We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“*****Will stay again *****” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
Ranked #64 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“*****Will stay again *****”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2004

Good hotel, good location really friendly staff and EXCELLENT breakfast. A little disappointed on size of our room. But very clean and modern. Will stay again.... xx

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    724
    126
    58
    25
See reviews for
189
1,184
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Beach, Florida USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2004

We stayed at the H10Montcada in Barcelona one night in September before embarking on a cruise and 2 nights in October after returning from the cruise. Location, location... location was perfect not far from the port and right in middle of the Old Town (across from the Cathedral) and very accessabile to public transportation. Walking distance to The Ramblas, Picasso Museum and good restaurants. Yes, the rooms are small ( we had 4 large pieces of luggage for a month cruise and left them safely in hotel storage bringing up our overnight cases),but the rooms and baths are modern and spotless, the staff multilingual and anxious to please. Dinner one night in hotel restaurant very good with complimentary wine. A plus is the rooftop lounge area with a large hot tub and a splendid view of the city. As a serious photographer I enjoyed taking sunset and sunrise pictures of Barcelona and the spires of the Cathedral from the rooftop vantage point. We definitely would go back.

Helpful?
3 Thank ahdphoto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2004

The first imprssions were good, but when checking in we were given room 111, which is a ridiculously small room, there was not even room to unpack a suitcase, the mini bar could only open 15 cm, it was being blocked by the end of the bed, the dobble bed was on one side against the wall. When sleeping on the wall side you need to climb over to get out. Immediately after seeing this room went down to reception desk and said that this room was unacceptable ( we were staying 4 nights ! ) and we wanted another room. Much to our surprise we were informed that all hotel rooms in Barcelona were that small, and that there were no other rooms available and they were fully booked for the coming 4 nights.
Basicly we had no choise to move to another hotel and the room for the 4 nights was already paid for, and we were not getting our money back !
After an hour or so of argueing with reception and after our contacting our travel agent with whom we booked this hotel, we were finally informed that we would be able to get another room later in the evening arround 22:30 hrs ( we had checked in at 2:30 in the afternoon ). Nice way to start a long looked forward to break !!
We did in the evening get a bigger room. Staff was not at all helpfull.
The location of the hotel is great, but there are quite alot of hotels in that area and would definitly look into another hotel before staying at this one. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone and if you do go, be sure not to get room 111.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy Alice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2004

hotel in good location to all areas of city life. the rooms are small but are very clean. the only downside to this hotel is the noise at night the windows are only single glazed and if like us right on a corner of a busy street with an all night coffee shop opposite be prepared to buy earplugs if we had not been touring long periods of the day it probably wouldnt have mattered. any way staff are helpful restaurant manager always cheerful and the food was excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2004

Stayed two nights at the H10 Montcada from the 17th to 19th october . Great english speaking hotel in a good location next the Gothic quarter. Very helpful english speaking staff with a viewing area around the top of the hotel. Breakfast was wonderful and saved the cost of eating out first thing. Rooms were average in size but acceptable for tourism and the bathroom was great, (even a disposble razor was supplied).

Helpful?
2 Thank mpjj49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2004

My wife and I spent 10 days at the Montcada on our honeymoon in late September and early October and really enjoyed ourselves. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the buffet breakfast was good and the free Internet was another great benefit. Plus it's in an incredible location.

While the room was small we did not find it unreasonably so (and I'm more than 2 meters tall). It was nicely decorated and the bathroom was plenty spacious.

Altogether, it was a great place to spend our honeymoon. We'd return to the Montcada (and to Barcelona) in a minute.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coopstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2004

We arrived early straight off the tube and our room was ready. Cava on arrival is nice touch. Nice modern bathroom with walk-in type shower. Very good choice at breakfast. Great views from the roof garden.

Location is ideal near Barri Gothic and Born and opposite the tube station.

As regards other comments on this site, I don’t think this is a high crime area. The Born area is young and trendy, although like many gentrified areas it has a mixed population. Nonetheless, we felt comfortable walking around at night, especially if you stick to the main streets. There are probably fewer ‘arabs’ here than in my home
town. Barca is known for pickpocketing and bag snatchers, but I wouldn’t say this area was any higher risk than elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank reading222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#41 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#45 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#34 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#26 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel

Property: H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
Address: Via Laietana 24, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#46 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#121 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel h10 Montcada
h10 Montcada Hotel Barcelona
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing