We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic hotel with a very nice design”
Review of Ofelias Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ofelias Hotel
Ranked #186 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just spent two nights at this wonderful hotel. Astonishing well designed interior, small but very nice rooftop pool and very friendly staff. On the negative side, the breakfast buffet was limited and the water in the showers shifting from steaming hot to cold.

The hotel is situated just outside the heart of Barcelona. 250 m from a sightseeing bus stop and just opposite a large modern shopping mall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Also, ask the staff for tips. They are very friendly and nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaksson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location, very close to the bus stop from the airport and Montjuic. Very slick inertia and a beautiful smell every time you walked in. The bedroom was lovely (modern with a classic twist) huge bed with crisp sheets, amazing rain shower. Although on the down side we had asked for a terrace / balcony but none available. The shower whilst amazing, did keep going very hot and then freezing cold. The staff could have been a bit more friendly. Not once did anyone ask how our stay was, they barely greeted us as we walked in or said goodbye when we left. Everything was very efficient and professional, however the service did lack a little warmth. A welcome drink was included in our stay, nothing was said about this until we asked, and then it did feel like we were being cheap for asking. It turned out it was in the room. Perhaps it would have made a difference if we had eaten breakfast there but we wanted to get out early each day and as it wasn't included preferred to try different cafe's in the sun. Shame there wasn't somewhere to get or make a coffee when you got back from the day out. On the whole it did the job, clean, great location, easy to find, stylish, good wifi, so no complaint, but don't expect the Spanish warmth you might experience in other boutique hotels and Spanish guesthouses.

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace overlooking the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greenwhich_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I'm always slightly nervous that a hotel will be all it says it will be, especially when traveling to Europe. To ensure we got exactly what we wanted, I emailed the hotel 6 weeks ahead of our trip to ask for a room with a balcony and a king bed (as opposed to 2 beds pushed together). We arrived several hours before scheduled check in and were speedily provided our room just as we requested! It was clean, comfortable and convenient to metro. Per other reviews, the AC did work. Just had to fiddle with the control box. The breakfast was also lovely - though they tried to charge us an extra day's but removed the charge once I questioned. The listed photos are very accurate as to what you can expect. Great stay!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stunning looking interior. Large room with very comfortable bed. Very clean. Modern bathroom with lovely rainfall shower. We had a balcony where the sun streamed in during the afternoon so we could sit & sunbathe in the privacy of our room.
Location was great. First stop on the Aerobus from the airport drops you off very close. Same place to get on the Hop On/Off bus. We had a 2 day pass which was brilliant. The Majic Fountains are a couple of minutes walk. The shopping mall opposite has a supermarket on the ground floor. We bought wine & snacks & ate in our room one sunny afternoon. They were happy that we used the minibar fridge to store our own food & drink. There top floor of the mall has lots of restaurants & gives great 360 views both day and night.
The hotel is a fair walk to La Ramblas, but we used the hop on/off bus.
BBC News is the only English speaking tv channel.
We did not need the air conditioning as we slept with the French doors open, some may find this noisy.
the shower has random scolding blasts.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel on third floor with balcony. not all rooms have balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyq7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We are experienced world travelers in our 60's. We normally stay in 4.5-5 star properties. The only reason we did not give Ofelias 5 stars was because they had no face cloths , turn down service nor luggage help. That being said, the hotel was great. Modern, stylish, clean, great location. Breakfast was very good. The staff was very helpful. Nice pool and terrace. Lovely all around! We will stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marie G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is a very lovely boutique hotel in a great location close to the metro and across the road from a shopping mall, getting around the city was really easy.
My husband and I had a slight issue when checking in, went into our room upon arrival and had been disappointed to see we had been given 2 singles beds pushed together, I went back to reception to request a double bed and only after a while of trying to negotiate a one did she agree to offer us a room with one.
However that was the only setback to this trip. The hotel was very clean and modern with our room very spacious. The toilet/shower area didn't offer much privacy as it wasn't like a normal bathroom, but we didn't mind that. The only other thing was the room gets quite steamy and hot when you are showering and also the AC did not seem to be working throughout our stay. I've read other reviews and a few have said the same thing. We did mention this to reception but nothing was done about it.
The breakfast was ok, not much of a selection but it kept us full for pretty much most of the day!
The receptionist was really helpful and suggested we go to this sushi place around a mile away - Ikibana, we are so glad we went as the food was delicious as were the cocktails we tried!
All in all I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HKG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked two nights through a Secret Escapes promotion which meant we only paid £100 per night per room. If we had paid the normal rate i have to say i don't think it would be worth it. There is no bar or food services in the hotel, only breakfast at €19 which i thought was expensive.
The rooftop pool only has a few beds but is a real sun trap. Room was really nice and modern, very clean. The only problem we had was with the water in the shower giving us sudden bursts of hot water! Well located for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyAshUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Advance
Hotel Advance
#319 of 516 in Barcelona
365 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#58 of 516 in Barcelona
2,309 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#41 of 516 in Barcelona
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#49 of 516 in Barcelona
374 reviews
Hotel Rekord
#287 of 516 in Barcelona
250 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#84 of 516 in Barcelona
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ofelias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ofelias Hotel

Address: Calle de Llanca 24, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#73 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £66 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ofelias Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We present the new destination for the most demanding guests. We invite you to discover the most "chic" Barcelona in the new space with flavor of the city, designed by the interior designer Lázaro Rosa Violán.All Ofelias Hotel services are designed to provide maximum comfort and the essence of the Slow-philosophy (slow travel, good life). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ofelias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ofelias Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing