We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a problematic stay.”
Review of Salsas and Co

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salsas and Co
Ranked #90 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Keithw532
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice but a problematic stay.”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

As a B&B in Barcelona I liked this place, not cheap and it was a bit far away from the centre but with good easy transport links. The room was kinda sparse but in a trendy shabby chic way and the bed was comfortable.

The shared bathroom was OK as it was always found to be clean and with lots of hot water to enjoy a long shower after a days sightseeing. The breakfast was enjoyable as we got to become friends with others staying in the B&B.

But sadly soon after we had left the hotel we received rather an abrupt e-mail accusing us of breaking a window blind and being told that our credit card would be charged 30 Euros for its repair. This came as a shock to us as we had clearly not broken the blind, so we returned an e-mail explaining that we had not broken the blind. Sadly this e-mail was ignored so we sent 3 further e-mails that were also ignored. Finally we got a reply after writing directly to the manager who again accused us of breaking the blind and not going through the proper check out process (this was not correct)

Sadly this situation took several more e-mails to resole and left us feeling quite upset due to the false accusations made by this hotel.
I would liked to have said staying her was a nice experience but sadly this has been soured due to the false accusations of breakages.

Room Tip: Check the location and transport links before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keithw532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur S, Propriétaire at Salsas and Co, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear guest,
Yes, when we find a room with a broken furniture and no review about it from our guests at the moment of the checkout, we use to send an email asking for an explanation referring to the problem.
Generally, Salsas and Co don't ask for any deposit during the check in time because we try to offer an easy going check in depending of a respectable exchange. We are always opened to discussion in case of incident. So, it's quite disappointing and delicate to discover a broken place after departure.
Hopefully, everything has a solution and I'm happy to read that staying at Salsas and Co was a nice experience for you both.
Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    24
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
52
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at salsas and co for a couple of nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We arrived after 30 hours of travelling from Australia. Fleur was a wonderful host even before we arrived. Fleur organised for someone to meet us at the airport, which was fantastic. Was there to meet us when we arrived at her place. Salsas and co has a nice arty touch. The place is immaculately clean. The rooms are spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic, with several items handmade by fleur. Fleur even made us a chocolate cake for breakfast. Being vegetarian, fleur had even sourced good vegetarian restaurants for us and had their cards to pass on to us. Fleur was always helpful with information about barcelona, things to see and do and how to get around. Working out the barcelona bus system and the ten trip pass helped. And there is also an excellent train system. I would highly recommend fleur's place.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kym320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I were lucky to spend the week at this lovely bed and breakfast while in Barcelona.
Fleur is an amazing host and our room was exactly as it appeared on her website: crisp white linens on the bed, beautiful large window that opened into a courtyard. We felt as though we were staying at a much more expensive hotel!
The location is away from the busy tourist areas and very quiet (which we loved), yet it was easy to navigate the city on foot and by bus when necessary.
The breakfast was delicious, eggs made to order, homemade yoghurt and jam, an array of breads and fruit. A great way to start the day when traveling.
We highly recommend Fleur and her fabulous bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Proprietor Fleur is very helpful with advice and the B&B is well situated to catch taxis to and from the airport and within easy walking distance of both Red Route and Blue Route access points to the Bus Turistic, the hop-on hop-off tourist bus.
It has nice (shared) bathrooms and the breakfasts were perfect for a long day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: I took the budget room which only had access to a central ventilation shaft - but that's what I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMac15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Regrettably, in hindsight, we only had booked two nights to stay at Salsas. Regrettably because we didn't give Barcelona enough time and regrettably because Salsas is a fabulous place to stay. Fleur was a wonderful host: very attentive, always making sure our stay was pleasant and we had all the advice needed to find our way around the city. She suggested great restaurants, suburbs to visit and she made sumptuous small chocolate cakes for us. She's a great story teller, an open and very honest person, and she's creative, a quality that is reflected in the design of the place: it has a gorgeous simplicity about it, with unique and unusual times placed at just the right spots throughout.

There was no problem at all with bathroom sharing; in fact we cannot think about a single inconvenience! And pricing: we were charged exactly what had been advertised on the website - despite having had extra little morsels like the chocolate cakes or Fleur's attention and support.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

I went to Fleur's B&B with my 2 daughters. We enjoyed very much our stay. Comfortable, clean, convenient location, .... And an EXCELLENT breakfast! Not to mention a charming hostess. We could not have asked for more!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephaniehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Salsas & Co is an overpriced youth hostel – I am surprised that it is priced and evaluated as a mid-grade B&B.

My sister and I had planned to stay here for four nights (100 euros per night). We paid 130 euros via PayPal to confirm the room prior to arriving, but decided to leave—and lose some of the money—after only one night because:

1. The Salsas & Co website misrepresents the bathroom/bedroom ratio and the room appearance. In reality, there are two shared bathrooms for the four bedrooms on each floor. Some of the bedrooms are triples (which adds up to a lot of people using two bathrooms!). Our two bathrooms were poorly ventilated and generally occupied when we needed them. Also, we were advised not to shower after 10pm and before 7am. Our room consisted of small twin beds with only a fitted sheet, flat sheet, and pillow. The furniture consisted of the cheapest, particle board shelving, and paper streamers across the ceiling. The room looked NOTHING like the bed/room images we viewed on Trip Advisor or the Salsas & Co website. It was more uncomfortable than any youth hostel I’ve stayed in.

2. Our room lacked access to a window for fresh air. The room was so stuffy and sweltering that we sweated all night and couldn't sleep—the room was at least 10 degrees warmer than the outside temperature. (Our room had a fan, but fans are useless without fresh air!)

3. After one night, when we politely explained why we were leaving, the owner (Fleur) immediately yelled at us without giving us a chance to speak (via telephone—we never actually met her in person) and threatened to call the police. Her assistant grabbed my sister by the arm, blocked the door, and tried to refuse exit until we paid for three nights we wouldn’t use. We refused to pay for the three unused nights because we had already paid for MORE than the night we used. (As a side note, there was absolutely no cancellation policy, though Fleur angrily insisted that there was.)

4. The cooking classes were nowhere to be found.

Also, be aware of the following:

1. The B&B consists of eight rooms on two non-adjacent floors of a high-rise building. Only the lower four bedrooms are directly adjacent to the B&B lobby. The upper floor (located 2-3 floors above the lobby) is accessible via a tiny elevator and dark, stuffy hallway.

2. There is no inner courtyard conferring “peace and sweetness” (as the website proclaims). Rather, the rooms overlook a tall, narrow, dark, unused, courtyard. It lacks natural daylight or ventilation.

3. Check-in hours are very limited (2-6pm or so). You will get charged extra if you arrive after that. Late arrivals after 11pm are not tolerated (I have no idea what would happen if your flight to Barcelona was late...)

Of all B&B's, youth hostels, and hotels I've visited in Europe over a three month period, this was my worst experience and the worst value (by far). I would absolutely not return and would give it 0 stars if I could.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rachael_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur S, Propriétaire at Salsas and Co, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest,
I’m very sorry to read that you were so disappointed by your stay with us. I will simply respond briefly to your key points.

1. Our website does, we believe, reflect our ‘home from home’ and we have never before had anyone say that it is not representative. The images are a true reflection of our home and we request our guests to be considerate and, ideally, not use the shower late at night so as not to disturb others – but it is not forbidden! Just a general courtesy.

2. We don’t claim to have air conditioning for the moment, (it is not standard in the old part of Barcelona) and Barcelona is warm in the summer!


3. & 4. When a guest ask for checking out 3 nights earlier with the personal arguments like "Barcelona is too hot", unfortunately yes the booking has to be paid.
We of course respect your opinions but your recollection of the final conversation/actions, in our opinion, is not accurate. And we do have a cancellation policy but I have taken your point and will ensure it is more clearly indicated on our literature.

Finally, €100 euros for a superior double room with breakfast is not expensive for Barcelona and we are 25% less expensive than most other B&Bs in Barcelona. It's used to pay €130 to confirm a booking for 4 nights. At some other B&Bs a full payment in advance for all stay is required to confirm the booking in the high season i.e. now. We offered flexible way to book but 7 days before arriving is a non-refundable option.

Salsas and Co is dedicated to travellers, open to good experiences and shared moments with guests from all around the world, who love to cook and enjoy vintage style decoration. We are not a 4/5 star, impersonal business hotel with en suite bathrooms and air conditioning.

Nothing pretentious, just a home from home – to most guests. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Zenit Barcelona
#295 of 513 in Barcelona
457 reviews
Les Corts
Dream Cube Hostel
Dream Cube Hostel
#137 of 723 in Barcelona
80 reviews
Petit Hotel
#59 of 308 in Barcelona
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blanc Guesthouse
#38 of 308 in Barcelona
356 reviews
Eixample
Umma Barcelona Bed & Breakfast Boutique
Eixample
Hostal Argo Barcelona
Hostal Argo Barcelona
#33 of 308 in Barcelona
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salsas and Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salsas and Co

Property: Salsas and Co
Address: Josep Tarradellas 147 | 1st Floor ,1st Door, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salsas and Co is a guesthouse and a touristic apartment with Cookery Classes and catering service in option in the heart of Barcelona. It is a home from home for people who love to travel, discover the world and relax each night in intimate surroundings while experiencing exquisite new culinary delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Salsas and Co reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salsas And Co Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing