We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia
Ranked #119 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just back from a busy but good holiday at the Princesa Sofia Hotel. We stayed in a Comfort room which was more than adequate for our needs - we were so busy sightseeing each day that we were glad of a comfy bed! The room was very clean and tidied each day. The bathroom was also well supplied with towels and mini toiletries.
The staff were all very welcoming and happy to help if we needed it. There is a good range of food laid out at breakfast - I'm going to miss having fresh pastries each day!
I only managed to try out the swimming pool once but found it very relaxing - you'll find the gym and pool on the lower ground floor. It's free to hotel guests but you will need a euro for the locker. The photos also don't show but you will be provided with a swim cap to wear in the pool. There are also flip flops in the changing rooms which you will want to use if you want to head outside into the garden.
Although the hotel is located away from the centre of Barcelona, it is very easy to travel on the metro and only takes about 10 minutes. The ticket machines are also easy to use and have the option to buy travel cards fro 2, 3 and 5 days.
We didn't eat at the hotel for dinner, but there are a couple of restaurants just across the road. Plus, if you wander along the road for 5 minutes, you will find plenty of shopping centres and restaurants.
Overall a great stay at the hotel - many thanks!

Room Tip: We were happy enough with our room - only tip I could offer is to make use of the mini bar. The drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    577
    241
    83
    30
See reviews for
338
435
92
532
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
columbus
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Three nights here was enough so we spent the next three at a B&B in the city center. This hotel has nice amenities, but for what you pay there should not be additional fees to use the pool, nor should a couple be given a room with two twin beds pushed together to make a king. Other guests at check-in were arguing about the extra fees and misleading promotional rates from the website. I don't have the facts on that, but when I finally got to the desk the hotel employee greeted me nicely, said my colleagues would be glad to help you, and abruptly ran off. I never had that happen even in a fleabag hotel in the states. It seems to me when there is a line waiting for a room the front desk staff should not go on a break. I asked the woman who finally checked us in about that, and she said he had other tasks. Who heard of a hotel where the staff have higher priorities than the first impression of their guests?
The food quality here is very good but you can find great by getting on the metro. Definitely buy a T10 metro pass to ride the trains or busses. The concierge has very good dining recommendations and will give you a top-ten things to do in Barcelona detailed listing that we found very helpful. The bedding was very comfortable, view was outstanding from the 15th floor, and staff friendly other than the check-in. Everything is a train ride as walking distance destinations are exhausted in a day.

Room Tip: upper floor rooms facing east have great views of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autostick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

the hotel gran princesa sofia is amazing, the staff extremely helpful and very friendley making the staff a brilliant one, even providing my husband with a suprise birthday cake, the food and the bars are fantastic and overhall a brillilant experience will remember for a very long time, we would definately go back to this hotel if we return to barcelona and will recommend it to all our family and friends

Room Tip: we enjoyed our room with a view of the nou camp
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendygillott21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Whole staff were great and warm, room/bathroom's kept clean and linens kept fresh. The only downside is that it's far from City Centers but the subway station is nearby so it made it easy for us to go around Barcelona and catch our tours. Few shopping areas, supermarket and restaurants nearby as well, more quiet and pleasant to browse around than City Center in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We got a one bedroom suite which has plenty of room and a great bed. The room has a few small damage marks and may be considered somewhat outdated. It was spotless. Carlos at the front desk was very kind and helpful. Our room came with Club Access where we could help ourselves to drinks and snacks. Located close to the stadium, public transportation, and the city tour trolley. We are happy with this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cagking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The staff here are wonderful. So friendly, warm and helpful. Special mention to Pedro the doorman for great advice on places to go and the wonderful man in the bar (sorry, name has slipped my mind) who made fabulous mojitos!
The hotel itself is not flashy but it is certainly clean and very comfortable. The location is very convenient with a metro station, public buses, taxis and red bus stop all within 2 minutes walk. The breakfast was excellent and the free wifi strong and consistent.
Would recommend to anyone visiting the city and hope to stay here again one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Accidental_Tourist48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a 5 star hotel in facilities with generally really helpful and frindly staff who make an extra effort for you. Even when we had to check out for the airport at 5am they had complimentary coffee in the lobby for us.

What it isn't - this is not a luxury hotel. If you want to feel you are one of the ricj and famous you will be dissapointaed as some reviews are. Yes some furniture has a few chips and the vanity sink plug in our room blocked as those in sink plugs tend to but the room was spacious and towels large and plentiful.

Possible con - it's away from the heart of the old/ tourist district. Cheap to reach by taxi (11 to 13 Euro depending on how hones your taxi driver is. The over 50's seemed much more honest and didn't take us longer ways. Beware- one young buck took us such a long route it was double the usual fee. We didnt pay that and reported him). Subway is also nearby and was very cheap and efficient

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#127 of 514 in Barcelona
721 reviews
Les Corts
Catalonia Rigoletto
Catalonia Rigoletto
#212 of 514 in Barcelona
538 reviews
Les Corts
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
#237 of 514 in Barcelona
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Residence
Majestic Residence
#332 of 514 in Barcelona
162 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Stadium
NH Barcelona Stadium
#200 of 514 in Barcelona
685 reviews
Hotel Upper Diagonal
#47 of 514 in Barcelona
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia

Property: Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia
Address: Plaza Pio XII 4, 08034 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first 5* hotel in the city, this emblematic luxury retreat forms part of the history of Barcelona and bristles with tales around national and international royalty and important figures from the world of politics, culture and entertainment who have been amongst its guests. Perfectly located on the famous Avinguda Diagonal - in the noble financial district of the city - it is only a 5 minute walk away from Camp Nou football stadium, home of the legendary FC Barcelona, and a mere 12km from the airport. Its 500 timelessly elegant rooms are all exterior-facing and offer - from the 9th floor up - magnificent panoramic views of the Catalan capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Expo Hoteles, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Princesa Sofia
Princess Sofia Barcelona
Princess Sofia Hotel Barcelona
Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing