We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time and money, try other less commerical grills”

Happy Rock Bar&Grill
Reserve with
Happy Rock Bar&Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,236 of 9,594 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$4 - US$17
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Description: Located in a unique architectural environment such as is the Mall "Las Arenas de Barcelona" and one of the most important tourist points of the city, HAPPY ROCK is a restaurant where you will find good food, live music and unforgettable moments. Artist of recognized career in Catalonia are common guest in our local, reason why HAPPY ROCK has become a benchmark of good music and high quality cuisine.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Waste of time and money, try other less commerical grills”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

From the onset the whole experience was a dampner. Arrived to be given the english only menu (not being asked if we would like the full menu as I can speak Spanish yet it was assumed none of us could). The Menu was limited and and expensive around 15 euro for a simple pasta dish. The food came out at different intervals, some members of the party had finished before others arrived.

Ordered Nachos which was off the "starter" menu which arrived with the mains and we were told only at that point that they all come together. I had the fajitas, the beef was chewy, there was no spice or flavouring on the actual fajita mix itself, the salad and sauces were minimal and only filled two fajitas out of a possible 5. The pasta dishes were poor and lacked flavour and of course fries, salads and other bits were all classed as "extras" and not cheap extras either.

Drinks were expensive (11euro for a glass of wine) and our water came ranging from one bottle of freezing cold to one very warm water.

The service was terrible, it was difficult to get the attention of anybody in the restaurant and when we did we were met with a rushed waiter who insisted in calling us "girls" a term me and my friends weren't too pleased with.

From looking around all other guests seemed to be having the same issues with the food itself and the service. Such a shame it was my friends' last night in barcelona and we had this little hiccup but never again. Go to a real bar and grill.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    119
    62
    36
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never Eat Here”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hostess was very iniviting at first but as soon as you sit down the service goes downhill. They couldnt get the orders right and when we asked them to fix them they gave us a really hard time and poor service the rest of the visit. They never asked if we wanted refills and when we were done our meal we had to ask the hostess for the bill because our waitress kept avoiding our table on purpose. Then the hostess gave us an over-exhadurated eye roll and with extreme attitude proceeded to tell our waitress we wanted our bill. Even then it took our waitress a very very very very long time to bring the bill AND it was wrong!!!!!!! At this point we were fed up and paid the bill and left without tipping. sooo.... NEVER EAT HERE!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Terrible service, gross food.”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I attended here with some friends in April. We ordered drinks and when we were brought the wrong orders, we informed the waitress of the mixup. She tried to tell us first that no that was what we ordered, when that failed she attempted to convince us it was practically the same as what we ordered. From then on we were constantly ignored and had to wave our arms around to get any sort of attention from the waitress. We waited on our food for 30 minutes. Very mediocre food, not worth the 20 or so euros we paid each. Greasy garbage. When we asked if we could please have the bill the hostess rolled her eyes, I have never seen a service employee that rude in my entire life. We were ignored for several more minutes and considered just leaving. Eventually we were brought the bill in which we were charged for the drinks we didn't order. We left without tipping a penny and in complete shock of what a disgusting place this was. Avoid at all costs.

Helpful?
1 Thank amlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
270 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Luckily we never read the negative reviews before we ate here, as our experience was 100% positive.
We enjoyed the meat, fish, salads, tapas, the children's menu, the live music and the service.
Prices are fair as well.

The location on the map is incorrect... The restaurant is on the 5th level of the Arena shopping center on Place Espanya.

Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, brilliant service and live football”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Me and a few friends spotted Happy Rock towards the end of our trip to Barcelona and it's a shame as I would have eaten their every single day. From two visits, Happy Rock has become one of my favourite restaurants in Barcelona.

The location is ideal (right opposite Fira Möntjuic in Plaça Espanya square inside the Las Arenas mall) and the range of food is superb. From tapas and starters to an array of cocktails, grills, seafood, vegetarian and amazing deserts, the menu has something to satisfy everyone.

It's in a great location and afterwards I recommend taking the escalators just outside up to the viewing deck which has some breathtaking views.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nirave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Happy Rock Bar&Grill also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Happy Rock Bar&Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing