We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor, but that's about it”
Review of Ofelias Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ofelias Hotel
Ranked #120 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice decor, but that's about it”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Rooms ok sized and we had a superior, not sure what the others were like. Rooms were clean and those not facing the street were very quiet. Shower water temperature was very variable which is really not acceptable for 180 Euro a night. Position close to Metro and its easy to get about. Skip the breakfast (not great) and rather find an interesting local breakfast place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ploppyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    179
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
50
301
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Positives - Great location with the aerobus & Placa Espanya station giving easy access to anything a tourist would want to visit in Barcelona (including the excellent Montserrat monastery), friendly & helpful staff, nice relaxation area on the roof (tho we didn't try the pool), next to the bull ring shopping centre with plenty of shops, bars & restaurants, Cleanlines of hotel and accommodating rooms.

Negatives - lack of tea/coffee making facilties (although they provided facilties when asked at reception), lack of communication when i emailed the hotel.

All in all i would stay here when i visit the fantastic city of Barcelona again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitman p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The room is a reasonable size if a bit austere and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom requires a high degree of intimacy with the person sharing (why are so many hotels now doing this?) The location is quite good with easy access to the metro and some reasonable restaurants in the development opposite. However it is the almost complete absence of facilities within the hotel which makes the four star rating a bit of a joke. The "restaurant" is only open to provide a fairly basic breakfast (the hot food was cold every day) so it was not possible to just sit and have a drink or even a coffee in what is a quite attractive albeit small lobby. While there is a good WiFi connection it was odd to find that i could not arrange to have tickets or boarding passes printed out which is something I have never had a problem with in other hotels with a lesser star rating. So while it is a reasonable place to stay the star rating is very misleading.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Overall a lovely boutique hotel. The lightwell where the lifts are situated, running through the centre of the hotel is beautiful. The room was great, very comfortable beds and a good powerful waterfall shower. Breakfast was more than adequate, catering for most tastes, with cereal alongside the typical European continental spread. Very friendly and helpful staff on the front desk, assisting with directions and any queries. Small but quiet rooftop pool which we always managed to get a sunbed on after long days of tourist activities.

The location is excellent, very close to the spectacular museum of art building with the famous fountains of light (only at weekends and a must see). There is the Espanya meto station directly outside which serves all of the main attractions including Catalunya station at the top of la rambles and dressanes at the port at the bottom.

We had a lovely and relaxing break and would without doubt stay here again if we return to Barcelona. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have recently got back from Barcelona and whilst we had a great time I wouldn't recommend the hotel. We got a cheap deal through British Airways so I didn't mind too much about some of the issues as we hadn't paid a lot of money. If I had paid the hotels walk in rate I would be fuming!

Good bits
-Great location for the Spanish village, fountains and bull ring shopping centre. It is also a 2 minute walk to a metro station so you can be in the gothic area within 20 minutes.
- The decor is modern and nice.

Bad points
- Prior to arriving I checked the hotel website and they had a "privilege offer" for people staying for 3+ days and that you needed to contact the hotel for more info. I emailed the hotel and sent 2 chaser emails but did not receive a response. The offer also disappeared from the website the day after I sent the original email. This is poor customer service in my opinion.
- We were fully expecting the pool to be small as we new it was a roof top terrace pool. What I wasn't expecting was the water to be so dirty. It was very cloudy and had clumps of hair and a plaster floating in it.
- The rooms don't have any tea or coffee making facilities.
- the rooms are very " intimate" with both the shower and toilet being in the bed room and each behind a glass door and a blinds around the sink. This is fine and more and more hotels are doing it however there is usually a solid wall or door around the toilet. At least they could have used sound proofed glass! Also because of where the large mirror is in the bedroom you can see exactly what someone is up to in the bathroom area in the reflection even if the blinds are shut.
- considering the hotel isn't very old there was a lot of mould on the ceiling above the shower.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Homeiswhereilaymyhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We treated ourselves via secret escapes and we loved it!
Location excellent- central to placa espanya. Walking distance to aerobus, tour bus and metro lines. Superb base for sightseeing. Very easy to get to- catch aerobus 1 to placa espanya and cross over to tapas tapas and its round the corner.

Rooms- clean and light- disappointed not have a balcony on 3rd floor. Rooms didn't score 5 due to twin beds being pushed together!. Beds comfy. Mini bar nice touch but does overheat if door left closed. View disappointing- back of derelict properties- kept blinds shut.
Shower- beautiful rain shower with large shower area. Complimentary toiletries topped up daily along with towel change.

Breakfast- suitable choices, hot and continental. Topped up regularly. Only 1 person serving and clearing so if you timed it wrong u could end up sitting a dirty table. We went down about 10 and had a peaceful breakfast.

Pool- very small- cant really swim lengths. More for a chill out and dip. Bar service available from phone. Be mindful of spectators- people can see you in the pool from the arena across the way.
Lounge chairs are nice, with extra pillows available. Midday to early afternoon it tended to be quieter.

Service-no complaints- always said hi and bye at reception and seemed willing to help. Check in and out was smooth albeit I forgot about city tax.

Overall pleased with hotel and price paid, first time to Barcelona and I would go back again and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fu_shar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

1st time to Barcelona and we were welcomed very nicely by Ofelias. The staff was friendly. Great location for peace and quiet at night, near public transport, near Montjuic, Plaza de Espana. Clean, comfortable, and attractive. Would love to stay here again! Barcelona is a great city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vesabNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#61 of 512 in Barcelona
2,208 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#38 of 512 in Barcelona
2,251 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#11 of 512 in Barcelona
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#71 of 512 in Barcelona
627 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#94 of 512 in Barcelona
990 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#28 of 512 in Barcelona
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ofelias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ofelias Hotel

Property: Ofelias Hotel
Address: Calle de Llanca 24, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#73 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#90 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ofelias Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We present the new destination for the most demanding guests. We invite you to discover the most "chic" Barcelona in the new space with flavor of the city, designed by the interior designer Lázaro Rosa Violán.All Ofelias Hotel services are designed to provide maximum comfort and the essence of the Slow-philosophy (slow travel, good life). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ofelias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ofelias Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing