We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but very nice and beautiful”

Barcelona Egyptian Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.25*
and up
Barcelona Card with Guidebook
Ranked #134 of 704 things to do in Barcelona
Attraction details
Kristiansand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small, but very nice and beautiful”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Very nicely displayed Egyptian items. It felt a bit odd to visit an Egyptian museum in Spain, but it was well worth the visit - although the entrance fee was surprisingly expensive. Very different from all those crowded Gaudi sites, with few people and very quiet atmosphere. Visited with my 24 year old daughter.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bjornkn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseuEgipci, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelona Egyptian Museum, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks a lot for your visit and comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    108
    45
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Antiquities nicely preserved”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

There are certainly better examples in The Cairo Museum but for my 2 cents these are preserved like the treasures they truly are. I went because Spain & France & the rest of the world were "trash talked" by those in the Cairo, but this museum displays all of these ancient items beautifully. If you have time it is worth a look here, but not instead of any of the Gaudi!
All Gaudi are "must see" this is beautiful but in my mind not as important.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseuEgipci, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelona Egyptian Museum, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your visit. Our visitor’s opinions are very important for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great place to learn the essentials”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I felt wrong going to an Egypt museum whilst in Barcelona, but we were in the vicinity and had free entry with our BCN cards. It is actually a great little museum to learn about mummification and the general understanding of Ancient Egypt with many interesting little facts on how the artefacts were researched to gather more information about the times. Not the most substantial of museum but a pleasant find.

We were lucky enough to be there whilst their temporary exhibit is about the finding of Tutankhamun, so you could see how the tomb was extracted, and with a computer generated image of what he would have looked like. Unfortunately, as a temporary exhibition, there was no English information, so I'm sure I missed out on a lot of vital information. All in all, very interesting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mwanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseuEgipci, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelona Egyptian Museum, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks for your comment
Recently are available the translations of all the texts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Great for those who are interested in Egypt culture. Adult ticket is 11 Euro though museum is not so big. For those who are travelling by "Bus turistic": it's closer to get off the bus near Casa Batlo, NOT Pedrera as Bus guide recommends.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sasja H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“small and expensive museum”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

it's not really a museum but a collection. but i recomend not to go after british museum, a big deception.

Helpful?
Thank elsagopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barcelona Egyptian Museum also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Barcelona Egyptian Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing