We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor batman” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #44 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor batman”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The hotel is positioned but noises as they are building next door. The reception staff and breakfast were excellent. There is a top floor open terrace bar with great views and poor service. The bar man had to be searched for to get a drink and had never heard of rioja. He never came back to offer a second drink and had to be searched for again. Then when it was time to sign our people we had to search for him again and eventually he was found. We signed the bill. Then we checked out in the moring and paid our bill. Sadly we didn't read the detail until after we had left. Of course the bar man had charged our drinks and also another rooms drinks to our bill. I guess the other people had given up waiting for the bar man to reappear so had just left. So he thought he would hide is laziness by giving us the bill.

Room Tip: Don't use the top terrace bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank robin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Director General at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post this review. We appreciate that you remarked so positively on our reception staff and breakfast service, the situation and great views from the terrace. At the same time we wish to apologize for the inattention in the terrace and the incorrect charge on your bill, we sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. We would really like to clear the error with the refund of the mistaken charge and to invite you to the drinks you had, so please if you could contact the hotel, directly to Cristina Reus, we will be happy to refund the amount.

Thank you again for your detailed feedback.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    519
    75
    24
    18
See reviews for
356
883
52
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had such a hard time finding an affordable and nice room for a family of 4 in Barcelona until we came across Duquesa de Cardona. Our "family" room had 1 king, 1 sofa bed (which they add an additional cushion over the sofa mattress), 2 large size bathrooms that include 1 bath each and 2 showers.
Upon arrival we were warmly greeted with a glass of cava.
Our family was very pleased with the breakfast service! We visited the beautiful rooftop area. We chose to go elsewhere for drinks as they were priced a bit steep compared to nearby restaurants. $12 sangria vs. $3.50 for example. There were lovely restaurants nearby. A short walk takes you to Columbus Monument and Las Ramblas. We felt very safe in this hotel area. Our family room was facing a quaint alley. The room was nice and quiet and suited our needs well. The hotel is lovely, clean and decorated very tastefully. During a pass through the lobby I could hear reception going above and beyond for a guest making numerous calls to assist them in changing their airline reservation. I was impressed! I have already recommended it to others!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at Duquesa de Cardona for a long weekend. Centrally located, close to Las Ramblas, the port, gothic quarter etc.

The Good:
- Location. Close to a number of Barcelona sights, and really close to a number of restaurants and bars
- Rooftop bar. Great place to chill out and beautiful views

The Bad:
- Rooms. Standard rooms are very small and almost windowless (1 window 10 cm wide)
- Service. Hotel staff really didn't seem to care about guest, and were on what I would consider rude side (except for the roof top bar folks)

Overall not a bad place, but there is a number of much better options in Barcelona

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atomic1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Director General at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing with us your experience. It is greatly appreciated and your comments would help us to improve our standards. We sincerely apologise for not having fullfilled your expectations. Our standard rooms are the lowest category, but in any case they have always been highly valued by our guests specially lately that they have been fully renovated two months ago. Only to remark that we do not have any room with the window size you mention, as the smallest window (and all are minimum 2 meters high) is more than 50cms wide, the construction has maintain the original façades of the XIX century.
Anyway, we hope to have the opportunity welcome you in a near future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Nicely located near to the port and Las Ramblas with a lovely rooftop bar to visit to get your night of to a great start. Clean spacy rooms with balconies facing the port. Also near some nice restaurants and bars, Quiet in the day with a buzz throughout the night. Feels upmarket at reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Ask to change rooms if not happy when first booked in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spicyshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Duquesa de Cardona for one night in May prior to embarking on a cruise from Barcelona. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The bathroom was larger than I expected for European standards and it was spotless. The tub is a soaking tub and wonderful for taking a bath with the complimentary bath salts. Especially after a very long flight from the states. The bedroom was a decent size and the bed was comfortable. I wish we were a couple of floors higher because the trees blocked our view of the port. The rooftop bar was nice to have a drink and the view from there is wonderful. The staff was very helpful in directing us wherever we were heading to. Las Ramblas is a quick walk from the hotel, don't miss the Farmers Market on Las Ramblas. I recommend the Flamenco Show on Las Ramblas "Tablao Flamenco Cordobes". The entire show was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Barcelona and if I get the chance to return, I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher Rooms have a better room. Upgrade to a deluxe..its worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne0620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
342 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had chosen this hotel because of its location (close to La Rambla, the port, etc). It is true to say that locationwise it is very well placed. You can access the main tube lines within minutes and the hotel is very accessible. The staff was very friendly and welcoming and our stay went without any problems at all.

I was slightly disappointed by the room however. We had chosen that hotel because it was a boutique and luxury hotel and so expected something a bit more ... luxurious. The room decor was very minimalist, a bit like the Sofitel in Gatwick airport - except that you expect that from Sofitel but not from a boutique hotel in Barcelona. So, functional is the word here. A bed (good one), a table, a safe, a armchair and a minibar. The bathroom is nice and well appointed (if you can manage to take your shower without flooding the room) and the whole stay was pleasant.

Breakfast was good enough, with a good selection of meats, cheeses, juices etc. It would be good though if the chef could distinguish between scrambled eggs and broken up omelette.

So, overall a good hotel but overpriced for the basic level of luxury it offers. I am sure you can get better value in equally well located places in Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OYP-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had our reception dinner on the small rooftop terrace here last Saturday, 25/5 and could not have asked for anything more! The hotel staff was attentive, accommodating, and kind, and the food was top-notch. The views were unparalleled and this location was the perfect end to a perfect day. We cannot say enough good things about the hotel Duquesa de Cardona or the management. Thank you very much!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aldiaz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Director General at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your experience with us.
Our rooftop terrace is indeed a magical place! It was our pleasure to have you as our guests and if we could give a magic touch to this special occasion for you, we cannot be more satisfied. We hope you all the best on your marriage!.
We hope you left with great memories from our city and our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#21 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#22 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#28 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Property: Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing