We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #46 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Surf City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic front desk. Never too much of a problem to help you with directions, tours, restaurants etc.
Great location with the waterfront right there and many restaurants to choose from behind the hotel.
Pricy but most hotels in this area are.
The roof top deck offers a great view of the waterfront .
Good breakfast too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripleJ366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,170
    537
    78
    28
    19
See reviews for
386
924
58
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My beloved fiance took me on this amazing surprise trip to Barcelona and proposed to me near the hotel... :) The crew was unbelievable, so welcoming, explaining and nice. The breakfast was very very good, big variety. The cleaning standards are very high. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the Ramblas and basically ON the amazing Gothic Quarter. very central and near everything. there were some noises from the street sometimes, but it's only because the hotel is so close to pubs and restaurants. 5 stars, defiantly will visit again, speechless! BRAVO!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Con1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A good hotel, with very helpful reception staff,( we arrived at 0830 off a ship and our room was available very quickly) and a really good breakfast. Like many hotels in Spain, there is a lack of bar-lounge area. (our trip was in January, when use of the excellent Terrace Bar is limited by weather - later in the year that will be a much more useful facility)
I had problems in getting the safe to operate - Sandra was most helpful with this.

Overall - good location - good food - clean and efficient

Room Tip: get a room with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alan_macdonald456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire ,England
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Had a lovely return stay in early January.

They have picked up on the minor complaints from previous stays. For a start they have improved the staff. Ivan was incredibly helpful both helping with a room for three that became four and being able to offer a good price and room for us as returning guests.
We stayed in the newly renovated bit that has a separate button on the lift (confused us to start with). This new wing looks beautiful-more like a spa.

We had a family room with a very large bed and two singles - one at the bottom of the double and one by the bathroom.It is decorated to a high standard and has a small balcony overlooking the marina. It is quite low down so you mostly see trees however. The room is very quiet when the doors are shut despite the busy road. The bathroom was very nice with the bath and toilet on one side, large sink in the middle and a shower to the other side. The only warning is that the doors are glass an you need to shut both the toilet door AND the bathroom door otherwise you can totally see through! This could be tricky if someone is in the bed by the bathroom as they get a full view in.

The terrace is still lovely despite the rather industrial fencing in place rather than the glass front there used to be at the front. However they have added lots of nice lighting and smart heaters so it can be used even in winter and the view is wonderful. The food we ordered when we arrived late was sort of fast food reheated but was edible. The bottle of cava pricey but delicious.Must mention the complimentary glass on arrival and the chocolates in the room and when leaving which added to a more attentive experience than previous stays.

Breakfast is still nice but not amazing. There was a crush for tables Saturday morning from 10am onwards. Get there early and enjoy a better experience.

This hotel has the best location enjoying a great spot to find the beach but with fantastic restaurants and bars on the road behind.Easy walk to La Ramblas on the left and the Barri Gothic straight behind. The hotel now has some great rooms and outstanding staff. Hope I can still find a room next time I come back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Fantastic hotel and fantastic value for money, breakfast was superb and a wonderful room overlooking the port.The location was perfect for all aspects of visiting the city of Barcelona away from the hustle and bustle but only a 5 minute walk from Las Ramblas. The hotel staff were very helpful just be careful the Taxi drivers don't rip you off.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Hotel overlooking the harbour/sea views the rooms are large as are the beds which are extremely comfortable, hotel has a rooftop garden and small pool where drinks and canapés are served, the hotel is very quiet and are assured a good nights rest, Ramblas within easy walking distance a couple of minutes stroll, the staff/check in staff are excellent cannot fault them, breakfast good. I would recommend this hotel 100%

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights in December 2013 when we came to Barcelona to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday, and we had an amazing stay in Duquesa de Cardona!

I lived in Barcelona for 2 years and knowing the city quite well, I can say that the location is simply the best, a short walk from the ramblas, the puerto, the beach, barrio gotico, born and everything else you need to see.

The hotel itself is amazing, staff is really helpful and friendly, the room was spacious and very relaxing, you can choose with fragrance you want for your room and they will spray it while you're out so you can find your room smelling amazingly good when you come back! The rooftop terrace is so nice to go for a drink and chill after a day of visit and before going out for dinner.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiYns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear MimiYns,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Duquesa de Cardona. We are very happy to know that your stay with us to celebrate your boyfriend’s birthday has been so ‘amazing’!
The hotel has indeed a privilege location, every must-see is only a short walk away.
We also appreciate your comments regarding your room, especially now after their recent renovation, and about the terrace and, of course, our fantastic staff!!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon, maybe next summer to enjoy our Barbecue soirees at the rooftop terrace?

Kind regards,
Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
277 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#69 of 513 in Barcelona
558 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#39 of 513 in Barcelona
1,339 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 513 in Barcelona
178 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Property: Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing