We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Egyptian history you will enjoy it”

Barcelona Egyptian Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.04*
and up
Barcelona Card with Guidebook
Ranked #133 of 702 things to do in Barcelona
Attraction details
Badalona, Spain
Level Contributor
221 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“If you like Egyptian history you will enjoy it”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I am personally a fan of the Barcelona Egyptian museum. I go there at least 3 times a year.
From the permanent exposition to the temporary ones.
There is a fee to go in not really expensive although you can find sometimes discounts in some magazines or newspapers.
One thing I did last year was the night visit! it was awesome, there was a guide explaining us a brief story about the egyptians while we covered all the rooms. at the end they gave us a glass of cava, nice!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank xIshidax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseuEgipci, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelona Egyptian Museum, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su visita y comentario, vuestra opinión es muy improtante para nosotros.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    108
    45
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small but enjoyable”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Egyptian museum is not one of those crowded popular places in Barcelona. It is relatively small but I think it hosts some fascinating artefacts. I am not an expert in Egyptology so I can't say if the exhibition was unique or rare, but I had a nice time in this museum. For me it was interesting to see the mummies, the burial masks, the jewellery, the coffins, etc.
The visit is free with the Barcelona card and it is easy to find (near Passeig de Gracia).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank InnaVelikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseuEgipci, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelona Egyptian Museum, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for your visit and your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Good Display of Rare Archeological Finds”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

In the heart of Barcelona, we visited this most interesting museum where we met the director who briefed us on their expedition in Menya , Egypt which discovered a necropolis dating back to the fifth dynasty.The work is done jointly with a German institution. The museum houses also a research center in Egyptology. The treasures are well displayed in three levels with photos of the discovery of King Tut tomb.Maria Angela Delor ,the Director , was friendly and helpful. She is a staunch patriot of Catalonya.Entry fee is €11. Exemptions for certain categories including Egyptians.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mustafa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseuEgipci, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelona Egyptian Museum, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks for your visit and your kind comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small, but very nice and beautiful”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Very nicely displayed Egyptian items. It felt a bit odd to visit an Egyptian museum in Spain, but it was well worth the visit - although the entrance fee was surprisingly expensive. Very different from all those crowded Gaudi sites, with few people and very quiet atmosphere. Visited with my 24 year old daughter.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bjornkn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseuEgipci, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelona Egyptian Museum, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks a lot for your visit and comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Antiquities nicely preserved”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

There are certainly better examples in The Cairo Museum but for my 2 cents these are preserved like the treasures they truly are. I went because Spain & France & the rest of the world were "trash talked" by those in the Cairo, but this museum displays all of these ancient items beautifully. If you have time it is worth a look here, but not instead of any of the Gaudi!
All Gaudi are "must see" this is beautiful but in my mind not as important.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseuEgipci, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelona Egyptian Museum, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your visit. Our visitor’s opinions are very important for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barcelona Egyptian Museum also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Barcelona Egyptian Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing