We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona
Ranked #301 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

we stayed in this hotel for two nights after spending a week at a site 30 miles outside barcelona.It was a ten minute taxi drive from the station and situated in the montjuice area which was very lively....lots of shops and restaurants nearby and a tube station only a few minutes walk, also the stop for the aerobus was nearby which was very handy!!.....The receptionists where polite and helpful at all times, our room was situated on the 6th floor and was very spacious and spotlessly clean, plenty of room for myself , husband and two teenage boys. We also had a little kitchen area and fridge which was great for storing cold drinks.The air con was much appreciated as being the middle of august it was extremely hot, there is also a pleasent roof terrace area from which you can get great views...We decided not to breakfast in the hotel as quite pricey for four of us at 8 euros each...instead opting for croissants and coffee in a lovely bakery nearby...totalling about 8 euros( we were on a budget as it was near the end of our trip!!).....The hotel was in an ideal position for us to do all the things we had planned.....we walked to las ramblas....about half and hour away...and got the train back...fantastic area to visit and the port also was a lovely area, we spent the day at camp nou....a metro journey but well worth if for football ( or non football )Fans...and an evening trip to Sagrada Familia was lovely to see it all lit up, we used the metro easily and you can buy a ticket for ten journeys for 9 euros which can be used between your group. Our last day was spent exploring montjuice area...a short walk from the hotel....our flight was not till the evening but there was no problem leaving all our luggage in reception utill we caught the aerobus which runs half hourly. It was well worth a long walk up to the olympic stadium area and then a cable car trip to the castle..fantastic views of the city!!...we were very sad to leave such a fabulous city and our stay at this hotel was ideal for us.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a kitchen area as the fridge is a bonus!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    216
    67
    13
    13
See reviews for
154
110
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

It has an ideal location, close to Placa d’Espanya from where you can take the metro, take the Aerobus to the airport, or walk to Montjuic. The hotel is very clean and the rooms quite big, especially considering the decent price. Even though the breakfast buffet (good) is not included in the price, you can get it for 8E/person.
Great hotel for anyone visiting Barcelona for a few days!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adyescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We booked a room for three and were please to find that we had a suite with a separate bedroom and a small kitchen area off the main room with a dinette table near it. The room was larger than we expected and on the corner of the building. The air conditioning worked fine and the windows sealed out the sound from outdoors well. Hotel staff was friendly when we arrived, spoke English well, and since we arrived early in the morning they held our luggage without any incidents until we checked in later in the day. The hotel was clean, beds fine, and we found it a good value.
The hotel is located in a good area just a few blocks from Plaza Espanya where you can connect with the subway, and find restauraunts at the shopping center in the renovated bull ring. It also provides good access to the Magic Fountain at night and several museums and entrance to the Olympic park. Within half a block of the hotel you can find a bakery for breakfast and an ATM for cash.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren-Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Kitchen:
I originally booked this room becuase it said on the website that they have kitchen in the family suites. However, when we arrived, there wasnt a kitchen in our room. Not happy, I tried to talk to the reception, who did not speak very much English and was not too happy to help either. Therefore, our first impression of this hotel was not good.
Next morning, we woke up at 7 went down to reception again, this time the on shift reception was able to switch us to the sixth floor. He also told us that we needed to specify our kitchen request upon reserving the room. So if you are thinking of staying here and will be cooking, make sure you tell them that beforehand, as not all family rooms include a kitchen!

Location:
Very excellent location! 3 Min walk to the Arena mall, with food courts and a big supermarket on the bottom floor of the mall. Also, very close to Metro and the magic fountain! Very pretty at night.

Rooms:
The AC in our floor 6 room was better than floor 3.
Blankets in floor 6 was thicker and newer than floor 3.
So I am very glad we got switched to floor 6!
There weren't really 2 rooms. It was one bedroom with a big king bed, and 2 singles in the living room/kitchen area. This worked fine for us. Sheets were clean.

Internet:
A bit slow, but workable

Room Tip: Families choose to stay on floor 6, better AC than floor 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ching_wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Nice boutique hotel with a very comfortable sized"family" room for the four of us. It was actually a two room suite and not those pretend suites you get in the US. You just can't beat the location either as it is an easy walk to many of the sites. Room was very clean and the staff very nice and helpful. Our AC worked very well. Bed was firm but that's how I prefer it. I would certainly recommend this place. Even though our room faced the main street it was very quite (we were on the 6th floor). No pool. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My family of four stayed here for a night in March and we booked a Quadruple room. The room did have four places for people to sleep, but only two of them were beds. One was a fold out cot and the other was a futon. The futon and the cot were very uncomfortable. At the time, Barcelona was having a hot spring, so the room was warm when we checked in. The staff informed us that the air conditioning was getting turning on that day, but it was not ready yet. Opening the windows helped cool the room off though.

The only good part of the hotel was the excellent staff. They were friendly and attentive to our requests. The quadruple room sleeping arrangement though was not what we expected.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SD_Amit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Hotel Azul is situated in a fantastic location just off Plaza Espanya in Barcelona. The staff are very nice and friendly. The room is spacious and clean. There is a roof terrace which is very nice to relax on. The only wierd thing is that there are two sets of windows with the outer one locked with warning not to open it. Mentioning that the room was too hot at reception, we were given a handle to open the window, but still it shut under gravity and so the room was very airless and stuffy overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for an external room and then if it is too hot go to reception and ask for a handle for the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkylittlefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
BCN Montjuic Aparthotel
BCN Montjuic Aparthotel
#291 of 513 in Barcelona
122 reviews
Montjuic
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
#111 of 513 in Barcelona
1,454 reviews
El Raval
HCC Lugano
HCC Lugano
#207 of 513 in Barcelona
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#151 of 513 in Barcelona
506 reviews
Eixample
Atenea Calabria Apartaments
Atenea Calabria Apartaments
#172 of 513 in Barcelona
739 reviews
Eixample
Onix Fira Hotel
Onix Fira Hotel
#364 of 513 in Barcelona
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona

Property: Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona
Address: Gran via de las Cortes Catalanas 327, 08014 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Access)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Azul Barcelona is a family hotel located in the center of Barcelona, ​​at the foot of Montjuic and next to Plaza of Spain (Plaza Espana), 200 meters from Barcelona's Fair. It offers elegant accommodation, a rooftop terrace, a reception open 24 hours and free Wi-Fi in all the hotel. In one of the best connected parts of the city, by metro, bus, airport bus (direct to the airport in 15 minutes), railways ... Can be reached by metro to Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter of the city in less than 10 minutes. Also we are in a booming area and recently renovated shopping center called Las Arenas, the Magic Fountains of Montjuic or MNAC (National Art Museum of Catalonia). Our rooms are spacious (25-50 m2) and have a very colorful decor. They feature wooden floors, air conditioning, heating, flat screen TV with satellite channels and a work desk. Ideal for families, groups and business people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing