We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the star rating”
Review of Hotel Pelayo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pelayo
Ranked #357 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is located very central and its just a few mins walk from Placa Catalunya. We took the Aerobus from the airport and got us to there in under 40 mins and it stops right outside the El Corte Ingles department store. Its very convenient.

The hotel is on the first floor of a big building and you need to buzz in. Next door there is a pharmacy and a small cafe takeaway. Its worth going there for breakfast as its cheap and tasty croissants and churros!

The staff were very friendly and gave us a big room for the first 2 nights (meant for 4). We found it was spacious but it was a bit noisy as it was situated next to reception. The final night, we were in a twin room. The room is small but it was clean and equipped with everything from kettle to hairdryer.

The lady behind the reception did not speak English, however, when I ask about whether she can help me as my shoulder bag broke. She got her needles and thread out and did her magic. My bag is still intact and the sewing was good. Thanks to her.

Room Tip: If you want some quieter room, not 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EllyLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the Easter weekend. Room was small and basic. However it had free air conditioning, wifi and tea and coffee making facilities. It was also very clean. I would stay here again, for the price paid it was a bargain. The staff were also friendly.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Honey003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and staff were extremely helpful even when we arrived nearly 12 hours early due to a last minute change of flight time. Even though the rooms were not ready as it was before check in time and we were expected till late that night they kept our bags for us and even offered us a room to freshen up in just off the reception. All the staff were very helpful and printed tickets we had booked online for us etc. Room itself was perfect. It had a tv, safe, our own bathroom and two single beds as requested. The room was cleaned daily. Beds were extremely comfortable and they had extra blankets and pillows in the wardrobe. Location was again perfect close to metros and the main street. Very easy to find as the aerobus brought us to plaza catalunya and it was on one of the main streets across from it. Will definitely come back to this hotel - staff made it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget28Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just got back from BCN after staying at Hotel Pelayo with my boyfriend. If you're looking for a cheap city break hotel this is the one for you! Perfect location, clean and safe! Very helpful staff, would return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great location and very friendly staff, as I had travelled on my own it was ideal.

Use of a computer is available at one euro for 30 minutes which I found very useful.

The subway system is very easy to use but I wouldn't buy day passes online, as trying to redeem the voucher proved impossible and given my Spanish is very poor no one could assist me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Amazing hotel. Me and my brother (20-23) jus got bk, its right next to plaza catalunya, and ramblas, all action, allways busy, and always somthing to do. But its far enuff for you to sleep.

Helpful staff, 24 reception, so always somone to help if stuck.

The rolm was spotless, amazing ac, nice small shower, and cleaned everyday!

All my belongings wer safe, at one point i left €200 out, an my new fone and forgot, but when i got back, the room was cleaned, and money and phone exactly wer i left it.

To some it up, amazing, see you next year!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vijay9290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We travelled with two children and had a room for four. Could not fault the room in any way - everything you needed. Stayed in higher rated hotels with less - there was a safe, tv and hairdryer... Central location and very clean hotel with friendly staff. Daily room cleaning and clean towels. Would not hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kesthebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Aneto
Hotel Aneto
#364 of 520 in Barcelona
503 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Peninsular
Hotel Peninsular
#377 of 520 in Barcelona
753 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Hotel Ciutat Vella
#214 of 520 in Barcelona
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#244 of 520 in Barcelona
538 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Ingles
Hotel Ingles
#371 of 520 in Barcelona
389 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#399 of 520 in Barcelona
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelayo

Address: Pelai 9 | Piso 1º-1ª, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £40 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Pelayo 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Pelayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelayo Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Pelayo Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing