours in a hotel that isn't very big will come at a cost, but quality was impeccable and there was nothing missing: fresh bread of all sorts, yoghurt, cereals, fruit, juices, several cheeses, cold cuts (including a stunning jamon iberico), pre-cooked hard boiled eggs and any other eggs made to order, Nespresso and teas... Fantastic!

We had a standard room, facing the street. Yes, it's a bit noisy when balcony doors are open, but when closed it's better than normal sound level for a city location and in combination with the very quiet AC it was rather quieter than I am used to. The room itself was very small and almost totally lacking storage. Six hangers on an open rack and a few, tiny drawers was it all. So don't expect to unpack you cases... Lovely shower (please notice that the shower door needs to be pulled a little bit past the "first stop" to stay in place :-) and amazing beds!

Room cleaning was perfect, but there are a few issues with the general uphold of the hotel. A few examples: Paint is coming off here and there, the inspection door to the AC in the bathroom ceiling had been opened carelessly and looked "rugged", there were still stains from the original orange/red ceiling colour on the walls in the bathroom, despite the ceiling being now cream coloured. Nothing big, but affecting the impression. Worst was the little pool (more like a tub really) on the roof: Maybe you can see dirt like hairs and shredded paper napkins floating about better when the pool walls are black, but my feeling was the cleaning (both the automated circulation and the manual up-keeping) was not good enough.

All in all a very good and personal hotel with fantastic staff where only room size and a few glitches takes it from 5 to a strong 4. I will return and I do recommend the Cram.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a few nights you will want to upgrade the size of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and tips about our Hotel, we are proud that you enjoyed a nice stay.

Your reviews are very important to us, as they help us to continue doing the best we can to make our guests feel comfortable and happy. In addition, it help us to know where we have to improve.

On the other hand, we appreciate your words about our staff and breakfast. Nice and kind comments keep us at the top line for a best service oriented staff.

Hope to welcome you back.

Jenniffer
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

When we checked in we got an upgrade to a superior room because we had registered as members of Small Luxury Hotels.
The staff was very serviceminded. Recommended us good restaurants and made bookings for us. The location just a few blocks from the Rambla was perfect.
Although the rooms was facing the street there was no noise because of triple Windows.
We would definately stay at Cram Again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanneBertholdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are glad to know that you truly enjoyed your stay and that our location worked perfectly to get easily to the best places around.

We also would like to thank you for your kind words about our staff, as they work hard every day to achieve our guest’s satisfaction.

Therefore, we hope to welcome you back soon and please, enter this available for all travelers’ code: CRAMTRIP in your next online or phone reservation before 29th Dec 2014 and get 15% discount on room rate.

Best regards,

Jenniffer
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Really friendly welcome to the Cram by the English speaking staff. Very helpful Loved the location of the hotel, within walking distance of many central attractions. There is a lovely little roof top bar with a small plunge pool. Perfect for a quick drink before heading out. We would definitely go back to the Cram.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for sharing with other travelers your fantastic experience in our Hotel. We are happy to hear that you truly enjojed your stay.

We will be glad to welcome you back soon.

Jenniffer
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the CRAM at the end of May. It is in an excellent location to many of the places we wanted to visit. The rooms were very clean, tidy and well kept. The hotel is very modern with a lovely atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and helpful. When we arrived we requested a two bed room, which we had to wait a bit longer for but were given free drinks on the roof terrace, while we waited. The breakfast was excellent, with lovely views from the roof terrace. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review about your stay with us, we are glad to know that you and your daughter enjoyed our location, rooms, staff service and breakfast. Your tips will be also useful for other travelers.

Words like yours encourage us to continue working to achieve our guests satisfaction.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Jenniffer
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#86 of 521 in Barcelona
961 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#51 of 521 in Barcelona
1,357 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#6 of 521 in Barcelona
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#93 of 521 in Barcelona
1,566 reviews
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#104 of 521 in Barcelona
902 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#108 of 521 in Barcelona
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cram

Property: Hotel Cram
Address: Carrer D'aribau 54, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#92 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#94 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cram 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cram is situated in the middle of the Example district of Barcelona very close to the Paseo de Gracia, Rambla de Cataluna, Plaza de Cataluna and the Ramblas.Surrounded by the cities most emblematic architecture, the hotel fits perfectly into this rich legacy. The modernist style facade dates back to 1892, and has a definite majestic elegance.The 67 rooms are planned to offer maximum comfort, they stand out warm, elegant, avant-garde aesthetic, their highly functional design and their high-tech equipment.The restaurant Angle Barcelona, 1* Michelin, is moving to Hotel Cram and will be opening its doors on June 2013, with the same philosophy and willingness to bring customers a dining experience which is sure to tantalise each one of their senses.If ABaC is the ultimate expression of Jordi Cruz' cuisine, l'Angle seeks to liven up tradition with innovative touches, high quality products and dishes altogether different from those created in the kitchens of ABaC.Attentive, warm and friendly service with common goals: to clearly convey the messages hidden in the actual recipes and define our understanding of gastronomy every day, based on memory, creativity and the best ingredients.The redesign of event and meeting rooms, whose capacities ranges from 2-70 people, placed special emphasis on enhancing light through integrated stained glass windows.The Anemos Terrace Bar, located on the 7th floor with panoramic views of Barcelona, offers a breakfast buffet from 07:00 to 11:00. It later reopens from 12.00 Am until 12.00 Pm, serving drinks, appetizers, tapas and 'informal cuisine' uninterruptedly throughout the day. The new menu offers little snapshots of the creative style of Chef Jordi Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cram Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Cram Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing