We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, clenliness, tiny single room”
Review of Hotel Pelayo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pelayo
Ranked #355 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 18 June 2013

perfect location a few meters from Plaza Catalunia and Rablas.
very clean room, very friendly staff, very tiny single room, free internet, no breakfast
recommended if found at a good price
no elevator for 2nd floor

Room Tip: try to find a spacious room, because the single is tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aektsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

I admit it was dubious about booking this one star hotel but I'm so glad we did! Fantastic location just off La Ramblas and very close to two metro stations. Room was basic but comfortable and we had our own little balcony that was great for people watching. It was kept spotlessly clean and they changed all the sheets and towels everyday. It can be slightly noisy at night but it didnt stop us sleeping at all and you have to walk up about 15 steps before the elevator. Probably best for couples and groups of friends rather than families. All in all, absolute bargain compared to the other hotels in the area and great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma_c_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel Pelayo for three nights. Although the room and bathroom were small, they were both spotlessly clean, and the beds very comfortable. Towels were changed every day, and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful. We would stay there again. The location is excellent, very close to two metro stations and the top of La Rambla. Another bonus - we found a good, cheap restaurant nearby!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmp609042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I'd pre-booked with a group of ten people and when we arrived there'd been a big mix up with rooms and numbers. Only one of the group could speak any kind of Spanish, so we muddled through. The rooms were really varied in terms of quality and ambience, I shared a quadruple towards the back of the hotel which was very clean, comfortable albeit a tiny bath! Ideally located for the La Rambla and all the other touristy stuff. Maybe 3 is a bit harsh, 3.5 more likely a fairer rating.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waterpist0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I visited Barcelona November 2012 and decided to stay at Hotel Pelayo, due to price and location. We knew we wont be in the hotel much so we went for this hotel even tho it is rated at 1 star.

Now don't be fooled by this, this hotel can easily be a 2 star +. it was very clean, bed sheets changed regularly and also very friendly staff. for the price your paying i don't think you will get a better service and also end up in a hot spot like this.

La Rambla is 2 minutes away, metro station is also 2 mins away. the beach itself is around 20 mins away (by foot), then again its a very nice nice walk through La Rambla to the beach.

I cant remember exactly but Nou Camp is around 9 stops away via the Metro (roughly 20 mins).

I will be staying here again on my next visit to Barcelona!

Slick Certified Message

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSlick1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This hotel is a short walk from the Airport bus at Plaza de Cataluna and convenient to the port. The English speaking desk clerk was friendly and very helpful. The room was small and basic, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. Only issue for some people will be the one flight of stairs up to the elevator. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Peninsular
Hotel Peninsular
#368 of 517 in Barcelona
751 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Aneto
Hotel Aneto
#356 of 517 in Barcelona
501 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Toledano and Hostal R. Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
#357 of 517 in Barcelona
362 reviews
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
#389 of 517 in Barcelona
205 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Hotel Ciutat Vella
#219 of 517 in Barcelona
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelayo

Address: Pelai 9 | Piso 1º-1ª, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £38 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Pelayo 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Pelayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelayo Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Pelayo Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing