We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, no frills”
Review of Oriente Atiram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oriente Atiram
Ranked #233 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good location, no frills”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Well... it was a short stay in Barcelona in a suitably placed, no frills hotel. I wasn't looking for luxury and three-course banquets, just a decent enough place to bed down at night ready for my next day filled with excursions and sightseeing. Sure, there was scaffolding out front, so what? You can't make omelettes without breaking eggs! How else is an establishment meant to effect repairs without a little dust!
Our room was cosy enough with adequate storage and a safe for valuables. It was cleaned daily and a good night's sleep was had each night. The shower screen didn't help too much in preventing water getting onto the floor but this was no big issue.
The buffet-style breakfast was adequate for a morning since we fully intended eating outdoors all the time. The famous Mercat de Sant Josep de la Boqueria was ideally nearby for a snack or even a meal if you were prepared to wait.

The hotel receptionists were quite friendly and helpful with a very good command of english language.
All in all, nothing really bothersome to complain about and a pleasant stay was had, Thank you to all representatives of Oriente Atiram, Rambla, Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UkTr1pper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting such a positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue with our very high standards of service.
As you mentioned, the city of Barcelona began in February of this year a refurbishment of the facade of all the historic buildings, and our landmark hotel is included in this program and we wish the hotel will be a nice value after works.
We will hope definitely to see you again in Barcelona and of course in our Hotel with our wonderful new facade.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    701
    256
    86
    63
See reviews for
416
645
43
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great Location! Our room was right on the Las Ramblas and had 2 balconys so we could open them up and take it all in from our room. The room was so so but since we were only in our room while we were sleeping it was great. It has a good bathroom, beds were comfy, but location doesn't get better then this. Picasso's Museum is right down the street. I would recommend doing the bus tour and that is right down the street as well. Overall, I would Recommend this hotel for your visit. For the price and everything listed above it can't be beat!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting such a positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue with our very high standards of service.
We will hope definitely to see you again in Barcelona and of course in our Hotel.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ono, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Not recommended!
The hotel is being renovated, all its front is covered and closed.
We arrived on Thursday evening, we received a poor room without a window, a bathroom is not sealed
The next day we changed rooms but the rooms are very noisy, uncomfortable mattresses, pillows narrow and thin and not comfortable and there were no extra pillows.
The only thing this hotel its location which is very convenient.
The service is polite but not very helpful in some cases.
Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel rooms to the rear of the upper floors only
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Customer,
The city of Barcelona began in February of this year a refurbishment of the facade of all the historic buildings, and our landmark hotel is included in this program.
Due to this, we have been forced to block the windows of the rooms overlooking the Ramblas Avenue for your own safety.
We apologize and take note about your comments about pillows (one extra pillow is always in the wardrobe) and mattresses which are being removed.
Hope these explanations give us the chance to meet you again in our hotel.
Best Regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yehud, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel has a great location, right in the middel of the Ramblas, and near a metro station. Our room was average but very clean. The guy in the reception was very nice and helpful, the lady who stood there at night didn't know english very well. Brakefast is standart. To sum up, great place to put your head at night, in very good price and excellent location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting such a positive review about the location of the hotel, the cleanliness and the staff. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue on in working for improving our standards of service.
We are going to take in count your comments about the breakfast and we will try to do some improvements on it.
We will hope definitely to see you again in Barcelona and of course in our Hotel.
Best regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is located on the Ramblas and is priced accordingly ( I paid 190 Euros Room Only).

I arrived at reception and was ignored for a good few minutes while the receptionist answered the hotel phone and then her own mobile phone while some quite load rock music played on her computer.

My room was tiny and to be honest although clean enough, needed a good coat of paint, also the window was locked shut and could not be opened and the mixer tap in the bathroom did not work properly so if you wanted a wash you had to have a bath as the water would not divert to the shower head.

All the above you can forgive, I travel a lot and none of this is particularly unusual in busy high throughput hotels. However the biggest problem with this hotel is the subway. In my room on the first floor I was awoken every 45 minutes by the whole room shaking every time a subway train passed underneath. After a terrible nights sleep I went for breakfast which at 13 Euros was possibly the worst I have had for some years, powdery watery scrambled egg, coffee from a machine that was truly awful and the supermarkets cheapest cuts of ham and plastic cheese. Accompanied by a soundtrack of drum and bass which was the last thing I wanted to hear after a night of subway trains. If you are unfortunate enough to stay here don't bother with the breakfast.

After one night I checked out and got a room at the Majestic up the road which was only 50 Euros a night more but is in a different class to this dump.

As an aside to this review I was amazed to see a lady recently give this hotel 3 stars despite the fact she had valuables stolen from her room, allegedly by the cleaning staff. Some people are obviously far more forgiving than me.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBIgNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your review.
Let us apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay as you mentioned nothing was adequate to your expectations and we are very sorry. We are not good enough compared to a 5* as Majestic Hotel in price in facilities or even in service but we trying to made our best to resolve the customer’s feeling and improving our rooms.
Let us clarify some points as you wrote: the reception mobile was an internal phone as we have to communicate ourselves, never our staff take their own mobile during their works, the music you listened was the reception music and a nice breakfast offer is for all our clients who find the price higher than expected including all the varieties of products of full buffet, about our cleaning staff we do not have any doubt, they are working for us during long time ago without any issues that you wanted to emphasize.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Nice Hotel, excellent location and very efficient and friendly staff. Good basic breakfast. Good hotel for three star. Located on Las Ramblas. It not cheaper the price is something Spence. Clean and the attention is good. I recommended this hotel in Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERNESTO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting such a positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue with our very high standards of service.
We will hope definitely to see you again in Barcelona and of course in our Hotel.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

At first this seemed like a too-good-to-be-true hotel. Perfectly located for sight-seeing and very well-kept and spacious inside. Staff were friendly and helpful and it was very good value for money.

Unfortunately, soon into my stay I accidentally left a ring by the bathroom sink when washing my hands. On returning to the freshly cleaned room a few hours later, I noticed it had gone missing. It can't have fallen down the plughole, as the staff insinuated, as the drain holes were far too small. After a thorough and repeated search, I feel it can only have been stolen from a member of the cleaning staff which is extremely upsetting. I appreciate it was my fault for leaving it out but I shouldn't have to appreciate it being stolen as a result. It was of great sentimental value and put a dampener of the remainder of my trip in Barcelona. BEWARE.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Let us apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay as you mentioned that everything seemed like too-good-to-be-true and that means we have not reached your expectations and we are very sorry.
Nevertheless we are very astonished at your statement that of one member of our cleaning staff had stolen your ring. Let me tell you that about our cleaning staff we do not have any doubt; they have been working for us during long time ago without any issues. Again we are so sorry that you lost such a sentimental thing and that now you have a bad memory of your trip to Barcelona.

Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#103 of 513 in Barcelona
2,357 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#224 of 513 in Barcelona
838 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#217 of 513 in Barcelona
475 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,705 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#142 of 513 in Barcelona
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriente Atiram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriente Atiram

Property: Oriente Atiram
Address: Ramblas, 45, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Husa Oriente)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oriente Atiram 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oriente Atiram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Oriente Hotel Barcelona
Husa Oriente Barcelona
Oriente Atiram Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing