We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pelayo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pelayo
Ranked #349 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night stay in a quadruple room and we had a great stay. The location is great, just a few mins walk from Placa Catalunya. It felt secure, having to enter a main door, and then a further locked door on the first floor (up the lift). Our room was literally just off reception so could be noisy, but it was very clean and spacious. The only problem was 4 girls trying to get ready in one bathroom, with no mirrors in the main room itself! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    113
    64
    20
    15
See reviews for
68
64
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atene
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

perfect location a few meters from Plaza Catalunia and Rablas.
very clean room, very friendly staff, very tiny single room, free internet, no breakfast
recommended if found at a good price
no elevator for 2nd floor

Room Tip: try to find a spacious room, because the single is tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aektsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I admit it was dubious about booking this one star hotel but I'm so glad we did! Fantastic location just off La Ramblas and very close to two metro stations. Room was basic but comfortable and we had our own little balcony that was great for people watching. It was kept spotlessly clean and they changed all the sheets and towels everyday. It can be slightly noisy at night but it didnt stop us sleeping at all and you have to walk up about 15 steps before the elevator. Probably best for couples and groups of friends rather than families. All in all, absolute bargain compared to the other hotels in the area and great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma_c_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliva, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel Pelayo for three nights. Although the room and bathroom were small, they were both spotlessly clean, and the beds very comfortable. Towels were changed every day, and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful. We would stay there again. The location is excellent, very close to two metro stations and the top of La Rambla. Another bonus - we found a good, cheap restaurant nearby!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmp609042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiang rai
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I'd pre-booked with a group of ten people and when we arrived there'd been a big mix up with rooms and numbers. Only one of the group could speak any kind of Spanish, so we muddled through. The rooms were really varied in terms of quality and ambience, I shared a quadruple towards the back of the hotel which was very clean, comfortable albeit a tiny bath! Ideally located for the La Rambla and all the other touristy stuff. Maybe 3 is a bit harsh, 3.5 more likely a fairer rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterpist0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

I visited Barcelona November 2012 and decided to stay at Hotel Pelayo, due to price and location. We knew we wont be in the hotel much so we went for this hotel even tho it is rated at 1 star.

Now don't be fooled by this, this hotel can easily be a 2 star +. it was very clean, bed sheets changed regularly and also very friendly staff. for the price your paying i don't think you will get a better service and also end up in a hot spot like this.

La Rambla is 2 minutes away, metro station is also 2 mins away. the beach itself is around 20 mins away (by foot), then again its a very nice nice walk through La Rambla to the beach.

I cant remember exactly but Nou Camp is around 9 stops away via the Metro (roughly 20 mins).

I will be staying here again on my next visit to Barcelona!

Slick Certified Message

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSlick1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
#375 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Aneto
Hotel Aneto
#341 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Toledano and Hostal R. Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Marvi
Hotel Marvi
#298 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
El Raval
Grupotel Gravina
Grupotel Gravina
#228 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#163 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelayo

Property: Hotel Pelayo
Address: Pelai 9 | piso 1º-1ª, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Pelayo 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pelayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelayo Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Pelayo Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing