We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good atmosphere, but need to choose the right dish” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mexicana

Casa Mexicana
Ranked #6,086 of 9,316 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hanoi
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, but need to choose the right dish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We found this place by accident. Staff are friendly. Food came quickly. No need to book but it was busy early evening. The steak deal we had was great and we really enjoyed the meal and the price. We tried a set menu another night but this was only so so. The chilli was not spicy and my wife says I make better chilli con carne back home. A 4 rating for the steak but only a 2 for the Mexican meal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ted1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    37
    15
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We took a 15€ menu (tapas+main dish + dessert). It was fairly late in the evening but we got our food without too much waiting. The meals did not stand out for their taste but it was a fair quality for the price we paid.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samppa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Nice tasty food - lean, tender steaks and very good value. Quaint and colourful decor -something a little different to Catalan cuisine if you fancy a change. The refried beans were strange and didn't get all the usual sides but meal was nice and kids enjoyed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LL123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick- London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY-wish i could give this place a negative rating”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Horrible food, leaky faucet, rude staff,overpriced menu and ultimately a horrible experience
I made the mistake of ordering a t-bone steak and was shocked when the steak advertised on the menu looked 10xbigger than the steak on my plate. I initially asked why im paying 15€ for a 50g piece of rubbery meat and the waitress then cursed in bad english that all tourists from Finland like to complain so they can get their money back.
I then asked her for a refund and she told me I didnt deserve one cuz I had a bad attitude. When preparing to leave she asked me to check in on foursquares. whatever that is.

STAY AWAY

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith_Berry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average tex mex, reasonable prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Prices aren't that bad but the quality just isn't enough, like many other touristic restaurants in the area. If you prefer quick Mexican/texmex style food instead of McDonald's (which is downstairs), then why not. But if you are into quality Mexican cuisine, i would go elsewhere (a few good ones both about 2km away).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ssshady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Mexicana also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Casa Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing