We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #46 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A great hotel for a family break in barcelona. The terrace bar and plunge pool added to the whole experience. We would definitely stay there again either as a family or as a couple. They recommended some good places to eat and definitely book in advance for tickets at the sagrada to avoid the two hour queue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollies_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear guest;
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona during your stay in our city . I am happy to hear we were a good option for your family. Indeed, Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers very convinient options for families, and also group of friends.
Actually in a couple of weeks we will have 3 new rooms for 4 adults facing passeig Colom. For those who prefer connecting rooms, this is also possible ( Classic + Deluxe)

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel very soon.

Kindest regards

Sandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,846)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 1,846 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great friendly staff and a very warm welcome (and not just because of the cava they offered). Location is prefect, close to the marina, the beach and the gotic quarter. Beautiful room and bathroom. Very clean. Beds were perfect. Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, bread, pastry, different kinds of ham, cheese, yoghurt, cereals, eggs, bacon, sausages, juice, tea, coffee. We didn't have time to try the pool or the roof top bar/restaurant but we enjoyed the roof terrace and it's a very nice extra! We would love to visit this hotel again next time we visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fee050Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest;
We are happy to hear your comments about our staff and the warm welcome you received from us. Thank you very much for such a nice review and your comments about our unbeatable location , buffet breakfast and roof terrace.

In a future visit to Barcelona, we would be very happy to welcome you again in Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona.

With kind regards

Sandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Very friendly helpful staff in this small hotel. Had breakfast one day out of the 4 days we stayed but found the dining room too cramped and everything self serve even tea & coffee from a vending machine, our room was a good size with a comfy bed and modern bathroom. The air con was very noisy and the decor very basic. Not what I expected from a four star hotel. Roof terrace was lovely and location fantastic. La Ramblas just around the corner but cafe's and Tapas bars were very expensive compared to those on the back streets which were much cheaper and better food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Glamarkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest;
Thank you very much for choosing hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona, and for taking the time to review our hotel.
Indeed, in our buffet breakfast we have a Nexpresso coffee machine with different options: Ristretto, Lungo, etc. After trying different ways and different brands of coffee in the past years, to fullfith the expectations of our guests , this one has been the better welcomed one . However, we thank you very much your constructive comments about it since this helps us to know what our clients need and what they do prefer.

Thank again, and we hope to welcome you in our hotel in a future visit to Barcelona.

With kind regards

Sandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel in early October. We booked online and didn't really know what to expect. We couldn't have been any more pleased. It is located within walking distance of all the places of interest, Las Ramblas, the Port, the tourist buses, the beach and the Gothic Quarter.

The staff couldn't have been any more friendly and helpful. The roof terrace was perfect and the mojitos went down a treat. On the days when the weather turned chilly, the staff offered us blankets so that we could sit out on the terrace for longer. Breakfast was relaxed and always good and the room was serviced quickly and efficiently.

Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethesunhine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for visiting hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona during your last visit to Barcelona. We are happy to hear you liked our location in the city, and the service from our staff.
Indeed our terrace on the sixth floor is ready to welcome our guests all year through, since the Mediterranean weather is very mild, and even in December or January, with heaters and a blanket, it is still very comfortable to be there and enjoy the fantastic views.

Thank you for your excellent review, and hopefully see you again!

With kind regards

Sandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I love, love, love this boutique hotel! Its location is right across from the port, a few blocks from Las Ramblas and right around the corner from two cute little casual tapas bars: Boga and La Plata. In nice weather (and my stay was on October 24th), the hotel's rooftop terrace (with tiny pool) is open, serving lunch and drinks and offering a superb view.

The above alone would be enough for me to love the hotel but while checking out, the woman at the desk received a phone call from the housekeeping person who was cleaning my room. I had left a dress and a blazer behind in the wardrobe! The housekeeping person's quick action prevented me from sailing away--literally--without two of my favorite garments.

A terrific place with fabulous, service-oriented people!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Ms Judi;

Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for staying at the hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona. We are glad to hear we fullfithed your expectations, and felt comfortable in our property.

We would be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel in a future visit to Barcelona

With kind regards

Sandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We would highly recommend this hotel as we loved the location with its marina views. Also near to Aquarium and La Ramblas. On arrival enjoyed complimentary drink then lunch on the roof terrace in the october sun while enjoying another glass!. The hotel concierge was very helpful as were all the staff. Lovely find, nice to get back to the hotel to relax (lovely comfortable big beds ) after the hustle of Barcelona. Only gripe is that the only bar was on the terrace that did not have any heaters.Near to the charasmatic lanes where the choice of eating authentic paella was in abundance and doing the city break ritual of 'people watching'.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 126faraway13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest;

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona.
We appreciate your kind words about our staff, and we are happy you liked our welcome drink with cava in our roof terrace.
Regarding the heaters: in october we introduced 4 new heaters in our roof terrace, and blankets to keep enjoying our terrace cocktail bar also in winter. We are sorry if they were not there yet during your stay with us!

Thank you very much again, and we hope we welcome you again at Duquesa de Cardona hotel in Barcelona

With kind regards

Sandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel met all our expectation and more. The location was perfect. The staff at the hotel made you feel like you were part of their family and went out of their way for us to make our stay there very pleasurable. The view from the rooftop was the best ever. We will return for a longer stay in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic review, and for choosing Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona during your visit. We appreciate very much your kind words about our hotel and staff. We are very happy to hear you felt at home , and as a part of our family . These are indeed very nice words to hear

We hope next time you can stay longer with us, and enjoy again together the experience

With kind regards

Sandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#35 of 513 in Barcelona
292 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#67 of 513 in Barcelona
575 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#26 of 513 in Barcelona
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,352 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 513 in Barcelona
191 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £142 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing