We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oriente Atiram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oriente Atiram
Ranked #222 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel with my husband for 4 nights for our first year wedding aniversary. Hotel is in an excellent location and is clean n spacious. The rooms are a little dated but it was excellent value for money..breakfast was ok but sometimes its good to explore other options. I would definately visit this.hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    677
    241
    82
    60
See reviews for
402
622
41
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
c
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I booked a disabled room for 4 nights. I phoned the hotel before booking to make sure all the facilities were suitable for my husband who uses a wheelchair full time. I was assured that the room/facilities were suitable and received an email confirming my phone call.
I also booked and paid for a standard room.

On arrival we were shown to 2 standard rooms. Our 'disabled room' was double booked.
We wasted the whole of our 1st afternoon and morning of day 2 in Barcelona waiting while the asst manager Cesar Fuster phoned around hotels trying to find a suitable room for the 2 nights that our disabled room was double booked.

After a very difficult night in the standard room where my husband could not use the shower which was over a bath, and using the toilet was difficult and dangerous, we were moved to another hotel for the 2nd night.

We then wasted more time moving from the other hotel back to Oriente on day 3. This was all very difficult for a wheelchair user who has paralysed legs.
The shower at 2nd hotel was not suitable as there were no safety handrails in the shower.

Day 3 we moved to what was supposed to be a disabled room. There were safety rails alongside the toilet but the shower was a standard shower with no support rails. There was a metal bar around the sink at knee height.
The receptionist brought up a chair from the hotel bar so my husband could finally have a shower with my assistance.

The breakfast room had 5 steps so we were put in an adjoining room which on day 4 we had to share with a 'kid's club'.

This was very disappointing and annoying after the trouble I went to to carefully check the facilities before our journey. We were put into 3 different rooms in 2 different hotels during our 4 night stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We chose this hotel because it was high up on the list presented to us by Expedia of hotels in the Barri Gotic and if we were going again it would be the one to choose without hesitation as we had a most memorable stay. Our arrival was hectic as I had just discovered that my wallet had been stolen moments before as we emerged from the (thankfully) almost adjacent metro station. The reception staff were extremely helpful and were able to direct us to the local police station to report the incident. (Tip: Train and Metro not advisable if you have much baggage.)
The room was extremely well presented, clean and well-maintained throughout our visit and was a perfect safe haven after our hectic dashes around Barcelona during the day. Although fronting onto La Rambla which seems busy during much of the day and night it was also very quiet. Great to see that restoration of the frontage is on-going with workmen around at various times of day. A kettle and tea/coffee facilities would be helpful but these with other beverages were available in reception.
Throughout our stay the staff on reception were exceedingly friendly and helpful, booking and printing tickets for several outings and suggesting possible places to visit. One, Pedro, even lent us his own books on Le Palau de la Musica Catalana to peruse before our visit there.
Breakfast was a time to reflect and collect our thoughts before the day's activity and where could be more pleasant than the atrium with a good selection on offer; unlimited coffee and juice and a good selection of hot and cold items including fruit, cereals and bacon were on display and were frequently topped-up. The staff here were also friendly and helpful, maintaining a good standard of cleanliness and ensuring a good flow of diners without any pressure on other customers.
The Hotel's location on La Rambla and its proximity to Liceu Metro station makes it a great place to be for the major attractions which, in Barcelona, seem almost too numerous to list (La Boqueria, Gaudi, Picasso, Montjuic,The Barri Gotic Roman remains and the port amongst many others.)
Overall this was a great choice of accommodation for what was a spur-of-the-moment trip, straight-forward room and good service in a good location.

Room Tip: I would guess that most rooms are likely to be good but we obviously only used the one ,on the fourt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 007AMS007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribble Valley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Fantastic location for a city break, right on La Ramblas in the midst of it all.
After reading the reviews I requested a room at the front with a balcony for a 3 night break for myself and 20yr old daughter. We'd have preferred to be able to see and hear the hustle and bustle and wouldn't have been bothered by the noise. Upon arrival it was disappointing to see the hotel covered by scaffolding and were told that none of the balconies at the front could be opened so requested an alternative room. The first option given was not at all what I expected, very small, tiny window and tiny bathroom but was really happy with the second offer (it was worth complaining about the first option!). The room we ended up in was on the side of the hotel on the second floor with one of the small wrought iron balconies. Couldn't see much of the main street but it was lovely to be able to open the doors. The staff were pleasant, room was a bit dated but clean, beds lovely and comfortable (two doubles in our room). Bathroom was spotless with plenty of towels. Really can't fault the hotel and would definately return.

Room Tip: 232 is on the side of the building over looking the side street, large bins are on the side street b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed at the Oriente for four nights last week and couldn't find fault with this hotel. Location was absolutely perfect for exploring Barcelona (metro station pretty much outside the hotel - Liceu). Room was fairly basic, but very clean. Staff were polite and helpfull. We booked through easyjet, so breakfast was included in the price - the pastries were soooo good!
Would definately stay again, had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cass L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed 5 nights. Room fair - not very large but comfortable - bathroom door wouln't close, balcony closed off due to scaffolding. Reasonably clean. Breakfast very average - 9E per person per day. Possibly do better in the cafes a few minutes walk to the south, away from La Rambla eg behind the market.No kettle etc provided in room - took our own. Desk helpful. Didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel - too busy out and about. Very convenient for the central area - walking distance of cathedral, Picasso museum, cathedral and waterfront. Metro station close by, trains very frequent but sometimes crowded. Didn't bother with one of the various travel passes, fare was E2.40 single anywhere on the system. Long walks at some of the interchanges. .

Room Tip: 4th floor overlooking La Rambla - not too noisy , but lower floors might be
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SidcupWhinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel has very average accommodations, but the price is right and the location is terrific. We signed up for room and breakfast, and that turned out to be a good and economical choice. With a little more work (such as a luggage rack), the rooms would actually be very adequate. There are safes in the room, and the hotel provides free wi-fi. The staff was very attentive, readily available, and very helpful. We subsequently stayed in other hotels in Barcelona, and although the accommodations were better, the service could not compare and the price was a poor value compared to the Oriente.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#104 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,272 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#217 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Gaudi
Hotel Gaudi
#172 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#219 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
La Rambla
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
#377 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriente Atiram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriente Atiram

Property: Oriente Atiram
Address: Ramblas, 45, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Husa Oriente)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oriente Atiram 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oriente Atiram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Oriente Hotel Barcelona
Husa Oriente Barcelona
Oriente Atiram Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing