We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Hotel”
Review of HCC Montblanc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HCC Montblanc
Ranked #226 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Central Hotel”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent 4 nights here at the end of June for our 10th anniversary visit to Barcelona.

Bed - bed was the stiff european style mattress which I quite like but it's not everyone's cup of tea. The only downside was the 2 single beds stuck together as a 'queen size' bed. There was nothing to hold them together so the beds split if you were lying in the middle.

Room - Room was standard hotel sized room, good blackout blinds, view over a street to the rear almost into someones living room but then we weren't in enough for this to make a difference. Laminate flooring which is a bit different in a bedroom and also means you can hear the people above sometimes. Bathroom was fine, does what its supposed to with a powerful shower. Only 3 electrical sockets in random places - under counter at front door and in the bathroom (cause I always plug my electrical items in over the sink!!)

Hotel - Didn't get to use the pool and pool area as our bags were lost in the Terminal 5 problems and we were bagless for most of the weekend. didin't use the restauarant or bar preferred to go out and sample some of the city centre bars and eateries.
Disappointed in the 5 euro a day charge for a safe key, felt like keeping it at that price!

Staff - The girls on reception are OK if a little abrupt, one in particular I think struggles with English making it hard to get across what you are looking for but then I struggle with Spanish or Catalan so I guess its all fair. One of the male receptionists whom we met on the first night was very helpful and pointed us in the direction of a shopping mall out of the centre a bit to pick up those essentials lost in our bags.

Overall - can't fault it, we didn't really hear any noise from the streets or anywhere else. You'll not go far wrong for an almost bang in the middle of the city hotel. Only 500m to Placa de Catalunya. Plenty of small cafes , bars and restaurants nearby to sample the local delicacies.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snab80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    515
    179
    39
    23
See reviews for
196
421
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
What Cheer
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Montblanc prior to going on a 12-day Mediterranean Cruise. The reception desk staff were friendly, but not overly. The hotel had a small bar, but we had to go to the desk to find someone to mix our drinks. The first night, the person was friendly, but the gentleman that waited on us the second night was very unfriendly and acted like he didn't like his job. He was the same gentleman that seated us for our breakfast and he was rude then, also. Maybe, he had to work a double shift, but he could have been friendly. The breakfast was included in our room rate and it was rather nice. I ordered a cheese omelet and it was very delicious. The hotel was located a couple of blocks from Placa de Catalunya and Ramblas, so it was conveniently located near the transportation hub of Barcelona. Overall, it was a nice place to stay for a couple of nights, if I was staying longer in Barcelona, I would have found a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhatCheerStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Decent hotel in fairly good location. I purchased this stay thru Priceline for $160, and later found it available thru my cruise line, NCL, for $120, including breakfast. Priceline's "Best Price" gaurantee is not worth the paper it's printed on. They would not honor the "Best Price" so I will never use Priceline again. As far as this hotel, it's within walking distance of plenty tourist sites. We must have been booked in the smallest of rooms, tanks Priceline! thank God it was for just one nite.The front desk staff was nice and efficient, and allowed us to check in at 10AM...thank you Montblanc! It was clean, the beds were average at best, only 2 towels in the bath, no wash cloths or hand towels, and the TV was in a corner so that you had to look over your shoulder to view it...that sucked. Hard to find english channels, maybe one or two. They did have a fully stocked mini bar. The pool was very small. I will not stay here again as there are no redeeming qualities to overcome the Priceline screwing I got. Not the fault of Montblanc, but I was pissed for the small room and the price, Priceline created the ill will.

Room Tip: ask for a better room, not on the street and possibly better than facing a wall with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great location! Very close to the Place de Catalunya, the Gothic Quarter, and great restaurants and walking distance to St Catherine's Market and Casa Batllo.

However, the room was not nice enough for the price. The road noise was incredibly loud. Although we were on the 6th floor it sounded like we were standing in the street. There was also a bit of an echo, since it had wood floors and little furniture, which probably made the street noise worse. The bed was really springy, so whenever you move the whole bed rocks. The walls were really thin and I could hear entire conversations of the people next door.

The breakfast was really good, wide variety and fresh. The pool was nice, clean and plenty of seating, but the pool bar was over-priced. I had the pay 2 euro for a 10oz water bottle.

Overall, the hotel was ok for us. We were only there 2 nights and spent most of our waking hours sightseeing, but if you're going to be there for your whole vacation, I would definitely avoid this place (especially if you're a light sleeper)

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the terrace instead of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hotel was ideal overall. Great location between Place de Catalunya and Gothic Quarter means many attractions are within walking distance. Rooms had everything you needed (including mini bar and great air con) and were clean and spacious. The road outside the hotel is very busy but our room was at the side so no problems with road noise. Breakfast again had everything you needed. Plenty of choice although would have preferred fresh fruit to tinned. Down sides were service at piano bar was very slow and you have to pay a daily fee (approx 5 euros) to use the room safe. Most staff were efficient and friendly and dealt with any requests quickly. Overall a good base that doesn't cost the earth.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hotel is well placed for visiting main attractions. Rooms are clean and comfortable but those overlooking main road are noisy. Staff ok and breakfast ok too. It is nothing special but we didn't spend much time in it. Pool is not much bigger than my bath but again wasn't going to use it anyway. My husband had told staff it was a trip for a special birthday but they didn't mark it which he was disappointed about

Room Tip: Avoid one facing road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theploppys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at the HCC Montblanc as a group. The check in was quite slow as everyone had to show their passport and it had to be registered, but I guess that is a standard procedure and they were really doing all to make it as fast as possible. The service was great, they were always happy to help and welcoming us back with a smile.
The rooms were very clean, a bit dated, but they have updated their textiles so it gives a fresh look to the rooms. All that is needed is there. Big closets, big bathroom, minibar, tv. We had a big window to the Via Laietana and there was absolutely no noise in the room, very good windows! The beds were great and the AC worked perfectly.
The pool area was a nice place to sit and have a drink. The pool is quite small, but nice and refreshing on a hot day.
The only minus probably was the piano bar's service. Incredibly slow. Really nice people working there, but it really seemed they did not know anything about the job at all. Even looking for a bottle of water took about 5 minutes, offering tonic instead of sparkling and I ended buying still.
The breakfast was great, a lot to choose from, very yummy pastries! Excellent coffee.
All in all, it might not be the fanciest hotel, but it is really a very good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#162 of 512 in Barcelona
1,470 reviews
Eixample
Hotel HCC Regente
Hotel HCC Regente
#257 of 512 in Barcelona
515 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#219 of 512 in Barcelona
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
HCC St. Moritz
HCC St. Moritz
#255 of 512 in Barcelona
482 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#65 of 512 in Barcelona
1,157 reviews
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#254 of 512 in Barcelona
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HCC Montblanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HCC Montblanc

Property: HCC Montblanc
Address: Via Laietana 61, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#184 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HCC Montblanc 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HCC Montblanc is situated right in the heart of the city, just 500 metres from Plaza Catalunya and bordering the charismatic Gótico neighbourhood. The hotel's location makes it the best choice for soaking up the atmosphere and life of Barcelona, and for discovering or revisiting its most emblematic corners, such as the Palau de la Música, the Ramblas, the Cathedral, Plaza Catalunya, the neighbourhoods of the Born and Barceloneta, among many others. Hotel HCC Montblanc is a new building, and has recently been extended. The hotel makes a good choice for a stay that is full of contrasts and unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your HCC Montblanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HCC Montblanc Barcelona, Catalonia
Hcc Montblanc Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing