We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #45 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Spent 3 nights visiting Barcelona with my husband.
Top service,good location, close to the opera,beach, seafood restaurants
Excellent breakfast
Comfortable beds. Nice top terrace.
We Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lisedal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Lisedal,

We appreciate your time taken to write this review about your stay with us. We thank your for your kind words regarding location, berakfast, beds, terrace and ‘top service’. Comments like yours make us feel proud to belong to the great team of the Duquesa de Cardona and your encourage us to keep working to maintain and improve the excellence in service.
We are looking forward to welcome you very soon again.

Kind regards,
Cristina Reus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    529
    77
    26
    19
See reviews for
373
917
55
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Great location and quaint hotel with nice amenities.
We opted for a nicer and larger room considering our next 9 days would be spent in a small room aboard a cruise line. :)
The only thing I found odd was the lack of a bell boy. This wasn't a deal killer but after 14 hours of travel to get to the hotel, it would have been nice for someone to assist with our luggage both at the curb and to our room. Other than this, the hotel and it's location is astounding.
It is across the street from the ocean. From the front of the hotel, few obstructions prevent you from seeing the ocean. Our room was in the back of the hotel and the two small decks overlooked an alley. A very nice alley mind you. Filled with shops, bars and restaurants. We enjoyed watching and interacting with the people down below!
I can't imagine not finding what you may need within a 2 block radius. It's accessible to some of the best restaurants, shopping and nightlife within Barcelona.
When your ready to shut it all out and go to sleep, the hotel is very quiet and the doors to the deck were double doors. No outside sound.

The king size bed and linens were well above average quality. No Sofitel but better than most.

We had two separate bathrooms. Nice touch. A living room that sat in the same room as the bedroom. The furniture could use some light mending but nothing that warrants immediacy.

Checkout was simple and they even held our bags for 5 hours while we toured the city prior to our cruise.

If this review was helpful, please give me a thumbs up!!! Thanks.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FuninPlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear FuninPlaya,

Thank you very much for choosing hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona. We felt very happy to know that for you ‘the hotel and location is astounding’. We are certainly in the heart of the Gothic quarter, an area very lively with traditional bars and shops. As you mention, all the rooms are soundproof, but with triple-glazed windows! I would like to apologize for the inconvenience regarding your cases, we always offer the service to assist you with our luggage both at the curb and to your room and store them for the needed time, I wonder what it might have happened to fail at this occasion.
Indeed, our hotel is very convenient for cruise passengers, since we are near the terminals Moll Adossat (Adossat Quay ) and A,B,C and D Terminals. At the same time, our hotel is 3 minutes walking distance to the Ramblas.
We hope to welcome you again in our city and in our hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Duquesa de Cardona is a beautiful small boutique hotel right next to the harbour . We stayed here in November .
On our arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the receptionist Ivan , who spoke perfect English . After checking in he told us our room would not be ready for half an hour ,but for us not to worry because that would give him time to give us an idea where to go on our short stay in Barcelona , which I have to say his advice was excellent . Almost forgot on our arrival we were also greeted with a glass off Cava ( great way to start our stay ) .
Our room was a deluxe double looking over the harbour , great views albeit over a busy road out side . We thought the noise from the road would be a problem , but it wasn't the room had double double glazing so we heard nothing . The bed was very comfortable with a choice of three different types of pillow the bathroom was a good size as was the whole room .
The hotel is a great place to base yourself to explore Barcelona .
I cannot say enough about the staff at this hotel .... from our checkin with Ivan to any needs or information we needed the staff were 5 star class . Well done Duquesa de Cardona for help making our stay so good . We will be back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Mr.Andrew R,

We truly appreciate the wonderful comments you had about your stay. We strive to make our guests stay with us as enjoyable as possible and we feel very glad that we were able to do so in your case. We are looking forward to welcome you again in a near future!

Best Regards,
Cristina Reus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in the Gothic Quarter overlooking the Marina and within a short stroll of la Rambla. Starting at the top, it has a very nice rooftop bar, which also has a plunge pool tucked away in a corner. The bedrooms were all very nice, my mother, who is a wheelchair user, was in the disability adapted one on the first floor and found it very easy to use and very comfortable.... Breakfast was served in a light and airy room with a good selection at the buffet.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and we are already thinking of a return visit to this amazing city and gem of a hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 1MisterRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear 1MisterRee,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review and sharing your high opinion with us. We are very glad to kwow that your mother and you had a great stay with us. We appreciate your words regarding our facilities, location, views and, of course, our staff!
Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon in our home in Barcelona.

Yours faithfully,
Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I booked this hotel as a surprise holiday for my husbands 40th birthday. The hotel is in an excellent location, all the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed for 3 nights and our room was situated at the front of the hotel, we thought that it would be noisy as there is a main road outside but in fact we heard absolutely no noise whatsoever and had the most fantastic nights sleep. The roof top terrace was an amazing place to have a drink in the evenings, we stayed in November but even though the evenings were a bit nippy they have heaters and even supplied us with blankets!! Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting the beautiful city of Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Helen

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are happy to hear you felt welcomed by our staff, and enjoye our Deluxe room . Indeed, our insonorized balcony windows work very well and our clients do not have to worry at all about traffic or any typical city noise.

Thank you again for choosing us, and we hope to see you again in our property!

With kind regards

Sandra Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Nice hotel, but little touches missing, it would have been nice to have a fully stocked bathroom, tissues were empty , and no shower cap. There was a nice message saying you could request any item, but it would have been nice to have few more items for 2people as only one soap , one shower gel etc. also plug was not working so no relaxing bath.
Bed was comfortable as was room in general but pool much smaller than in the pictures. Staff very pleasant, did not have breakfast as we had other plans but in general a nice hotel for the price, mp3 dock would have been nice as would later opening time in hotel bar .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CC142013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for choosing hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona and taking time to share your opinion with other guests. We take into consideration your comments and opinions, and we will keep working to make sure next time you decide to choose our hotel in Barcelona, we fullfith your expectations!

With kind regards

Sandra Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights before our cruise and 4 nights after our cruise. Front desk was very friendly and helpful when we needed directions or recommendations, especially the lady on duty during weekdays, I wish I remembered her name, the room was clean and well decorated (we had the superior room overlooking the port) and nice long and deep bathtub for soaking after all of the walking we did. We like to walk, so the location was perfect. Short walk to the Rambla, all of the restaurants in the Bario Gotic, and the beach. We even walked to our cruise ship with our small rolling suitcases, but I don't recommend that, except for those that are fit and really love to walk. It's a 5 or 10 minute taxi to the cruise terminal. We also walked to the Sagrada Familia (about 3 miles) because we think it is the best way to really get a feel for the city. The zoo is a short walk if you have children or just like zoos. We rode the hop on/hop off bus the first day and highly recommend it, the bus stops a few blocks from the hotel. For dinner, I recommend a walk to the Placa Reial, a large plaza with restaurants that surround the entire plaza, from pizza to fine dining and great atmosphere and people watching.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have a view of the port. Although the street noise prevents keeping the windows o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank steverino27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest

First of all, thank you very much for taking your time reviewing our hotel, and of course, for choosing it in between all the excellent hotels in Barcelona.
We are happy to have been a convinient options for a cruise traveller because of our location.

Thank you very much for sharing your tips about our city with our future guests!

With kind regards, we wish you a very wonderful week!

Sandra Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#24 of 513 in Barcelona
244 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
541 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 513 in Barcelona
150 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#33 of 513 in Barcelona
1,313 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Property: Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing