We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing - best meal of our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Lubina

La Lubina
Reserve with
La Lubina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #715 of 9,317 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Eixample
wales
Level Contributor
182 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing - best meal of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I did my research beforehand and booked this restaurant online before we arrived in Barcelona.
We arrived at 8pm (late eating for us.....exceptionally early for locals). We had already decided that we were going for the house speciality, the sea-bass. Excellent choice.
We were shown to our window seat table, spotlessy clean.
The sea-bass set meal was amazing and excellent value!!!! For a mere £40 a head we shared several delicious tapas dishes, the most amazing sea bass cooked in salt - has to be seen to be believed. Filleted at the table,with a spoon and a fork! - the waitress did an amazing job - not a single bone reached our plate. Even the desserts where incredible (and i'm not that much of a fan of Spanish desserts). On top of all this we also had a bottle of water, a bottle of delicious wine plus tomato bread and olives for a pre-starter. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Barca - my husband said it was in his top 3 meals of all time! Praise indeed, I think.

The only downside was that we were the only people there as this did tend to spoil the atmosphere somewhat. In fact it turned out we were the only clients in that night and they had opened the restaurant just for us. They had been exceptionally busy at lunchtime as it was mainly locals, but we were there the day after their bank holiday (Sant Juan) and that is a very quiet time for restaurants in the centre as opposed to by the beach (according to our waitress)

Do not hesitate, visit La Lubina

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reneixe, Propietario at La Lubina, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Kyla,
Thank you very much for your comment. We like to hear that our specialty, sea bass, was to his liking. Also I take this opportunity to thank her husband for the good consideration that he has of us!
Best regards,
La Lubina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    89
    17
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent place for seafood. Especially Christina is so helpful person. Good and fast service. Best one in Barcelona.

Helpful?
Thank Neversay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reneixe, Propietario at La Lubina, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Neversay
Thanks a lot for your kind review and your comment about the service. In fact, we are so happy with Cristina.
Best regards,
La Lubina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This restaurant is away from the main tourist areas and attractions, close to the hospital clinic metro station, but is well worth seeking out if you enjoy seafood.
The restaurant is light and airy, nicely decorated, well laid out with crisp white tablecloths and spotlessly clean.
We ate at dinner,with a reservation via their web page, the couple of outside tables were taken with a group of locals, inside was a mix of tourists and locals, we were given our reserved table by the window.
The menu was extensive with so many good sounding options, so we selected the set menu, which included mineral water, bread and a very good wine. The menu consisted of a series of shared plates, seafood salad, octopus, calamari, serrano ham on tomato bread, fried fish, followed by the main of baked seabass in salt, which was perfect, filited and served at the table without a bone in sight. Dessert selections were good followed by coffee.
Service was faultless, friendly, informative and well paced.
If you enjoy top class seafood with good service at a reasonable price come here and avoid the tourist traps. This restaurant cares about its customers and genuinly asks for feedback.
We will return on our next visit to Barcelona.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wales2g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reneixe, Propietario at La Lubina, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Wales
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are delighted to ear that our restaurant has been to his liking, and even more if you saying that you will come and see us again!
Best regards,
La Lubina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic lunch...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Another fantastic meal in a local restaurant away from the tourists...everything about thus restaurant us just right .....the service,the cleanliness,the food.....classical restaurant where everything us just right.
Thank you....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reneixe, Propietario at La Lubina, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Elizabeth,
Thank you very much for your comment and the time you spent writing it.
Your opinion is very important and helps us know what we need to improve and what satisfies our customers.
Best regards,
La Lubina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I ate here at about 2pm during a recent trip to Barcelona to celebrate my sisters birthday. Beautifully fresh and bright interior, charming and helpful staff (professional not overbearing!). We shared a range of hot and cold starters from the set menus. My main was the tuna tataki, I had to try and eat it slowly as it was so good. We also shared a range of desserts and they were all good. My favourite was the local almond cake. I had a couple of glasses of the good quality house white which was crisp and refreshing on a hot day. For a relaxed afternoons eating and drinking at a very reasonable price I couldn't fault it. Located away from the main tourist haunts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reneixe, Propietario at La Lubina, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you very much for your comment.
We are very interested to hear your opinion and what things have you liked our hotel, so I greatly appreciate the time you spent writing your review.
Hope to see you again,
La Lubina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Lubina also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Lubina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing