We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #46 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed with my family and all of us enjoyed our stay. Clean, good view and romantics. For new couple, they definitely will fully utilize the room set up especially for the transperance bathroom. For muslim travellers, you can easily find the Halal restaurant about 100m on the right of the hotel. Metro is a little bit far (about 10minutes walking distance) but it is ok for us as the weather is cold and fresh. La Rambla just 10-15 minutes walking distance).
I am surprice when open the hotel bill envelope where they enclose inside with a bar of Anatller chocolate. Make sure you ask for more chocolate bar during check out because it is very tasty.
Highly thanks for the helpful and friendly reception staffs.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for higher floor to get a good sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Azharbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Azharbob,

We cannot thank you enough for your nice review! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your family and yourself in our hotel and everything was in perfect order.
We appreciate your lovely comments on the hotel, and particularly our family bedrooms, newly renovated with great care for best comfort, and of course your kind words about our staff! Our team do strive to exceed all our guests expectations and to read that we have succeeded is just fantastic.
Certainly, the hotel is a perfect base to explore the city, located just at the hearth of the city, facing the harbour, and only minutes walking from the main sights of the city.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in a near future!

Kind regards,
Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,846)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 1,846 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spend a nice time at Duquesa de Cardona.Is a perfect place specially for sea and yacht lovers.Take a room with sea view and enjoy your life!You can watcn the sea and yachts directly from your bed.
Or simply go to the bar at the 6 floor.Fantastic view!

Room Tip: Try to have a room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Todor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Todor K,

We really appreciate your positive review about your last stay with us, your motivating words encourage us to keep working hard to fulfill or better exceed our guest’s expectations.
The hotel is indeed is ideally located and a perfect base to explore the city. From our rooptop bar terrace you can see paronamic and unique views of the harbour, even cruise ships, which are only ten minutes away from the hotel. In order to guarantee harbour view rooms it is better to book them directly to our hotel.
All the team of the Duquesa de Cardona is looking forward to welcoming you in a near future, possibly next summer to enjoy our delicious BBQ on the terrace?

Kind regards,
Cristina Reus
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had 3 nights stay in this hotel and I highly recommend it to anyone who visit Barcelona. The room was very comfortable and clean. Fro roof you can have a great view. Staffs were all helpful and they even spoke English. Nice hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra van N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Overall not a bad hotel .. room a very good size and outlook from window pleasant .. but the decor in the rooms was remarkably gloomy .. this is the Mediterranean and the hotel is in a great location on the main streets between old town and the harbour, but inside the greys and browns and gloomy paintings felt like some business city ... and it was not so good that the power cut off in the middle of the day (with warning given only an hour or so beforehand)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank G9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear G9876,

We really appreciate your feedback about your last stay at the Duquesa de Cardona. The hotel is indeed ideally located and a perfect base to explore the city. From our rooftop bar terrace you can enjoy paronamic and unique views of the harbour.
Regarding decoration, it intends to preserve the building’s history to create an harmonious atmosphere in the original residence of the Dukes of Cardona. We regret that it did not fulfill your expectations, thank you for your comment and we will consider it for future renovations.
We indeed apologize for the inconveniences caused by the power cut, it was beyond our control and due to a power failure on the public utility network, that also affected our system. Actually, it rarely happens in Barcelona. We informed our guests as soon as we were alerted by the municipal technical services.
Thank you again for your comments and hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and found the hotel to be perfectly adequate. It's in a good location - handy for La Rambla. It's a small hotel so you benefit from there being no hustle and bustle. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. We stayed in a classic room which was fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear CTMOLY,

Thank you very much for your positive review after your stay at the Duquesa de Cardona. Our hotel is indeed ideally located to explore the Gothic quarter and the main sights in Barcelona. All our team wish you a Merry Christmas and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kind regards,
Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We had a fantastic stay in Barcelona for four nightS. The Duquesa certainly added to the enjoyment of the trip. From being presented with a glass of fizz on arrival to being shown to our room, the overall quality of the staff, service and the facilities shone through.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and appointed. The rooftop bar is an obvious winner with great service and outstanding views over the port.
The location of the hotel is perfect as well. It faces the port and all that the beach and harbour can offer. It also backs onto the Gothic Quarter and is only 400 yards from LAs Ramblas.

Heartily recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raggyessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Raggyessex,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us, we are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. We really appreciate your kind words about our facilities, location, terrace, views and, of course, staff! Certainly, most rooms have been renovated this year, in 2013, and for your comments we know the result has been very good. Thank you again for choosing us, and we hope to welcome you in your next visit to Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

my wife, daughter and i (from south africa) stayed at the hotel duquesa de cardona for 3 days prior to boarding a cruise ship to south america.
the hotel experience was wonderful from the moment we checked in--the very attractive lady on reception was very fluent in english and most helpfull in what to do during our stay in barcelona.
the hotel itself was immaculate and our room was enormous with two full bathrooms.
the only negative was that their lovely roof-top bar facility was being used by an advertising company to film a commercial so we were not allowed up there for two of the days which was a pity as the views over the marina are spectacular.
the locality of the hotel is perfect for access to the marina/port/beaches/las ramblas and hop-on hop-off busses.
barcelona is a fantastic city and we would like to return some day and would definately stay at the same hotel---highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank patrick_bradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Patrick,

First of all, thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your feedback about your experience at the Duquesa de Cardona. Our hotel is indeed very convenient for a cruise traveller because of our location, just a few minutes from all terminals. We are glad to see that our spacious family rooms were useful for your family and yourself. We take note about your comment about the terrace, if we occasionally have an event in the terrace, we always take care not to disturb our guests and to offer in the same terrace an area always available for the bar service. We truly appreciate your comments that allow us to improve every day. All the team of the Duquesa de Cardona wish you a Merry Christmas and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future!

Best Regards,
Cristina Reus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#35 of 513 in Barcelona
292 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#67 of 513 in Barcelona
575 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#26 of 513 in Barcelona
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,353 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 513 in Barcelona
191 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £142 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing