We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm in bustling Barcelona”
Review of Ofelias Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ofelias Hotel
Ranked #122 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in bustling Barcelona”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the Ofelias for three nights at the end of July and really to criticise it would be churlish. The staff and welcome were excellent, the room, small but charming and with a balcony overlooking the street (a relatively quiet side road). The breakfast beautifully presented and with a good selection of hot and cold choices - more than enough.
Only minor downside is that the location is a just that little bit too far from the city center to walk and there's not a huge variety of restaurants and bars nearby. Other than that, it's a great, stylish little hotel.

Room Tip: Front of hotel with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsDuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    182
    36
    11
    8
See reviews for
50
306
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My best friend and I stayed here for three nights at the start of August and we loved it.
As soon as you walked in you were greeted with a gorgeous reception/lobby area which had a divine smell and we were greeted warmly by the staff.

I emailed the hotel a few weeks before our trip to see if we could have a room with a terrace which was no problem. The room was fantastic, and the bed and pillows were amazingly comfy! I would return to the hotel for the bedding alone! The terrace looked out to the street down below and the restaurants which you would think would be noisy but the doors shut all of it out which was a bonus. The rainfall shower was powerful and a nice little extra to the room but the only thing I would say about it was that after you had got out there would be a small puddle of water from where it had leaked through. The bathroom may have not had a door but it didn't create a problem.

The pool was a saviour after spending hours out in the heat doing touristy things.

Breakfasts in the morning we thought were average. It might have been the time we went down to breakfast but every morning there wouldn't be a lot out on the counters and only once did we get asked for our room number or if we would like tea/coffee. On the only occasion we did get asked, the lady asked us for our room number three times, probably because she couldn't get her head around the fact someone had already given our room number.The breakfast area was very pretty but the service didn't really exceed our expectations.

Getting to the hotel from the airport was quick and simple, we got on the A1 aerobus, got off at the first stop and was at the hotel within 30 minutes. From the hotel it was a 5 minute walk to the nearest underground station 'Espanya' which was really handy getting into the city centre (around 10 minutes) and the shopping centre right accross the road from the hotel was also a little perk.

Overall I would definitiely stay again at this hotel, although we only stayed for a few days it was an amazing short break. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel was such a wonderful haven of cool tranquility. A perfect place to return to after a day of sightseeing in the city of Barcelona. Love start to the day too with the excellent breakfasts. It is so unusual with it's modern lifts and traditional decoration. Beds are very comfortable and staff very helpful. It is so convenient that it is next to Espanya metro station. The spectacular fountain display is just a short walk away. We loved it. I'm sure anyone would too. The airport bus stop is a short walk away and there are shops nearby too. I would love to return.

Room Tip: Our room had a window seat and looked out the back of the hotel. This gave us lots to look at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaClayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This trip was a surprise for my 40th birthday from my husband..he's never booked a trip away before bad I was totally impressed with his choice of hotel. My first impression when walking into the reception area was wow it's stunning.the reception staff were lovely and very helpful. Our room was 201 beautiful room, very clean, shower was very powerful, great space.
Breakfast was great everything I wanted, my husband had the cooked, he said it was ok, wasn't keen on the sausage and bacon but scrambled egg was lovely.. The roof top pool was a lovely touch, lovely to relax for an hour after a long day walking round, towels were provided. The hotel was about a 25 min walk from la rambles, but it's a lovely walk, but if you'd rather not the metro system is very close . There are some lovely restaurants close by, and a shopping centre which has restaurant too.. The hotel is on a quiet street.. Perfect boutique style hotel, with a mix of vintage and modern, if I came to Barcelona again I'd stay here. Thank you for a perfect stay :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cwnitwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed in ofelias for one week this August 2014 as a single girl travelling alone. The hotel itself is stylish and clean. The staff are very helpful. The location is ideal and very functional. It is just off place espanya where you can get trains and metros to anywhere in the city. There is a fantastic shopping centre situated directly opposite the hotel that has everything you need. I.e. A Supermarket on the bottom floor and if you are looking for anything electrical etc there is a store called FNAC on the same floor. If you are flying to Barcelona El Prat you can get the Train from the airport and get off at Barcelona sants station which is just north of place espanya. You can walk to the hotel from Sants. It is very easy to get around the metro but my advise would be to print off a copy before your trip and study it to get your bearings first. A good day trip is Monserrat mountain. You can get a train every hour from place espanya and it takes one hour. You can go to the top by funicular or cable car. The views are superb. Other great attractions are parc guell, montjuic the gothic quarters. There is a great outdoor party called picnique electronic every Sunday in the summer in a park up montjuic. Tickets €13 from 1pm. International dj's play each week. If you are going to the beach avoid barcalonetta and Sebastien as they are the busiest.There are much nicer, cleaner beaches if you go north past port Olympic. There are kiosks along the beachfront selling ice creams and drinks however if you just step off into a side street drinks and ice creams are much cheaper in the local mini markets. A fantastic restaurant is "Petra". Found in the "El born district" just off the gothic quarter. There are great bars around here too. It is a small, unassuming place with great food..for "foodies". If you want a break from all the tapas. Barcelona is a great multilayered. The humidity in August is something else by the way.. If you are getting the train back to the airport from sants take it from platform 9 or 10. Make sure you get on at the right time as the use the same platforms for trains going to different destinations.
Ofelias is a great hotel to stay in. I'd stay there again. Note; The pool on the roof is very small and the 4 sun beds were usually occupied when I ventured up there. There is not a bar in this hotel. If you are going for a pool/ sun /bar holiday this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel via Secret Escapes; it was our first city break with the 1 year old, the whole family were joining and were all after a trip of luxury, ease, comfort. All the reviews seemed promising.

The hotel is in a good location with a mall across the road and the beautiful magic fountains around the corner. However, the street outside the hotel smelt of sewage and we were disappointed that the smell continued in our room; we informed staff - there was little response.

Our package included an upgraded room and welcome drinks - neither of which were offered. We had to ask for two days running for our welcome drinks before they were provided. I note another review also says they felt embarrassed needing to ask so often.

As well as the room smelling of sewage, we were surprised that there was no kettle, no tissues, no shower caps and no air conditioning available. We all also found the style and decor impractical for 2 people sharing the room - there was no lock on the
toilet, the top half of shower doors are see through glass. Moreover, the pool was little in the way of a puddle! You could not fit more than 2/3 people in there comfortably.

We later broached the topic of not having the facilities we were expecting as per the upgrade. Not having a kettle or bathtub was proving difficult with the little one. The staff overall were friendly but we were always asked to wait to speak to Julienne; when we eventually met her she was unapologetic and very unenthusiastic. She revealed there was only one upgrade room available but that it was not worth us moving. She said we could see the room "if we wanted" but that it is a cramped room and is no more suitable for our needs. We went to see the room and were pleasantly surprised to see a lovely bathtub with a jacuzzi facility and a kettle! This meant we could make up the babys foods as well as making cups of tea at our leisure. We were on holiday after all!!! The lady who showed us the room kindly provided us with some extra tea bags as she realised our other guests were also hoping for the upgraded facilities as per their bookings. We were disappointed at the end when Julienne confronted us with a £2 per tea bag bill!!!

We came back and informed Secret Escapes of the events and they kindly reimbursed us a small amount. For this, I would book via Secret Escapes again but probably not choose this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank s2b4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Contemporary design which is very pleasing on the eye. Hotel is well located once you find it the first time. It is located next to the Bull Ring shopping centre which has some good restaurants and bars on the top floor. We never heard a thing once we were in the room but being on the 6th floor we did not have a balcony. Terrace pool was very crowded when we went up to use it. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The shower was superb. Breakfasts which are self service are also of a very good quality. Very well priced and we would certainly stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank surreygirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#58 of 513 in Barcelona
2,230 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#9 of 513 in Barcelona
313 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#100 of 513 in Barcelona
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
197 reviews
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#78 of 513 in Barcelona
650 reviews
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
#205 of 513 in Barcelona
2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ofelias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ofelias Hotel

Property: Ofelias Hotel
Address: Calle de Llanca 24, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#73 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#90 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ofelias Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We present the new destination for the most demanding guests. We invite you to discover the most "chic" Barcelona in the new space with flavor of the city, designed by the interior designer Lázaro Rosa Violán.All Ofelias Hotel services are designed to provide maximum comfort and the essence of the Slow-philosophy (slow travel, good life). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ofelias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ofelias Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing