We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Service”
Review of Ofelias Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ofelias Hotel
Ranked #112 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing Service”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I prepaid for my reservation through a hotel booking source in August for a September stay. Although the stay was nice, upon return, I discovered a charge on my Amex which turned out to be a duplicate reservation. The reservations were booked under the same last name and same dates and credit card. When we checked into the hotel, nobody asked about the 2nd reservation under the same name. They charged us an additional night as a "no-show" and would not accept that this was a clear mistake. We don't know how they ended up with 2 reseravtions, but this hotel would not work toward a positive solution.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 2014luv2travel_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    179
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
50
297
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Super boutique hotel with a price tag that reflects its out of centre location. However, a two minute walk takes you to Metro and airport bus stop. Rooms have beautiful decor, there is quiet air conditioning, powerful rainforest shower and very comfortable beds. We didn't try breakfast as there are much cheaper alternatives in the many cafés and restaurants around the hotel. Very friendly, helpful staff. Lovely rooftop pool. We would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back for total peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillybobsGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Still checked in at this moment! Very nice setting, trendy decor, clean! Helpfull staff. Free bike rental...good location. Not city central, but good metro connections. Ramblas 15min on foot.Small but nice pool, refreshing even in april. Rooms a bit hot,, only small point of comment.
We Will return on the next trip.

Room Tip: Of you want to sleep with An open window, don't book a room on the street Side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Visited this lovely hotel for my birthday and didn't disappoint! Nothing was too much trouble very nice room and great bathroom! Would definitely recommend it. Near to bars restaurants, buses and taxi.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KentSaracen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from staying in this lovely hotel for 3 nights the rooms are a really good size and nice and clean what a great shower the receptionist was very friendly and helpful when we asked any questions the breakfast was ok continental and scrambled eggs bacon and sausages on the hot plate but they were just warm the location is excellent very good for the metro and the aero bus and a big shopping centre there are also plenty of bars and restaurants near would definitely recommend this hotel if going to Barcelona

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 185diane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have just returned from a short break in Barcelona. The Hotel Ofelias is very nicely appointed but my stay was somewhat spoilt by the attitude of management towards a couple of issues. There were problems with the safe in the bedroom (apparently a problem with many of them) and it required a person with a key every time we wanted to open it. Secondly, the room was incredibly hot and airless. The air conditioning was not switched on and therefore we had to sleep with the window open. It was very noisy and meant sleep during the 3 days was in very short supply. This was mentioned daily to staff on reception and even on their own admission the room was exceptionally hot The day before we left, we were offered another room but we were literally on our way out for the day and did not expect to back until late , so we declined the offer but requested that the inconvenience was reflected in the bill. What a joke - we were offered 20 euros off the bill. The receptionist was embarrassed and in a very difficult position as this was definitely not satisfactory. We suggested a figure of 20 Euros a night as a gesture to acknowledge our poor experience and asked to see a manager. We arranged a time to meet back at the hotel but no manager came and the receptionist had to inform us that the owner Senora Bondia was not prepared to make any further adjustment. In terms of management style it was appalling that nobody supported the receptionist who was definitely very anxious about dealing with the situation. As we didnt want to upset her further and had a plane to catch, we had no alternative but to pay the bill.

Customer care can make or break an experience or a reputation - the situation could have been dealt with so easily but as it was, it was grossly mishandled I am left with a poor opinion of this hotel and could not recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and check the air con and safe are working at the outset
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 19Beaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

First impressions of The Ofrlias Hotel is a great looking boutique find, we arrived to a good welcome but sadly due to the airconditioning not being switched on we had three nights of no sleep ,the room was so hot and with the window open very noisy, when we complained we were told the air condoning was due to be commissioned.
This did not happen during our stay,when we complained on our departure though the receptionist tried to be as helpful as possible the manager was not available to speak to us, by way of compensation we were offered the reduction of a bottle of wine off the bill. We felt this was very poor compensation for our lack of sleep and leaving the receptionist to sort this delicate situation out was very bad management.
This lack of customer care on our departure left a very sour taste to our othwise fantastic trip to Barcelona a wonderful city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#61 of 514 in Barcelona
2,170 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
2,223 reviews
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#75 of 514 in Barcelona
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#10 of 514 in Barcelona
210 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#93 of 514 in Barcelona
983 reviews
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
#208 of 514 in Barcelona
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ofelias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ofelias Hotel

Property: Ofelias Hotel
Address: Calle de Llanca 24, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#73 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ofelias Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We present the new destination for the most demanding guests. We invite you to discover the most "chic" Barcelona in the new space with flavor of the city, designed by the interior designer Lázaro Rosa Violán.All Ofelias Hotel services are designed to provide maximum comfort and the essence of the Slow-philosophy (slow travel, good life). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ofelias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ofelias Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing