We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th Birthday Trip”
Review of Oriente Atiram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oriente Atiram
Ranked #230 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Elmhurst, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Trip”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Oriente Atiram Hotel suited our needs perfectly. My husband and I enjoyed the location and proximity to sites, tourist bus, Metro stops, etc. we basically walked everywhere. The men at the front desk are exceptionally friendly and helpful. We asked so many questions throughout our stay, and they went out of their way to help us, especially Igenió and Fernand. The ladies, not so friendly, but polite. We traveled from NY and arrived early. We immediately checked in, and were able to relax and freshen up. The room size was adequate and very clean. We ate breakfast one morning and it was ok, however, there are plenty of places to eat - check out The Boqueria if you enjoy fruit. The housekeeper on our floor was truly friendly and polite. I recommend this hotel and it's super friendly (male) front desk staff!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, request room away from La Rambla. They are renovating the outside an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nidia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue with our very high standards of service.
Nevertheless we are going to take in count also the comments about the ladies in the reception desk and be sure we are going to take measures on it.
We will hope definitely to see you again in Barcelona and of course in our Hotel.

Best regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    689
    249
    84
    61
See reviews for
407
636
43
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I went for 2 weeks on a bed and breakfast basis which suited me fine as I spent the days site seeing. The hotel was perfectly situated with close access to the metro and restaurants as well as main tourist area of "Las Ramblas" As the hotel is on La Rambla all rooms facing the street are a bit noisy but one can always ask for a room at the back (if you want a peaceful sleep). The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room (after moving to the back) was perfect. Would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting such a positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue with our very high standards of service.
We will hope definitely to see you again in Barcelona’s heart, as you mentioned Ramblas has a wonderful and popular atmosphere, we take note your preference, a nice and quite room.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Hotel Oriente is located on La Rambla, 2/3 minutes walk to the nearest tube station, their is scaffolding on the front of the building as there are some ongoing renovations, but we never heard any workmen making noise or racket (it actually helped us locate the building at night so not always a bad thing!) The receptionist was very friendly (as were all the staff in our experience) the room was in the 'old' part of the building (the hotel has been extended over the years), It had a large comfortable bed, plenty of hanging space and cupboards, the room also had a safe in one of the cupboards, small bathroom but perfectly adequate. The room also had some wonderful antique furniture, sliding doors with a little balcony, our room was as the left hand side of the building (room 229), it was facing an office block but you heard very little noise from the La Rambla during the evening and night (we spent very little time in our room anyway so again this wasn't a downside)

The room had blackout curtains and a net curtain, the bed had 2 sheets and a blanket (perfect for the time of year, mid June), clean towels, fresh toiletries and bed made/changed on a daily basis, You can also leave your keep with the reception when you go out and about and collect it when you get back (again the staff were more than happy with this)

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay somewhere central at a reasonable price for a busy area.

Don't let the scaffolding put you off this hotel is over 150 years old and it's nice to see that it is being well maintained and updated

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of the hotel are advised as the ramblas can be quiet busy even at 12pm/1am
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Panda89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting such a positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue with our very high standards of service.
We will hope definitely to see you again in Barcelona and of course in our Hotel.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Staff is very rude. They barely answer your basic questions. Toilets smell like ****, dirt all over a pillow. You hear people in the rooms close to you. We reserved a queen bed, we got two simple beds joined but seperated by a 20 cm empty space. Staff is really rude, especially the girls there. Metro passes every 30 min down so you feel the building moving. Well located but realllllly not worth it, I'd rather pay double and go to a place where the staff will treat me as a human being.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your review.
Let us apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay.
Let us express our surprise about your staff review because is unacceptable and we cannot understand why the customer service was not like ever taking in consideration all the nice comments that they normaly have.
Please note that your complaint has fully reached our attention.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Oriente Atiram is a clean, comfortable "no frills hotel" located in the heart of las ramblas in Barcelona. We spent 4 nights there in May. The location is on las ramblas, giving you access to the "action" per se. The front of the hotel has scaffolding but insides were well maintained. Some of the rooms are big while some are small (ours was big with three beds while our friends had a small room, even though we paid the same prices). Rooms are in general clean, comfortable and unfussy. Bathroom was very big by European standards. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. They provided a travel charger, directions etc when we needed. The beds are somewhat firm but it worked fine for us.This is not a luxurious hotel by any means but is steps away from metro station and all the fun Las Ramblas has to offer.

Room Tip: try to get a bigger room, the smaller ones are REALLY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crabs_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a positive review about the hotel and the staff. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue on in working for improving our standards of service.
We will hope definitely to see you again in Barcelona and of course in our Hotel.

Best regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Well... it was a short stay in Barcelona in a suitably placed, no frills hotel. I wasn't looking for luxury and three-course banquets, just a decent enough place to bed down at night ready for my next day filled with excursions and sightseeing. Sure, there was scaffolding out front, so what? You can't make omelettes without breaking eggs! How else is an establishment meant to effect repairs without a little dust!
Our room was cosy enough with adequate storage and a safe for valuables. It was cleaned daily and a good night's sleep was had each night. The shower screen didn't help too much in preventing water getting onto the floor but this was no big issue.
The buffet-style breakfast was adequate for a morning since we fully intended eating outdoors all the time. The famous Mercat de Sant Josep de la Boqueria was ideally nearby for a snack or even a meal if you were prepared to wait.

The hotel receptionists were quite friendly and helpful with a very good command of english language.
All in all, nothing really bothersome to complain about and a pleasant stay was had, Thank you to all representatives of Oriente Atiram, Rambla, Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UkTr1pper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting such a positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue with our very high standards of service.
As you mentioned, the city of Barcelona began in February of this year a refurbishment of the facade of all the historic buildings, and our landmark hotel is included in this program and we wish the hotel will be a nice value after works.
We will hope definitely to see you again in Barcelona and of course in our Hotel with our wonderful new facade.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great Location! Our room was right on the Las Ramblas and had 2 balconys so we could open them up and take it all in from our room. The room was so so but since we were only in our room while we were sleeping it was great. It has a good bathroom, beds were comfy, but location doesn't get better then this. Picasso's Museum is right down the street. I would recommend doing the bus tour and that is right down the street as well. Overall, I would Recommend this hotel for your visit. For the price and everything listed above it can't be beat!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting such a positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue with our very high standards of service.
We will hope definitely to see you again in Barcelona and of course in our Hotel.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#103 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#218 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Gaudi
Hotel Gaudi
#164 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#220 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
La Rambla
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
#381 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriente Atiram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriente Atiram

Property: Oriente Atiram
Address: Ramblas, 45, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Husa Oriente)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oriente Atiram 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oriente Atiram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Oriente Hotel Barcelona
Husa Oriente Barcelona
Oriente Atiram Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing