We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #45 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire ,England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not a great second visit”
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This could be an amazing hotel. The location is excellent and beautiful.One of the few hotels to overlook the water at the front but has the twisty lanes of the shops and bars of the Barri Gotic straight behind. A 10 min walk to La Ramblas or 15 to the beach on either side.

I had enjoyed a stay here 4 years ago so made an early (prepaid) booking for myself and friend for a girls weekend away. I checked my twin bed booking with the hotel two weeks before arrival and asked for a room on a high floor. I did stress we were friends and liked our space. I received a email agreeing to both and stated that the classic rooms were all 25m. On arrival (15 mins, E30 by taxi from airport) we were given room 14. Ground floor at the bottom of a tiny internal courtyard. My friend described it as a dungeon. It was the smallest darkest room I have ever seen and certainly not 25m. Why would you give a returning guest such a poor room?

The receptionist said it was the only room available. We said we were leaving .He then found a room on the fifth floor (54) but with a double bed.The next day the only room we could change to was on the third floor so we stayed put. The rooms need a bit of a sprucing up although we saw carpet being put in so maybe it's being done. There's no drawer space ,tea/coffee facilities or chocolate on the pillow.On the third day they put a bottle of Cava in the room for our troubles but this was only because we had complained a lot.
We went to the Hotel 1898 for a drink as this would have been our second choice. The location was not as good but the level of service and attention to detail totally outshone the Duquesa. The waiter insisted on changing my cocktail when he noticed I wasn't drinking it and there were blankets, patio heaters and free nibbles brought out with our terrace drinks. The staff at the Duquesa had to be tracked down all the time and did the minimum expected only bringing things if asked- for example pool towels and chair cushions for the outdoor seating.
Breakfast was included and whilst not much of a choice was OK. Coffee was horrid though and the buffet is set up in a totally awkward corner so you have lots of guests bumping into each other.
Having said that the location is the best with the charming bars literally behind the hotel and some fantastic places to eat. There's a place next to Sensqui(?) that has a E16 set dinner menu that is fantastic.
I might stay again because of location alone but do make sure you don't pay more than E150 a night because it's not good value.Other guests are all very nice and are a slightly older, well heeled bunch.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear Ms Eade
First of all thank you for writing about our hotel. This is the only way we can know about the opinion of our guests, and how do they feel meanwhile they are with us.
I am terribly sorry your second experience with us did not acomplish your expectations. I have been talking to reception to find out more about what happened, and they informed me about your experience, and how they tried to find another better room, being impossible to offer you a Deluxe room, since this superior type of room was reserved in advance by other guests.
This should type of room should have been offered to you at the moment of making the reservation or should have been informed it was not available, if they were already booked.
Please accept my most sincere apologies.
If you honoured us staying in our hotel one more time, I will personaly make sure your experience with us is totally different.
Thank you again for writing about us, and hopefully, we see you again
Kindest regards
Sandra Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    529
    77
    26
    19
See reviews for
373
917
55
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Harbour view room very comfortable and initial problem with aircon was resolved instantly. We got the impression that nothing was too much trouble for the staff and that customer service was paramount. Ideally located out of the bustle of the city centre and within easy walking distance of great quality restaurants. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Book harbour room view. A bit extra but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed here from 27th March - 1st April 2011 to celebrate my 60th Birthday.
The Hotel is beautiful, the rooms clean & quiet (could do with more draw space), the breakfasts are plentiful & the staff charming, friendly & polite.
The location is wonderful, perfect for a first time visitor ready to explore the lovely city of Barcelona.
I would highly recommend this hotel for couples & families.
We will definately be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hq014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duquesa1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. This is the only way we have to know how our clients spend their holidays with us, and the only way to improve.
This encourage us to keep working hard

See you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Great hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff, a pity that the season was to young for a swim on the rooftop, a good reason to go back again in the summertime.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank len1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

The Duquesa deserves its four stars in all regards: sound-proof, comfortable room, knowledgeable and courteous staff, superb location, excellent breakfast included, and exceptional value at Barcelona rates at E148 less 10% discount for our 3 days. The adapted historic palace is lovely. The roof top bar has great views over the waterfront. We loved being in this location where we could easily walk to the waterfront, including Barceloneta. The waterfront is beautiful, dynamic and fun-filled, including the Museu d'Historia de Catalunya, scores of restaurants, beaches, and the most wonderful children's play area with controlled trampolines and large transparent bubbles that children scramble in as they float on the water. Just don't eat in the Sailor Restaurant a few doors away - the slowest, most frustrating meal we've had in years. We valued the excellent City Bus Tour (on and off at any stop), the Sagrada de Familia of Antonio Gaudie, the Mies van der Rohe Pavillion on Monjuic, and the two Teleferiques - one taking us back to the waterfront. Two restaurant big splurges were commerc, 24 and Cinc Sentits, both out of this world (tasting menus) (reservations mandatory). In Barceloneta Cancosta Restaurant had wonderful paella.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Near the marina and a short walk from the old town, this hotel is well positioned for a short break. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms comfortable and ours at the rear very quiet. Rooftop terrace and bar has excellent views over the port but out of season it was a bit difficult to get service. Good breakfast and if you can get a a special rate for room and breakfast, the hotel is fair value.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quantockm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

A lovely hotel. Negatives: afternoon coffee is free BUT be careful not to take any cake or you'll be charged for it (€6). No evening restaurant service (at least, not at the time we went). Slow bar/snack service. Breakfast variable - for example, I pointed out one morning that the scrambled egg was cold. Whilst they offered to cook me fresh scrammbled egg (good), they did nothing about the fact that the "hot" food tray was sitting in a bain-marie of cold water (bad). When my "freshly cooked" egg arrived, it had black bits in and appeared to be re-heated egg. No English-speaking TV channels. Positives: good location for tourist locations. Free wi-fi internet. Lazy breakfasts. Good size rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rammblings101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#24 of 513 in Barcelona
244 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
541 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 513 in Barcelona
150 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#33 of 513 in Barcelona
1,313 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Property: Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing