We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mastercard skimming/ copied at hotel”
Review of Oriente Atiram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oriente Atiram
Ranked #233 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The location is very good if you like to live i the middle of Ramblas (main street). There was some noise but less then I thought it would be. The rooms are clean and looks like in the pictures.
Breakfast/brunch was bad, maybe because we were some of the last ones and came late. You should either eat at some of the many resturants all over in the near area.

So a big problem. My Visacard was copied at my hotell room. It was never used by me a our stay in Spain, and never left my bag. Not even shown to the reseption. It was a reserve card. So that leaves it to the cleaning staff. It was used online and paid for something using a PayPal payment option. When I contacted PayPal they after 4 hours told me I would gett he money back, so a clear fraud.
The Hotel refused in a e-mail and tells me that all that staff are sertified and listen; “they have all worked there at least for 15 years”. Have any hotell a cleaning staff with minimum 15 years at the hotel?
I got the hotel managers personal guarantee. Well that is not good enough. The card never left the room, they should investigate instead of refuse.

The staff was elsewhere nice, as in the bar inside and next to reception who told me to go out to buy water because it costed 15 EUR inside.
The hotell standard was ok+, but because of the issues above we had to close 2 other Visacard in case off abbuse. We do not know if they copied the info on all of them
A lot of work in other words.

Book another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Stavanger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your valued feedback as we were waiting for.
Firstly, let us apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay in our hotel. Please know that your complaint was fully attracted our attention and we spoke with your clean maid room.
Let us express our surprise about your first email that we received with this new about your credit card copy. We know that our word is not enough for you but we have cleaning staff for years ago (someone more than 20years) and never we have had a problem as you mentioned. And we answer your mail explain this but do not think that your complaint was not investigated.
It is unacceptable that situation and we cannot understand how and where that credit card was copied but we can guarantee that any person of our staff, who has all our confidence, would make something as you suffer, they are not able to make a credit card copy and nobody enter to your room except the clean maid and supervisor.
We are so sorry about your feeling with our staff but in this situation it would have been better to phone the police in order to find the way by PayPal.
In reference to the water, in any point of sales from our hotel we sell this product at 15€, we have a vending machine where you can buy water for 1.5€/bottle.
Best Regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were booked at this hotel thru NCL and we stayed here pre departure July 12 then again as we got off the cruise July 20. On both times, the people in manning the front desk were non-cordial to say the least. We arrived early and had to have our bags on storage. As soon as our rooms were ready, we tried to get our luggage. Patricia opened the door to storage and directed us to retrieve our luggage under piles upon piles of other luggages! It is one thing that we have to carry our luggages to our rooms but to have to physically extract it from the storage room was almost mean.
We reserved two rooms and no one told us how to work the phone. There was some code you needed to dial before the room number, and nobody bothered to tell us what it is. When we got there initially, we were given complimentary water, on our return after the cruise, they conveniently forgot.
On the other hand, the rooms were big enough and clean. Breakfast was served in a nice area and food was okay.
The location of this hotel suggests that this may be the only thing going for it, considering the bad customer service. It is located right at the heart of Ramblas, which is an interesting place. This will do as a transitory place but staying here longer will probably be not a good experience since noise level is kinda high.
For those arriving earlier than check-in time, get some work-out now as you will be needing it to maneuver thru the storage room. Even if you are hanging around in the lobby waiting for your rooms to be ready, check on it yourself, because no one will bother to tell you that it's ready unless you ask them incessantly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amm1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valued feedback.
Firstly, let us apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay in Barcelona. Please know that your complaint has fully attracted our attention.
Let us express our surprise about your desk’s staff review because is unacceptable and we cannot understand why the customer service was not like ever taking in consideration all the nice comments that they normally have. The luggage room sometimes is difficult to manage due to the number of the suitcases that cruise clients come with. But we are very sorry that our staff did not make easy this point.
As you mentioned, we offer for free a bottle of water during the check in, if it was not given to you in your second visit was a huge mistake.
In reference to the code to phone room by room you have to phone the reception who are glad to inform about this code, as was in your situation. Like this, we minimize the issues with the clients who do not respect the rest of the others.
Thank you, we have appreciated your positive review about our breakfast and room clean.
We hope you welcome again to our hotel and we will surely provide you a stay that you deserve
Best Regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Great location easy to recognise from the outside as there were scaffolding. Did not affect the quality of the hotel at all. Friendly staff that are often so busy with customers checking in and out (popular hotel). Very reasonable price, great air conditioning. We had trouble logging into WiFi for the first night but once you logged in it was perfect. Daily room cleaning service and change of linen. Bit noisy at night from the noise from outside but understandable and quite interesting as we are right on the la rambla! Elevators for all the floors, they provided us with converter too with deposit. Will strongly recommended people to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank charon234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for this nice review,

We are glad to ear that we provide you the best accomadation in your European trip.

We hope you will come back soon to Barcelona and of course to the hotel Atiram Oriente

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Spent four nights at the Oriente Atiram hotel in Barcelona. A perfect location for access to LaRambla as well as the Gothic District. Wonderful restaurants right outside the door. Our room was in the back of the hotel, with a pretty awful view. However, it was quiet and we appreciated that. The room was small, but very adequate. The staff was helpful in getting us a cab to return to the airport and with a wake up call at the appointed hour. I would stay here again mostly because of the location.
The outside of the hotel is under renovation and completely covered w/ scaffolding - so hard to get a look at the exterior. Didn't effect our stay at all.

Room Tip: Walk out of the hotel and across the street to the large square w/ cafes galore. Keep walking aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MaryTVH12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for spending your time writing this review

We are so glad that your stay in Barcelona was good and that you find our staff helpful,

We hope to see you again in your next stay in Barcelona and of course in the Hotel Atiram Oriente.

Best regards

the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel before and after our cruise as part of a package with NCL. It does have a fabulous location, right in the middle of the Rambla. You just step out the door, and you are right in the middle of everything. We arrived early from our flight, around 9am, so our room wasn't ready, but the hotel was able to hold our bags so we could walk around and get lunch and then check in. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean. Our only complaint was that they need new pillows. The ones they have were just not comfortable. The bus picking us up to take us and drop us off after the cruise was not able to park directly in front of the hotel, and we did have to walk a few blocks with our luggage to get to it. It wasn't a problem for our family, but just something to know if you are considering this hotel. Barcelona is a beautiful city, and being at this hotel put us right in the center of everything, so it was easy to walk to dinner, sights and shopping.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Kar33r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting such a positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue with our very high standards of service.
Let us apologize for the pillow issue that we will resolve.
We will hope definitely to see you again in Barcelona and of course in our Hotel, located in Barcelona’s Heart, as you mentined.
Best regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone especially if you are a young group travelling with friends!! Barcelona is an incredible place and staying in this hotel was the cherry on top to the holiday.
The location is perfect, right on la ramblas and about a 30 minute walk to La Barceloneta. There are loads of shops, small markets and food places to discover and it is so helpful, especially at night, that the hotel is so close to a lot of the attractions.

As soon as my girls and I arrived the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. One of my friends had booked her holiday separately and was supposed to be staying at a different hotel but there was a trouble with her booking. We asked the staff at hotel oriente if they could put her up in our room but there was no space in the hotel for that night. However, she was able to stay in another hotel close by for the first night and the staff made sure that we were able to move into a bigger room where she would be able to stay with us for the duration of the holiday.
If you stay here ask for Marco!! He's so helpful and was extremely helpful in trying to accommodate a bigger room for my friend to stay with us. He even gave us free passes to Shoko, a nightclub on la Barceloneta and recommended us good places to go on nights out on the town.

The rooms were really clean and the cleaning staff were lovely! We had a really nice view outside of our balcony of the side road. The bathroom was very clean and we had no problems whatsoever with our stay. The size of the room was perfect for the four of us as, there were 2 single beds and one double bed and we still had enough room for our suitcases and to move around. I've read other reviews about complaints about the noise on las ramblas and I don't think that it was bad at all. There is obviously a bit of wooping and stuff early hours of the morning but I didn't expect anything less staying in the centre. Don't listen to all of the bad reviews some people are just a bit miserable.

Definitely if you choose to stay in Barcelona stay at Hotel Oriente!! It is so worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting such a positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue with our very high standards of service.
We will hope definitely to see you again in Barcelona and of course in our Hotel.
Best regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Before travelling to Barcelona my friends and I had checked out reviews and pictures of the hotel and it is safe to say we were impressed. However, having stayed there for a week my expectations have been far surpassed due to the incredible customer service, cleanliness and location the hotel has to offer.

When arriving in Barcelona we were having trouble with a friend's hotel, where she was unable to check in and thus didn't have a place to stay overnight - she had booked elsewhere. Being in a foreign country we were naturally worried about our situation, particularly as we were unfamiliar with the area. However, we were soon put at ease by the extremely helpful staff at hotel Oriente whom ensured our friend had somewhere safe to stay. Because there were no rooms available at that time in hotel Oriente, the staff went out of their way to help accommodate her elsewhere. Our friend was then moved in with us as soon as a big enough room was available.

I couldn't have asked for better customer service at the hotel. Every member of staff was welcoming each and every time we entered the hotel and were never hesitant to give us directions or suggest places to go to - as first timers in the city. What particularly stood out during our stay was the customer service offered by a particular member of staff - MARCO! From the moment we arrived at the hotel to the moment we left he had a smile on his face and was always happy to help. One day we brought watermelon back to the hotel having overestimated the amount we could actually eat and he offered to put it in the fridge for us - as our room didn't have one. We were meant to go and collect it after 15 minutes but this completely slipped our mind. Nonetheless, 15 minutes after leaving the watermelon with Marco he was at our door with 4 plates, cutlery and the watermelon!!!

Another impressive aspect of our stay was the cleanliness of the hotel. Whenever we arrived back at our room after a day out our beds were made, the floor was cleaned and the bathroom was spotless. We were also given fresh towels whenever we needed them, as well as a fresh shower mat and flannels. Moreover, the cleaners were very friendly and always said hello when passing by.

Lastly the location of the hotel couldn't have been better. Being located in the centre of Las Ramblas we were in walking distance of numerous shops, bars and restaurants, as well as being a 30 minute walk from La Barceloneta (a lively beach with plenty of cafes, bars and clubs). Having heard about the liveliness of Las Ramblas I expected to hear a lot of noise from our room, but this was not the case. Although there was the odd strange noise from a bunch of tourists, there was nothing major enough to disturb a good night's sleep.

Oh and finally I just want to thank the hotel for the amount of complementary marshmallows I managed in devour whilst staying there... and the sweet bananas, gummy bears and lollipops!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shaunaaagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Oriente_BCN, Manager at Oriente Atiram, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting such a positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue with our very high standards of service.
We will hope definitely to see you again in Barcelona and of course in our Hotel.
Best regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#108 of 515 in Barcelona
2,496 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#89 of 515 in Barcelona
1,691 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#136 of 515 in Barcelona
2,668 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#77 of 515 in Barcelona
2,118 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#212 of 515 in Barcelona
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriente Atiram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriente Atiram

Address: Ramblas, 45, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Husa Oriente)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £65 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oriente Atiram 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oriente Atiram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Oriente Hotel Barcelona
Husa Oriente Barcelona
Oriente Atiram Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing